FF Drifter Setup Advisory

u need higher pressure when on track drifting or grip so that ur tyre walls won't flex so much. however, the downside of this is that ur tyre might come out of the rim if u put too much pressure thus leaving no room for the air to expand after the tyres heat up and then when u take hard corners, the tyre wall can't flex cause it's at it's maximum already so POP goes ur tyres :D

oh and ur ride tends to get really bouncy after 290kPa haha.

WAJA2003 said:
walau 300kpa mehhh..
actually normal is 205kpa mahh..
mine is 205 front n 200 rear....
so before i pull hand brake ,when turn steering car head will jerking...
I mean in wet lahh....

this is bcoz ur tyres struggling for grip when understeer mah...dun turn so much angle lor...

sure ur front jerking and jumping wan...pump 280 in front lar

Waja2003

the 'jerky' feeling i suspect is the tire getting grip then lose grip and grip and lose and grip and lose. Hence the cycle. It's aquaplaning la.

Pumping the tire pressure up (alot usually) like 40psi or 35psi (minimum for road tires) is common for short sprint events like these. Minimises tyre wall flex, hence better steering response. More linear feel too.

yup, what ninja said is true.

nottyeddy,
yes it's from experience and sore balls hahah. nah kiddin.

i heard the ftz sport tyres (really hard compound) gives this feel as well when cornering hard?

so what is the best tyres for 13 inch?
im using 185/60/13 ftz sport..the best i can get beside ninjaiga 13 inch semi slick tyres

walaneh .....u guys really pump alot into da tyres.....my tyres onli 245 for da rear & 225 for da front....

the higher the better, if you wanna lock the rear quickly, pump ur back tyres 9 9...but it might blow though. hahha.

you could try michellin pilot series...heard it's good. anything but good year eagle f1 tyres.

not necessary 2 lock da rear wheels 2 slide da car but yup, dey r da easiest way 2 get da tail out ....i still need alot of runs needed 2 do on da track 2 familiarize myself wif it...lookin forward 4 da next event esp wif dzal & adi being der....gotta try sum hardcore stuff like notkeng did ...kekekeke...

Keng said:
not necessary 2 lock da rear wheels 2 slide da car but yup, dey r da easiest way 2 get da tail out ....i still need alot of runs needed 2 do on da track 2 familiarize myself wif it...lookin forward 4 da next event esp wif dzal & adi being der....gotta try sum hardcore stuff like notkeng did ...kekekeke...

u all wait and see lar....

i will become hardcore KENG liao....

keng,
i tried feinting but couldn't work cause everytime i snap out, i can't turn the car back in hahha, the front wheel looses traction and thus making me have to pull the ebrake to get back in line. bleh...maybe i'm not doing it right. comments?

notkeng,
i'm gonna go buy big big reflective stickers for my car like those d1 ones to attract more attention than you hahah :D any idea how much those stickers cost?

there's a few method 2 make it happen, 1st is u throttle 2 give more speed for da front end so tat it'll overcome da rear end.....2nd is ur tail will lose momentum after da tail out & eventually will regain traction by itself, dis is abit harder coz u must estimate da amount of force generated when it snaps back in, if too little, u won't b able 2 tail out for da next corner....

i experience more of the 2nd one that you mentioned. happened when i tried to play the 3rd hairpin. can't wait for the next one to try it again la dammit. sheesh. no one's got the pics yet ar? oh who was the photographer there that day (i mean from which media?)

dzal_a said:
just wnt to share with u guys....donno wether i'm as success or not...

for me....

Faidzal Alang (dzal_a) Drive Wira 1.3s(stock engine) :D :D

suspension:

standard absorber with sport spring(hard)

tires:

F: any tyre still in good condition....195/65 R14
R: just go to tyre shop and ask for used botak tyre(FOC) preferbly 13 inch

u guys can download and see my wira goes sideway here ;)
http://www.drift.com.my/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1476

woww u did it preety good manhttp://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon14.gifhttp://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon14.gifhttp://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon14.gif
many thumbs for u.
can teach me arrrrr?????????SIFU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hope to learn form u lehhhhh?????
i pay tution fee lohhhhhttp://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon10.gifhttp://zerotohundred.com/newforums/images/icons/icon10.gif
i m taking kanci;l

Interested. can any SIFU teach me bout FF drift..
my car is a fully stock satria SE.
what mod i basically need. just got strut bar recently thats all.

proper suspension

+ stiffer anti-roll bar (rear)

all also i got sell :P

wah ninja, promoting 9 9! :D heheheh.

daze,
might i suggest getting an antiroll bar first, cause ur car doesn't come with one to begin with. oh and downgrade to 14" rims pls. ur 16s are WAYYYY to huge for ur 4G15.

whatdamn and guys :D

i'm selling some custom-made rear ARB for Protons (other cars coming soon) got sizes somemore!

16mm 19mm, 22mm :P

great for drifting!

interested?

Write your reply...