.: Exhaust Modification Corner :.

a lof of manual car all straight flow......
Auto car bolt on turbo..."S"flow...the sound very soft....really "FAIL "!!
i really hope my exhaust sound like Impreza Subaru !! :thefinger:
Damn Fxxking YENG !! HAHA!!
now my piping is 2.5" 3"muffler...
the exhaust middle and rear BOX... i already throw away !!

im planning to change the exhaust system for my gen2 auto, read from the thread that instead of using bullet, its better to use sflow midbox for auto, but wat happen if use bullet?? i noob lor, so jus ask =)

and, any specific brand/make that is recommended for gen2? the extractor/mid/muffler? size too?

Hello bro Kweng84..i wan to mod my stock iswara manual 1.3 to performance type
want type do u suggest? and what the diagram can u recommend??

Hi there,

I am installing SR20det manual trans from S13 to my TA22 celica.

Please do advice on the piping configuration. From extractor to the muffler. Some advice me to use HKS Silent Hi Power. What do u think?

wanna ask, if for example my car uses mira L5 turbo....

if i use a custom downpipe (delete cat converter) wif outlet 2". the piping is 2" all the way and finish it off wif HKS Silent Hi Power 2.3"... how the sound will be? too noisy?

p/s: dis is hypothetical question only... no money to buy hks huhu

Hi all sifus and everyone,

Referring to the discussion on backpressure on NA cars, several ppl have opinions that some backpressure is necessary to maintain the low end torque, while others have opinions that the best way is to reduce backpressure to the minimum-most possible.

which is true?

and, if totally eliminating backpressure is best, wouldn't the best exhaust system be 'no exhaust system at all'?

dun fire me! i dunno much bout cars, but wud love learning more

any 1 knows what exhst system on the gen2 cps...i planned to change the header to 4-2-1 n the muffler but dont know what the best...i prefer less loud with gud pickup

hi, i'm using gen-2'04, juz to share my experience, i've juz mod my exhaust recently, i've mod in extractor 4-2-1, piping 1.5", twister bullet, middle bullet and original muffler..

Pick up not bad..

...dieheartsue...

Hi Kweng84.I'm using civic 1.7.now using spiral type bullet and no midbox.piping all the way from bullet to twin loop muffler.piping size is 2".i want to change piping to 1.7".is it ok?also,from this informative thread, i learned midbox got 2 type,which is straight flow and s-flow,same concept like muffler.so,for my car,is it the s-flow more better,as it will do the back pressure.Thanks to all the sifu's

Hi bro, your ride is limited to 2" only, don't go more than that unless you modded your engine and increases around 20hp+ then u might need to increase the piping size. If 1.7", your pick up improves, FC improves and most suitable for daily driving. However, your 0-100 time attack will drop and full pedal has less responsive already.

SFlow design is usually used at the rear muffler, not center. Now we usually practise filtering the center box to accomodate full throttle power. SFlow produces pressure regardless of good or bad because it depends on your overall setup. Hope this explains why some people benefit from sflow muffler and some dont benefit any :)

Yo,bro kweng84..you have answered all my question n appreciate it so much..one thing i'm not so understand what do u mean by "we usually practise filtering the center box to accomodate full throttle power".filtering with what bro?sorry rof the noob question:banghead:

hello kweng, my setup for my 1.6 mazda lantis manual is currently hotbits 421,hotbits flat midbox,sflow muffler,using 1.85" piping.previously i was using midbox that had scales like protrusions arranged in spiral inside the inner tube, with steelmesh fiber now changed to straight type hotbits.

the weird thing after changing the midbox is during my journey up to kedah,i used trunk road through kuala selangor until ipoh,did a lot of overtaking yet the fc is blardy good,like needle wont come down.on the way back,i took highway all the way but fc becomes bad.hard to maintain at 140

before this,the spiral midbox gave some restricted feeling,hard to accelerate from 90-120 but stable at 140 with normal fc if i stick at that speed.now it accelerates faster but high fc at such speed and engine sounds like working hard.

need your input on this matter,other exhaust sifoo can comment too

I just changed my 4-2-1 extractor and i hear a steely kinda sound when i accelerate...like masuk angin...but after checking the guy said it's like that because the air flow is more kau....anything i can do?? Please help! TQTQ

just some questions
1. will small pipe diameter increase the RPM of the car?
2. whats the best and cost saving setup for 4age (silvertop) engine?

just some questions
1. will small pipe diameter increase the RPM of the car?
2. whats the best and cost saving setup for 4age (silvertop) engine?

1. No.
2. Cost saving setup? Whats your budget? My advice, just don't go for stainless steel. Galvanized steel should cut the cost and the more you cut the cost, the poorer quality stuff u get and u might end up spending more.

My 2 cents.

-Weng-

---------- Post added at 08:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:11 PM ----------

I just changed my 4-2-1 extractor and i hear a steely kinda sound when i accelerate...like masuk angin...but after checking the guy said it's like that because the air flow is more kau....anything i can do?? Please help! TQTQ

Hi bro, it sounded like it is a pinging sound in the car. Did u just change the extractor only? What ride? Some ride come with empty center box (no fiber at all). Please provide more detail :)

---------- Post added at 08:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:15 PM ----------

Hi bro, it sounded like it is a pinging sound in the car. Did u just change the extractor only? What ride? Some ride come with empty center box (no fiber at all). Please provide more detail :)

---------- Post added at 09:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:17 PM ----------

Yo,bro kweng84..you have answered all my question n appreciate it so much..one thing i'm not so understand what do u mean by "we usually practise filtering the center box to accomodate full throttle power".filtering with what bro?sorry rof the noob question:banghead:

Very sorry guys for the late reply, been extremely busy setting up my new pillar of business :)

So, basically what i've meant is to retain the pressure to what we call it delta pressure. With the good pressure, the exhaust pulses are pull even nearer when you go for full throttlling where power delivery is at the OPTIMUM side. Vice versa, if the exhaust pulses are loosing where u get backpressuring effect, then power delivery is being delayed and hence, u suffered from power loss. Hope my 2 cents help you :)

hello kweng, my setup for my 1.6 mazda lantis manual is currently hotbits 421,hotbits flat midbox,sflow muffler,using 1.85" piping.previously i was using midbox that had scales like protrusions arranged in spiral inside the inner tube, with steelmesh fiber now changed to straight type hotbits.

the weird thing after changing the midbox is during my journey up to kedah,i used trunk road through kuala selangor until ipoh,did a lot of overtaking yet the fc is blardy good,like needle wont come down.on the way back,i took highway all the way but fc becomes bad.hard to maintain at 140

before this,the spiral midbox gave some restricted feeling,hard to accelerate from 90-120 but stable at 140 with normal fc if i stick at that speed.now it accelerates faster but high fc at such speed and engine sounds like working hard.

need your input on this matter,other exhaust sifoo can comment too

Hi bro, it looks positive to me that you've changed straight flow midbox because it gives better flow and improves pick up. However, i spot something wrong is your s-flow muffler because SFLOW muffler has a few designs and some sflow doesnt have enuff blockage inside. Well, how do we know how much blockages inside? Is that what you're thinking? I usually knock on it and imagine ..haha.. for mufflers which aren't mine. As for mine, i operate them like post motem :P

For direct improvement on FC,

1st: You can use 1.7" piping (inlet around 1.65")..condition: dont use swirling bullet, keep your current muffler.

2nd: You can change your s-flow muffler to a more blockages (preferbly following Japan design with 3 tubes..i have it :) )

My 2 cents :)

hey bro weng, wanna ask wats good setup for viva elite 1.0 auto? preferable slightly improve in performance wise, not too loud n a nice dual tip exhaust for VIP style.

thanks in advance