Evo 7/8 Maintenance

EE9 - Checked with a friend who I consider pretty hands-on with mods from Singapore who often brings his DC5 to Sepang. His pevious car was a STi. Accordingly to him, your boost level is in line with the mods you made to ure car plus, he does not feel that it warrants any ECU tuning. As long as you monitor the oil temp, pressure and water temp., you are OK. So, there u go, you can feel a little better the next time you launch down an empty road. Having said, it is still wortwhile getting your local mech's opinion for that little bit more comfort.

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Yo bro., how's ur Galant status now? Landed? Hehehe... remember to share some experience here!!! :D

Storm,
Not yet. Donno la when will arrived. Suppose this week. Yesterday, my friend check at West Port Free Zone there, tak ada pun!!. Hopefully current AP issue not related to my car la.

I'll post the pics here once i got it. Surely, no worries

aja,

Wei bozz, knowing from other thread which u posted, u like to drive in high speed!!! Waliao... cool man... somore 230km/h++ ah... Keng!! hehehe... :D For me 'terbalik' from u lar... like to accelerate... feel de G-force thingy a bit... Top speed??? manyak takut ler... hahaha... Wei wei wei... if wanna to go for high speed, ever think of changing ur gear final ratio for ur 'Galant' next time?

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Wei bozz, knowing from other thread which u posted, u like to drive in high speed!!! Waliao... cool man... somore 230km/h++ ah... Keng!! hehehe... :D For me 'terbalik' from u lar... like to accelerate... feel de G-force thingy a bit... Top speed??? manyak takut ler... hahaha... Wei wei wei... if wanna to go for high speed, ever think of changing ur gear final ratio for ur 'Galant' next time?

storm,
hehehe. Actually all the time, whenever masuk hiway, no at normal trunk road!. ALready get use to it!!, really can't get rid of it!!. But make sure drive safe at high speed la, not a 'moron driver' one.

Just to share my experience with a 'moron driver' on the road. Last 3 weeks, on the way back from C. Highlands. Around 800pm like that, accidently 'raced' with this E320 AMG (4 exhaust one). This guy's car loaded with his family. I managed to overtook him (left side) at around >200 kmh,(Can't remember what speed) since after i beamed him he don't want to move to left lane. So, this guy tak puas hati after that, overtook me after that using emergency lane, at around >200kmh speed!!. See, moron driver!. Gila!!.

About the Galant, see first la. Don't know the status of the car now. Deposit RM5k already paid last year december. But, currently just drive whatever i 've jer lah!!!

aja,

Wei buddy... hahaha... Keng lar u... Merc oso u race? But tht fellor really gila, somore with his family inside his car... So is ur current Euro R upgraded? Those basic stuffs like - air filter / exhaust / suspension? Cos u drive > 200km/h, not easy ler with ori. set up... For me i always 'pull back' myself whenever my speedo meter reaches 180km/h... Dun play play... lolz... No confident in other drivers on de road... u know lar... u travel a lots outstation... some moron jus wanna to drive their own way without caring others... Suka suka left lane with >150km/h, suka suka h in de right lane.... :mad: dunno where they get their 'kopi-o' license... lolz Orang Kampung punya driving lar...

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Wei buddy... hahaha... Keng lar u... Merc oso u race? But tht fellor really gila, somore with his family inside his car... So is ur current Euro R upgraded? Those basic stuffs like - air filter / exhaust / suspension? Cos u drive > 200km/h, not easy ler with ori. set up... For me i always 'pull back' myself whenever my speedo meter reaches 180km/h... Dun play play... lolz... No confident in other drivers on de road... u know lar... u travel a lots outstation... some moron jus wanna to drive their own way without caring others... Suka suka left lane with >150km/h, suka suka h in de right lane.... :mad: dunno where they get their 'kopi-o' license... lolz Orang Kampung punya driving lar...

Storm,

Yer la, agreed with u. Some these moron driver suddently overtake without considering other people overtaking etc. Happened to me also yesterday night, on my way back from Lumut at normal trunk road (from Teluk Intan to Sekinchan). I'm overtaking front lorry & few cars one shot at reasonable speed, gave signal & beaming my HID few times. Suddently this ******* wira come-out just2 in front of me!, without any signal. Gila2. Apa lagi, horn like hell la. :mad: :mad:

My car still stock standard, even the air filter & suspension still stock!, except for the exhaust whereby i changed to RS*R one. Cause now still 50%-50% option between the Galant& this Euro R, so i think better keep stock first!. Actually, for both car, i've got 'ready' buyer already. See first la. Techically, both car weight almost the same (around 1350 kgs), the onyl different is the power (220ps Vs 150ps, 221Nm Vs 190Nm, both manual)

As for the the standard suspension , actually is quite stiff. Don't feel any goyang at all at current highspeeding. I notice the suspension is totally different from other standard one (maybe this explain to me the cost of RM500 each for the original suspension only when i asked the Honda Japan last time!).

But still prefer Mitsubishi since the maintenance outlook is way2 cheaper!, as compared to Honda!!

aja,

Hey, so by comparing de 2 cars... can i say Galant got more room to play with??? Such as upgarding to Mivec engine (as u hv planned)or just add in bolt-on turbo to hv better HP... Whereas for Honda R, u hv to throw in lots of $$$ in order to upgrade de power... Correct me if am wrong! Besides, de FC n de maintainance wil b ur priority, so if Mitsu stand out then it wil b de best choice!!! ;)

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Hey, so by comparing de 2 cars... can i say Galant got more room to play with??? Such as upgarding to Mivec engine (as u hv planned)or just add in bolt-on turbo to hv better HP... Whereas for Honda R, u hv to throw in lots of $$$ in order to upgrade de power... Correct me if am wrong! Besides, de FC n de maintainance wil b ur priority, so if Mitsu stand out then it wil b de best choice!!! ;)

Yer la, agree with u. NA power need more $$$ to make more power. And some more to maintain this Euro R, quite pricey also. As an example, last week Friday, i went to take a standard Euro R clutch plate that i ordered from Honda dealer here earlier(they ordered from Japan of course). Standard Honda R clutch plate only cost me RM480.00. If one set + the cover etc, almost RM1,700:eek::eek: . Can buy the Exedy one set already!. My previous Mivec CK (actually sold to one of the forumer also:) ), clutch plate only cost me around RM150 like that (harga dulu la) & also cheap maitenance also!. As for standard Honda R plugs , RM60 per peice. The problem is the plug is different from H22A Black cover engine one!!. Prior to this, i've sked N1, Amoil, KSP, GT, SS racing. All don't have stock for euro R plugs!. Quite pelik la this type R engine. :confused::confused::confused: As for design, IMHO of course the Galant is much prettier!!

Actually, i always go for 'Cuti2 Malaysia' every weekend, every months with my wife. (except for the balik kg la) That y i prefer to drive a 'reasonable' power NA cars + reasonable FC & maintenance too! If bawak turbo cars for jalan2,, hmmm.... bankrap la!!:p :p:p

aja,

Wah... Tht means u really value ur family time... So sweet... go 'Cuti2 Msia' timmm.... :D Hey wanna to ask u hor... y always change ur clutch plate? Huh... u like launching? Jus curious!!! Actually am getting a STi for my Dad, n this wk de car should b out... So wil hv de chance to really test both Evo n STi performance, handling + technologies... Wil kinda try to post my opinion n experience in both cars here!!! Cheers!!! ;)

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja,

Wah... Tht means u really value ur family time... So sweet... go 'Cuti2 Msia' timmm.... :D Hey wanna to ask u hor... y always change ur clutch plate? Huh... u like launching? Jus curious!!! Actually am getting a STi for my Dad, n this wk de car should b out... So wil hv de chance to really test both Evo n STi performance, handling + technologies... Wil kinda try to post my opinion n experience in both cars here!!! Cheers!!! ;)

storm,
My car standard clutch plate normally will last for about max 1 year only, cause if u see the way i drive, sure u geleng kepala one!!. At hway, I use to drive hard, redline all the time!.. until burp..burp..burp..(hit readline). That the other reason why i prefer to keep my car stock & not turbo.

As for the STI, it's a good car also. Actually i've tested drive once at Motor Image (MI) PJ, sometime last year Dec, that time still undecide to buy what car..before placing my order for Galant . Really a nice 'motor boat sound!". But the interior looks 'cheap', not as intact as Evo. no digital aircond summore. Lucily got the outside temperature!. Powerwise, can't really belasah during that time cause the salesman (William) is beside me. Corneringwise, Evo better!. Selling price that time RM195k, but they offered me around RM190k..white color. Located at MI Jln T. Rahman KL. I hope that your father didn't buy the white color one, cause actually i heard the car had been 'belasah' by few tester before!!.

Anyway, don't forget later to update the result test, yar!

aja,

Hey fren, de way u drive damn hard core ler... :D No wonder hv to change clutch plate lar... hehehe... Yes, sure i'll post my little comparison test btw Evo n STi here when i hv de chance to do it... to share out de experience!

Wei... r u free on 07/08? Cos v MLOC wil hv a get together with some members from MEOC n FTO club!!! Mmm... hopefully it wil b a great day out! Oso this is open for frens who r interested! Actual time n location tba, so hope to see u n ur Euro R too!!!! ;) Do let me know whether u make it!

aja,

Hey fren, de way u drive damn hard core ler... :D No wonder hv to change clutch plate lar... hehehe... Yes, sure i'll post my little comparison test btw Evo n STi here when i hv de chance to do it... to share out de experience!

Wei... r u free on 07/08? Cos v MLOC wil hv a get together with some members from MEOC n FTO club!!! Mmm... hopefully it wil b a great day out! Oso this is open for frens who r interested! Actual time n location tba, so hope to see u n ur Euro R too!!!! ;) Do let me know whether u make it!

aja,

aja,

storm,
Wah so many postings!!.

Actually i won't be around from 6/8 to 8/8, cause i'll be leaving for a vacation to Cherating that days. Unfortunately, our Accord Club (HAVOC) also got a TT on 6/8. Can't attend also. Wah, MEOC & MLOC got gathering. If i can go, then i can meet my ex-lancer also there!!

wat to look for when buying a E7 ?

I know abt the buyer's guide, but usually

-if the car is recond, shop can only let u bring mechanic to view the car, but wont allow u to drive to your mechanic shop to jack up the car n check thoroughly.....in this case....how to see n check thoroughly ?

- wats the current latest pricing for E7 ? which dealer offers the best rate? which bank can get best rate ?

- do u need to 1st service it after buying or wait till 5 k then service ?

- how to tell if the AYC is sick ? engine is sick ?

DDgreystar,

I got 2 experiences where in both cases de sales person allowed me to drive de car to de nearby tyre shop to jack up de car for inspection! But both times de respective salesperson was accopanied me n my 'sifu'!!! If u r interested in de car, normally de salesperson wil allow u to inspect de car somewhere nearby their place or @ their own authorised workshop!

As for de E7 car price @ de current moment, it runs from rm155k - rm180k depends on de car manufactured yr, car condition n de spec.! Cheap doesnt always means a good buy... it really depends on what u want from de price u pay!

As for bank borrowing rate, it depends on ur own background, downpayment, de period of de loan u r looking for n de car type.

As for services, highly recommend to do a full service after getting de car... cos sales person wil always tell u everything been done b4 hand over... but how true it is, really hard to believe. As Evo is a performance car... so it is not worth to take de risk!!!

As for de AYC thingy, cant help u... cos (touch wood + finger cross!!!) mine AYC so far so good!!! As for de engine, i guess u r allow to test drive it n judge it urself... or do bring some 'sifu' with u to do test drive!!!

My little 2 cents!!! Hope it wil help u!!! :D