evo owners - sharing bad experience

Shall I close this thread to avoid any further damage to all parties?

• yes...

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • no...

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

EvolutionZ

this thread is not to flame anyone - just to share my dilemma in car repair - its being wonderful owning an Evo but sad that my doctors not treating his patient well......until now i still have faith in my doctor to treat my sick car well....lets see

came back from gymkhana
- steering rack bush broke - changed - now ok

after that - twin plate worn out - changed- now ok

while changing, need to remove all front suspension - changed all oil seals

start car - check engine light on - was told my O2 sensor gone - ok accept with smile - what to do - wear & tear ma...cant argue (my fault)

car broke down 10km radius from workshop - forgot to tighten turbo inlet/vacum hose
managed to fixed myself by kesas highway - luckily no tragedy - if not wont be writing this..

asked him, was told they never removed the hose, but after checking with my fellow evo friend, i recalled they remove it to enable the tools to be in for releasing air from the clutch pump...then i told him, just kept quiet...(also my fault maybe)

mentioning about clutch pump - (my fault also) coz according to them, my clutch pump spoilt, need to change coz unable to pump after releasing air/pressure from the pump - keep pumping and pumping for 1 hr, hope my floor panel not broken, still no pressure, so they suggest to change pump! - after that i suggest maybe "they need to adjust on my clutch pedal so that it can pump better coz i recalled my previous mech adjusted it to make my twin plate release easier...then only problem solved...pump back to normal and clutch functioning well now....

went to do alignment, camber setting etc etc - took me 3 hours there....steering not align - half circle out of align. (also my fault) so i need to pay

went back, 5 days later, noticed leaked from gear box, quite badly - sent to workshop - was told wrong oil seal coz sometimes it happens - so changed & top up gear oil

on monday - after so many days didnt drive my car - reverse out and noticed leak again, same place, same spot, double check again on tuesday morning and certified - leak same place

sent to workshop again and was told my drive shaft came out by few mm, oh, very surprisingly coz never encounter such things, bit panic, keep calling the mech and later was told the drive shaft clip not strong....so need to change - change lor -....also ask to change my O2 sensor since faulty and irritating to see the engine light on - worry my fuel not properly read...worry too lean or too rich ....might damage the engine...so change lor.

seek their help to trouble shoot whenever reverse got some grinding sound, they conclude my reverse gear got problem....gear box got problem etc etc...i already panicky for many times so i took it calmly...as long as it works i still ok....maybe later i seek 2nd opinion before changing a good & functioning gear box away...hehehee:)

ask to keep the coolant coz just changed - (Motul) in jan2010, ok but later was told the coolant cannot use, coz some oil dripped into the container - the oil drip is due to my car - dunno where got drip - also like my fault....so what to do - drip already - kept quiet lor.......thinking whether to buy another bottle or not....later the kind mech replace some coolant - a normal brand i couldnt remember - i still dunno am i charged for the new coolant.....( my fault also)

then they filled up my air con gas - nicely done - my air con super cold now..thanks to them.

about to reach my friend's tire & service shop - for alignment again - my engine keep dying off...call him, say its normal, coz remove battery terminal, let the ecu read back then ok, so i agree and trying to hang on to the accelerator coz traffic jam, don wanna keep starting the car...kinda challenging task ler....(also my fault) coz previously told me already run in...coz his staff tested the car.

reached there, check engine light on - call to ask again - now say must erase code coz when leaving the workshop - the light not on...so i manage to erase the error code..thanks to my friend - but after testing the car for few round, the light came back...erase again, then after 2 round came back...so i give up...call the mech again and inform him....so now he said will inform the chop shop and replace it again....soon...(also my fault coz earlier told me no need erase code, battery terminal removed, auto reset already)...thanks for their kindness to save my money from MUTII....

so i guess my dilemma will be repeated again & again - process of arranging my car to workshop, seek my friend's help to send me back to kepong, later seek my friend's help to send me back to workshop - very far from my place....then waited few hours.....then go erase error code again....and come back.

just hope wont leak again coz 3rd time removing my drive shaft. i understand the scenario cant blame anyone - but i am sick & tired of sending my car in & out of workshop for minor things like these which i guess can be done at 1 go if its done with heart and concern.....

just wandering when is my next visit and what's new thing might happen to my car - maybe i should sell it off......no fate with this nice little evo....

i should thanks for their hardwork - but somehow my PROBLEM IS NOT SOLVE 1 time!...sad & tired coz i am very busy all the time.....

sigh.....just sharing my sickness....:banghead::banghead::banghead: not flaming & not disclosing anything further!

wah, ur car got so much problems leh..me read ur post till my head also pening ade..pity u..maybe it's because u got the wrong person to fix ur car kua..

i think you can try to find other mechanic.

for engine error code, u can send your car to MMC, they can use their MUT-III to confirm what that error code is. then u can tell your mechanic about that.

bro evolz, .. sadly not a good start for 2010 lor..
anyway, hope and pray ur car recover to it's glory condition...
keep us updated!...

a sad story from u bro...
i also panic if i was u
maybe u should go for evo specialize workshop

selling off the car won't make your life better...bcoz i think u still love your evo...I can guess which workshop u sent your car and giving you this kind of commitment eventually lead to serious problems...what I can suggest is just switch to another workshop...peace:biggrin:

thanks guys for the concern...appreciate it......very much

i recalled - while changing my flywheel from twin plate to single plate - one screw loose and cant be removed? i trust them so they hammer & weld the screw and hammer again to remove it...so what to do - let them do la...... when i ask, its like that one, must hammer and must weld to remove it - coz the screw stucked!

but some told me the screw loose coz the nut been remove with air gun/pressure gun...maybe the pressure too strong...etc etc so dunno who to listen......

then i asked to keep my ACD oil & gear oil coz its new, all Torco fully sync....more than rm100 per litre...its more than 5 litre there... later on they told me - gear oil can put back but not enuf - need to top up 0.5 litre??? then ACD oil also not enuf, need to top up bout 0.75 litre to 1 litre....then say no torco in their stock, cannot mix - so must waste all and use motul....
mine is 75/90w, he said wrong oil, ACD sure died! so must change to 80/140w, i listen lor, specialist ma....being using motul 80/90w & torco fully sync 75/90w for past 2 years - ACD never on 3 together....now it on...so i think "its also my fault" coz previous i use wrong oil..thats why now the sin come to me.....its my fault!

but i have to admit, my previous mech negligence in filling up my AYC resulting in my pump got some sound....missed out the back portion of AYC, so the mech help me filled up...thanks to them....hope the pump ok, coz now the sound subside a little......

conclusion coz i don wanna go any further, just sharing frustration!!

- my car actually isn't much problem, all are minor but whenever i trouble shoot something, another thing pop up and i am the one to be blame!

- the tiredness of moving around - arranging transport as i am busy and need to be around office all the time, so hard to find time to sneak out and check on my car.....

- tired to again and again doing same thing - send to workshop - wait - go do alignment - wait - reset the trouble code - test drive - go back home - leak again - and the process repeated 3 times......in 2 weeks!

- although i know these problems are simple and small problems - but it makes me HATE my car whenever i see it......this morning i hasnt check, if it leaks again...then i think i will sell it off to new rightful & destine owner that can patiently do up the car - me too busy to handle this and listen to "REASONS AFTER REASONS".......

sigh!

---------- Post added at 10:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:48 AM ----------

headache:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: whenever i think of going back to workshop again to replace the O2 sensor....sigh!:stupid:

bro...u need to find new mechanic la...

---------- Post added at 11:15 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:10 AM ----------

by the way,Ur foreman i must praise him!!! all problem he says is ur fault.my foreman a bit different. every time my car got problem i blame him...cause he take care all my 3 cars now...so any problem i will find him.but also my bad cause i dun like have problem with cars...sikit sikit problem i will get angry and throw the car back to him ask him settle it asap.thank you my foreman for being so patient !!!

I have almost the same problem (not so many issue as yours) when I just bought my car. But I was lucky and fast enough to change another mechanic (introduced by my friend) so until now I still enjoying my ride since 3 years already with very very minimum problem.

i was enjoying it for 2 years...lately when i trust my friend and have faith in him, despite ppl telling me "beware of the unforeseen" but i give him a chance....so now suffer lor...small small problems but irritating lor....sigh!

bro evoz, i understand your frustration. you're trying to help your mech by giving him business but it seems like they just don't bother to do things properly. i'm also surprised that the mechanic can blame you for everything else when they are the ones who are supposed to fix your car.

btw, how come the oil seal can be the wrong one? i thought all is standard for evo 7 or did they get mistakenly get the oil seal for the GT-A gearbox? :confused:

anyway, you should send your car to the workshop in kepong, the one that you recommended to me earlier. every part that they wanna change, they call me to see it first before they fix it onto my car. although my car was stuck in their workshop for 3 weeks, everything was done properly. 3 weeks is almost the same time as your car been going in and out of the workshop leh.

btw, call me if you need transport bro. :wavey:

EvolutionZ,

i've been in your situation before.
many problem happen in short time... sometime cry on the car... "why u like this aaaa...?"

at the moment i also afraid to change mechanic or try others.
since the present "kira ok la".... even chop me very much...:bawling:
since our ride consider rare + look like rich man ride (even tough already makan maggie to maintain & go to work by bas mini), mechanic always take advantages...

i have faith your ride will be better after changing mechanic.
but if you already decide to sell your E....
hopefully you may happy with your new ride later (maybe E10)....

Re: my E7 is sick - myself getting sick

actually if i know why this happen & that happen, i will be opening garage and fixing cars...no need to send to workshop....
actually whenever they told me all sort of problems are becoz of this , becoz of that...then i just shook my head...ok lor...what to do, already there and already dismantle...anyway i think i will let him fix until my car ok....if not then maybe i ask him the magical word - "HOW"........and "WHAT" to do next????? if he also cannot solve, then burn the car and claim insurance.....get back my rm1XX,000 la... almost fed up liao...

sell car and buy evo X lor... then ur nickname will be EvolutionZX :biggrin:

EvolutionZ,

if your car heard want to burn her... sure scared already...
u damn "ganaz" lor... patient bro... give her sometimes to "manja-manja"
this is her sick time, who knows later she will give u extra joy...

happen to me also, sending to mechanic... ask them this & that until they boring.
most of the time... i said: "ooooo.....ooooo" some time sure I "kena tipu"....

dun burn dun burn... give it to me la atleast the body ma....

i put my engine into it... hehehe.....

Sorry to hear your sad story bro..... come's let go for a chill...

EZ,
ive been thru yr situation when i got my ride...Seems like never ending nightmare but Thank GOD everything is ok now ever since i SWITCH MECHANIC...:biggrin:

Don't worry bro, bad things go liao now good things will come

bro hang in there.yeah good things will come
theres a saying i heard before,God gives you tests like this because he know you can take it : )

hang in there!