Exhaust Temp Meter

From my observation, on 4G63T that was properly tuned, the EGT is around 860 deg C; the EGT probe is located in exhaust manifold. Actually, if the temperature is higher than that my concern is more about melting the plug rather than piston.

Hi guys just a really quick question, where does the sensor for the EGT go to? I heard the extractor needs to be drilled for the sensor to go in...

yerp..need to be drilled lah..but mine put in downpipe..i'm afraid the sensor patah and damage my turbo hahaha

Dudes .... U all know that the EGT location will influence the readings. After the turbo is always cooler but how much cooler dunno lar maybe cooler by +/- 100C. Hard to say, thats why for more accurate we place it before the turbo at the exhaust manifold. The sensor will probably melt first and wont patah ...

Its also difficult to say which temp will destroy your turbo and engine. However the accepted benchmark is that anything above 900C is dangerous. At peak boost I always get 800 to 850C and my AF ok. My tuner dont even look at the EGT temp. Its just a reference for me and him that the temps are ok ... what is important is the wideband lambda readouts ...

Originally posted by AlucarD@Feb 23 2005, 09:32
Dudes .... U all know that the EGT location will influence the readings. After the turbo is always cooler but how much cooler dunno lar maybe cooler by +/- 100C. Hard to say, thats why for more accurate we place it before the turbo at the exhaust manifold. The sensor will probably melt first and wont patah ...

yeah..i know about that dude..but mine installed just for referrence only..not for tuning. i'll get a wide band tuning instead of using EGT for tuning.
ermm i've been told that there is several EGT meter/sensor user got the broke sensor problem lah..and damage their turbo. that's why i'm afraid to install it onto the turbo or the extractor

It seems that there's a lot of rumours saying apexi egt needle easily broke in pieces as that thing is quite long and gnelty, is it true?

egt oso quite important mar, if ur timing too advanced, it'll shoot up so from there you can tune the timing down if temperatures are too high lor

forgot where i read, that the optimum combustion temperature would be around 850C

EGT meter is important nowadays huh???got to get 1 oso lar...

how much would average on all brands of EGT costs???

important ar... i dun have any meters wor... need meh? scared ppl steal oni :S

Hah? People steal? Serious??

Anyway, I heard that if your extractor is made by cast iron then it cannot be drilled? However is it the most accurate place to put in extractor?

Dolly, sure boh you no meter?? :o I had a SARD one that melted on me but the turbo is ok. Had to sell the to a member who got his meter stolen..

Anyway, If everything is stock, I guess its not a prob.

Btw, cast iron ext can be tapped no probs... the most accurate place is still a debate. Some say the first outlet, some say the last one and like me its mounted at the middle where the gases meet.. more accurate gua... :rolleyes:

put where have to make sure using mathemathics+fizik+RnD+try n error.....so just put where is suitable but places where it could kill those sensors...

using sard pro el egt meter set.the sensor quite reliable.

4g63t...cruising at 100km/h the egt at 700.is this okay?