Flush your carburetor

i spray / clean my carburator yesterday...
im using ABRO brand carb clean/choke spray at carrefour..
my car is wira a/b 1.5 auto..

open the air filter.. let engine on idling..
spray at the carb intake ..the car began to choke and sometimes dies...
u'll see smoke comes out from the exhaust.. lots of black smoke.. but then its disappear..keep on spraying ( not spraying too long..time to time) until the spray can is finished.. at the end i use 1 can for the car.. ( 1 can consist of 1/2 liquid and 1/2 gas)

the result is... not to much feeling but u can feel the car run smoother a bit..

that's all for now.. :D

beside that.. i think eon charge about RM98 ++ for the same process.. izzit rite?. its called carbon cleaning

Well.. seems like the carb cleaner does seem effective...

I drive a Toyota Tarago... First generation of the Estima models... 2.0 carb.. milage is abt 195000... I'll get a can from enos and try it out... :D

Originally posted by ervinlhyu@Feb 28 2005, 10:40
i try to get at Brothers in penang PISA last friday , they onli have the type that have to pour it into the fuel tank, izzit working as well??? Where can i get the spray that u guys discuss in the forum in Penang???
you can find this product at MidLand car accessories shop lot
for RM18+-

ok guyz.. Bought a cleaner spray from Enos 'STP Carburator Cleaner'

I sprayed it into the carburator and into the throat of it when reving engine around 3000rpm.. engine was like 'pook pook pook' and died once.. The Carburator look really filthy when I was cleaning it.. but surprisingly when i sprayed clean.. it turn from dark yellowish/ dark grey to shiny golden...

But wad I dun understand that there wasn't much smoke bellowing from the exhaust... wonder why?

yeah man,i experience the same thing la.sprayed the carburettor n its all clean but no smoke.i guess maybe there isn't much dirt la.that's why no smoke la. :huh: :huh:

very confuse la.not much difference felt la.but carb looks so damn clean la. :D :D

Originally posted by NightHunter@Mar 19 2005, 11:58
ok guyz.. Bought a cleaner spray from Enos 'STP Carburator Cleaner'

I sprayed it into the carburator and into the throat of it when reving engine around 3000rpm.. engine was like 'pook pook pook' and died once.. The Carburator look really filthy when I was cleaning it.. but surprisingly when i sprayed clean.. it turn from dark yellowish/ dark grey to shiny golden...

But wad I dun understand that there wasn't much smoke bellowing from the exhaust... wonder why?
[snapback]822955[/snapback]​

Using same product and had the same results too. Carb looks much cleaner but no matter how much i spray, no black smoke like some members mentioned. Is it because of the product?

After cleaning my carbi and no smoke tho.. still puzzled?? :unsure:

But when I drove my van out later.. I felt better response from engine and slight difference in power... Btw I got 2 cars... a 20 yr Van and a week old Wira Aeroback SE M/T :P :D

ya ... someone told me that the CRC brand of carb cleaner is good ... correct me if i'm wrong ... :P

hmm, i was just learning this in my cls,
pls dun flame me if im wrong ;)

my clsmate's iswara, b4 cleaning his carb
on full throttle 4k rpm also kenot reach (as i was told he neva exceed 100kph
with his car b4, gosh!)

the process goes like this:-
1. spray wd40 into carb
2. cover carb with hand
3. throttle up
4. uncover carb
repeat above steps a couple of time.

so the result after cleaning the carb on my clsmate's iswara, on full throttle it went to 7.5k rpm. whole cls was amazed ;)

but if what i was taught was wrong, i'll repeat myself again, PLEASE DON"T FLAME ME

thank u! cheers! :)

Originally posted by dleetme@Mar 23 2005, 01:40
hmm, i was just learning this in my cls,
pls dun flame me if im wrong ;)

my clsmate's iswara, b4 cleaning his carb
on full throttle 4k rpm also kenot reach (as i was told he neva exceed 100kph
with his car b4, gosh!)

the process goes like this:-
1. spray wd40 into carb
2. cover carb with hand
3. throttle up
4. uncover carb
repeat above steps a couple of time.

so the result after cleaning the carb on my clsmate's iswara, on full throttle it went to 7.5k rpm. whole cls was amazed ;)

but if what i was taught was wrong, i'll repeat myself again, PLEASE DON"T FLAME ME

thank u! cheers! :)
[snapback]832308[/snapback]​

WD40? It can't really clean the carb.. coz its oil based.. Even if it does work.. results won't last long.. To have effective results.. get the Carb cleaner from any Car acessories outlets.. The most it would cost is 20 bucks? B)

maybe ur car carburator still new, that is why no obvious effect :D

Originally posted by badguy@Mar 23 2005, 08:02
i feel nothing after clean my carb !
:(
[snapback]832690[/snapback]​

u have to pump it one lar bro badguy, not just spraying it one..hehehe :D

Haha, maybe your carb still new lorr. Sorry for the late reply, got it from a foreman in Rasah Jaya, Seremban. The same row with the shop where there is a lot of junk car waiting to be fixed but it is the other end counted 3rd from the right. The 1st and second shop is the classic car restoration shop. At first i don't believe. Since i tried it on my own then only believe. Works on old and dirty carbs. :)

Any big risk to flush a carburator? hhmm... thinking of it but still have doubt with it.... If do the step wrongly... what will happen to the car?

just to share with u all..the same topic

http://www.terato.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=28158

I wonder wll it affect the gasket or not if use the STP spray. it's sitting on the shelf dun dare to try it yet. Somemore my iswara 10 year old already.

So i just spray the entire inside of the carburetor lar?

haihz, wat to do...newbie

If not sure better find more information first...or use the car kau kau first before flush lo... :P

Originally posted by fstrader+Mar 23 2005, 17:24 -->
QUOTE(fstrader @ Mar 23 2005, 17:24 )
--QuoteBegin-badguy
@Mar 23 2005, 08:02
i feel nothing after clean my carb !
:(
[snapback]832690[/snapback]​

u have to pump it one lar bro badguy, not just spraying it one..hehehe :D
[snapback]834419[/snapback]​
[/b][/quote]

while i spray the carb i "rev" it kau kau one woh!
there are white smoke come out from ekzos leh!
but still feel nothing?? <_<