Gen-2 Owners

hi facelift,

u sure your gen2 auto can go up to 450km on a full tank??

damn, mine also same, but until 340km only :(

Ingolstadt
lol u know brandnew audi A8 how much?
A8 3.0 Multitronic RM668,000
A8 4.2 Quattro RM850,000

by the time u save fuel every year.....insurance and road tax cover it totally back and not enuf also......hahaha

the advertisement is saying IPOH to PENANG for about RM18 only
and the *saying that BASED ON THE TEST RESULT ON GEN2 1.6 MANUAL at 90km/h constant speed.

gohkokeng said:
Ingolstadt
A8 4.2 Quattro RM850,000

by the time u save fuel every year.....insurance and road tax cover it totally back and not enuf also......hahaha

the advertisement is saying IPOH to PENANG for about RM18 only
and the *saying that BASED ON THE TEST RESULT ON GEN2 1.6 MANUAL at 90km/h constant speed.
I bet they just ran the car/engine in the factory/lab for the distance required to travel from Ipoh to Penang, at the rated speed of 90km/h and noted the fuel consumption from there, in other words almost ideal conditions. Bear in mind actually travelling from Ipoh to Penang involves a lot more driving conditions, some start/stop, some traffic, some weather and so on. You will never get anywhere close to the projected figure.

another thing... i believe all this are just either pre-assumptions or not so accurate presentation.. that means... it could be fr the city limit to city limit distance, with minimal traffic.

it doesn't matter if u reach the city limit of penang, or the center of penang at komtar... reaching the city limit already means u reach penang... so u dont really encounter the traffic jam.

proton do it with down hill , free gear and strong wind weather (follow wind blow
direction of course).

hahaha i guess so la

but then Gen-2 1.6 manual owner here say can make 400km+ out of the full tank

Gen2 fuel capacity how many litres?

but surely not totally used up the fuel la......if so then tolak kereta to petrol sation liao.......hahahaha

50 litres ah Gen2 tank?

I've said this so many times. Fuel consumption also depends on condition of engine and tyres. When they tested the car, obviously the had the car in super tip top condition and they probably had the Gen 2 port and polished and using the best lubricants, gear oil and also using brand new properly inflated tyres. Also, they probably also have nothing inside the boot maybe just the spare tyres. So to be honest, i'm not really surprised even if they achieved that 17Km/litre. On the other hand, i'm sure you guys Gen 2 is not in good condition as the test car is. Lets face it, some of you guys tyres might not be properly inflated. Some of us don't do regular engine oil change. Some of us drive like in a drag strip.

I don't think Proton is lying but rather its a marketing gimmick. I believe they achieved that figure but they definitely won't tell you how slow and careful and how good the condition of the car is.

the test driver might be as thin as satay stick.....when testing the car..lol

such claim is actually possible.
when i drive my gen2 at 90km/h the trip computer will state i am doing about 5.0 litres per 100km. and the lower is the better; not the other way round.

the problem is...nobody can maintain such speed for 5 minutes , what more for an hour! so, i can say that the claim is baseless.

and yeah, gen2 cant go no more than 450km per full tank..becoz the tank itself is smaller than waja.

so, i am saying proton is full of shit.

edwin_lcw said:
see how u drive one la ...... every shift rpm blow 2 then i think can make it lo

gen-2 if shift below rpm 2k i scare the engine will auto shut off.....haha....u all shud know tat rite

gohkokeng said:
Ingolstadt
A8 4.2 Quattro RM850,000

A8 3.0 Multitronic RM222,000
A8 4.2 Quattro RM270,000

The RM1.2 Million difference is in Rafidah's pocket. :)

Here's how they tested the car :

Jack it up, hinge the front wheel on dyno, (weight supported by the jack) then engage in 5th gear and let it be there. :D

i'm driving Gen2(A)....
for town drive(KL),change gear not more than 3k rpm.....with RM70 (RM1.92/litter) i can go around 380++km....
if on highway from KL back Kedah,with 120-140km/h the mileage i reach home is 480++km and still got 1/4 petrol in the tank.....

Ingolstadt said:
A8 3.0 Multitronic RM222,000
A8 4.2 Quattro RM270,000

The RM1.2 Million difference is in Rafidah's pocket. :)

lol who's Rafidah?

ehmm. .. something liek samy lor... kekee a new kind of leech that is not quite noticeable, but when these leeches do suck on you ..... you dont loose blood, but money and wealth. IMO very very dangerous ..... oh, it wont fell off even if burnt by ciggarette butt, cos these leeches' skins are very very very deep. :)

all cars using internal combustion engines do consume fuel. never save. :lol:

if save fuel, leave car at home and take bicycle....or roller blades.

zan said:
all cars using internal combustion engines do consume fuel. never save. :lol:

if save fuel, leave car at home and take bicycle....or roller blades.

lol......i know your mum is female haha.....

the meaning fuel saving = consume lesser leh.........

If not mistaken, Proton actually manufactured a really expensive bicycle. I actually carried it and it was light as hell. Just one arm and an effortless lift.