Evo 7/8 Maintenance

ZinZan,

Hey... V didnt make it to Bkt Tinggi last wk due to some problem... wil re-arrange it again soon...

My manual oso in Jap... U can go to Singapore Mitsu Official Web to download de English version... I seen it... but hvnt download yet... What color is ur E9?

As for de run-in thingy... lots of expert said for those latest/newest car... u dun need run in anymore... such as de Golf GTI u tried b4 (I tried it oso) it can b serviced once in every 30k km.... But i stil did my run in just in case.... for de 1st 1,000 km n rev maintain below 5,000 rpm... hehehe... :D Now my run @ 3,500++km liao...

Actually me use de E9 as my wkend car liao... cos really hv to bware of those bustards who likes to steal gadgets n seats... *&%&#^%*^%.... u too... hv to b 110% careful of where u parked ur car.... even inside ur own house, u should make sure its safe enough.... i got few frens kenal liao... :mad:

Yeah we should do big convoy. I think MEOC just did small one goin singapore.

Storm,
Same here been running it in now @ 2500km. I maintained under 5,000rpm. Now tekan2 sikit lar.

I cant afford to have a second car. But the bloody fuel consumption is quite bad lar. Have u added anything extra, and where do u sent for servicing. I went back to mofaz for the 1st one. Thinking of goin to Links for subsequent ones.

ZinZan,

I did my servicing @ SS Racing!!! cos my car oso getting from them... hey if anyone wanna buy any new performance car.... jus let me know, cos im quite close to them n they do give my good pricing for all cars.... hehehe...

For servicing (change engine oil, gear oil, etc) most shop can do it, as it is very basic... no worry.... but as for TUNING, u better b careful oh... cos if u ask everyshop oso they said they can n good at it.... so u better check it out 1st.... look for those who really got track experiences + been doing evo engines for yrs.... this r de safest bets.... if not, DUN EVER let them touch ur engine... lots of problems wil come, as u know most latest engines, especially Evo involve lots of electronics stuffs....

fyi, SS Racing do hv an E7 demo car... damn KENG!!! with GT 3037 turbine kit c/w huge wastegate... dun play play... tht means at least 450hp to 500hp on tab!!! :eek: Feel free to visit them...

yeah... de E9 fuel consumption is Crazy... but a performance car like Evo, u hv to expect it to b like this... hehehe...

ZinZan,

Hey, my car stil stock besides a turbo timer... hehehe... Cos for me, de ori. E9 is really powerful enough at this moment, as i tested with my frens Evo b4... hehehe... What killing them is de E9 torque @ 3,000 rpm... :D de Mivec thingy is doing their good job!!! but me been looking/researching for all after market parts at de moment... getting ready when my Uncle M ($$$) come visit me..... :cool:

Mine is even more stock than yours bro. Dont even have timer. Not planning any upgrades in the next year. I'm very happy with the power. I have to say i've driven a C4 996 porsche. The evos handling much better. The pick up on 0-100 evo wins but 140 above the porsche wins

ZinZan,

Hey bro., a turbo timer is a must as it wil protect/pro-long ur turbo life span... as for blow-off valve, ori E9/E8/MR r using blow-in... which is enough for street use... as it get older ( a yr or so later...) then only u need to change it to blow-off... as for all kinds of meters, it is nice/good to hv, but not essential for stock engine.... So go get a good turbo timer 1st... ;)

Wow... u drove C4 996 b4 ah... waliao... As u said when it hits 140km/h, de C4 wins due to its higher cc (Evo 2.0 vs C4 3.6)... so next time when u meet a 'challenger', u hv to know what u get/u r good at, b4 even thinking of a 'race'!!! LOL!!! :D

Storm,

C4 996 not my car brother, how i wish lar....... drove it b4. Aiyo that car chick magnet lar i tell u.

ZinZan,

Evo oso chick magnet mah... hahaha... dun worry ler! :D Hey, 1 thing to share u hor, next time if u decided to install meters/timers/alarms sys., remember to ask them to get de current from de car battery n not from de underneat of de steering... it wil F**king mess up with de ori. immobilizer thingy... cos i kenal liao.... problematic... hv to re-do/re-wiring it all over again...

aja & green,

Hey frens, can i ask what model u guys driving? jus wanna to know more frens so tht can exchange/shares some value experiences from u guys too... hehehe.... cheers!!!

cyilaw,

Yo... how's ur MR doing? Mmmm... should b very cool huh... hv u seen de FQ400 E8 MR Vs Lamboghini Murcielago video clip b4? It shows how a 400hp MR beat de mighty Lambo in handling, speed, cornering n of cause de pricing!!! :cool:

Storm,

yah, am ordering a recon 2001 evo 7 on the way. Now the lil fella is in the middle of laut china selatan :) ha ha

only thing i worry though is the ride may be too hard for me. heard tt evo 7 suspension is very stiff... when u guys do some servicing, just post up the prices here so we can all compare.

by the way, FQ-400 UK spec is one helluva supercar beater.heard 0-100km in 3 secs!!!!!

also saw a video clip on an evo 8(i think ... modified of course i think 400bhp) trash a ferrari modena doing drag from 0-100. the evo zipped straight past the red fella with PLENTY of ROAD to spare. must be heavily modded lah

Stormvolution 9 said:
aja & green,

Hey frens, can i ask what model u guys driving? jus wanna to know more frens so tht can exchange/shares some value experiences from u guys too... hehehe.... cheers!!!

:cool:

Storm,

Me was thinking to buy Evo also last time, after sold off my lancer mivec CK. Actually, that was the main reason why i created this thread. But at last, decided not to buy an Evo cause can't tahan the maintenance /FC/Wear+tears etc of a turbo car, since i'll be using it as my daily car. Moreover NA car is more practical than turbo car for daily usage (maybe in term of FC etc). So, finally decided to go for a NA Mits. Galant 2.0 EC7A which i order direct from Japan.. Until now, the Galant still hasn't not arrived yet!:mad: Maybe due to the special spec that i required!. (4WD 2.0cc Manual). Should be at Port klang within 1-2 weeks, maybe. Car already found last 2 months. Pearl white color.

As for the time being, my ride was an Accord Euro R CF4/CL1. In reality, still prefer to drive a Mitsubishi cars, due to easier / cheaper parts + maintenance.

Zinzin/Storm,
I wonder how the E9 fuel consumption (FC) looks like?. My current car 2.2cc, i still get RM10 = 70 kms (town + hway normal driving, of course)

green,

hey, hope to meet up when u get ur E7... hehehe... :D As for de suspension, its hard if u drive it rough, if normal drive shouldnt b a problem... jus as what i get for my E9, very stiff... but when u come to 'fast' drive... u wil kinda appreciate it, especially cornering... Mmm... cool!! of cause lar... dun compare it with BMW or Merc's ride... hehehe.... so dun doing anything to it 1st... drive it urself n see whether u like de setting or not... suspension setting is very subjective... it might suit me, but not u or anyone else... hehe...

aja, my E9 FC is like RM80 for 330km... which come to RM0.245/km... n my fren's evo with 'mild - medium' mod is RM80 for 240km = RM0.333/km... :eek: damn makan minyak lar... but for Evo u hv to expect it... if wanna to avoid it, stay stock lor dun do any mod lor... hehehe...

green, ok... when come to major services, i'll kinda post de pricing here... but bare this in mind, pricing not everything, what kind of services u get from those 'sifu' are important, whether they do it in a proper way or short cut/messy way with cheaper rates/pricing... so do u get me? ;)

Stormvolution 9 said:
ZinZan,

Evo oso chick magnet mah... hahaha... dun worry ler! :D Hey, 1 thing to share u hor, next time if u decided to install meters/timers/alarms sys., remember to ask them to get de current from de car battery n not from de underneat of de steering... it wil F**king mess up with de ori. immobilizer thingy... cos i kenal liao.... problematic... hv to re-do/re-wiring it all over again...

aja & green,

cyilaw,

Yo... how's ur MR doing? Mmmm... should b very cool huh... hv u seen de FQ400 E8 MR Vs Lamboghini Murcielago video clip b4? It shows how a 400hp MR beat de mighty Lambo in handling, speed, cornering n of cause de pricing!!! :cool:

Hi dude, just out for few day come back see so many posting in here, intersting. ;)

my ride is dark grey colour, but without BBS rims. very happy with it. coz still in run in period, never test the car real potential yet..heheh...think to get E9 also, due to budget and waiting list, so then go for evo 8 mr.

about the meter wiring, i just install timer and boost meter into my car, my mech get the current from the underneat of steering, but no problem for the immobilizer. he get the wire from the wiper section and also he do the spare wire for me, so next time i want to install other gadget just connect to this wire, no need mess up my wiring again. like to know what problem for ur car? coz i plan to install alarm now. like to know what alarm u guys using now. :p

cyilaw,

Hey, my problem is i lost de main key... hv to order it from Sg. then send back de car to our local Mitsu to re-do de immobilizer thongy... i means getting a new immobilizer code, in case someone got my key n waiting to steal it... so decided to get new code for all 3 keys...

when i sent my car to de workshop, de main mech. used de mitsu programming pc to connect my car n try to program a new code... but failed to do so due to de alarm n timer i installed underneat de steering interfering de system (mitsu original car system)... de mech. wanna me to re-wiring it all by taking de current direct from de car batteryn not underneat de steering anymore... n advised me not to do so in de future cos he said E8/E8 MR/E9 all involve lots of electronic thingy... once it got problem, de whole car system wil stuck n can b started... major problem!!! So i hv to go back to de alarm n timer installer n ask them to re-wiring for me lor... :mad:

so for u... if nothing happen it should b ok... jus hope tht in de future u dun need any re-programming like me... cos b4 all this mess, my car oso running smoothly n nicely!!!

So if wanna to install anything oso better do it de correct way... sure all those installer out there wil say no need to get de current from de car battery bcos it's easier for them n oso less job for de same amount of $$$ they charged u!!! Think abt it lar Bro... tell u frankly... u dun wanna all de mess i been through... Cheers!!!

Stormvolution 9,

thanks for ur sharing, since i already install my meter and timer, have no choice i can ask my mech do my wiring in correct way, but at least next time i face the problem same with u i know what should i do. thanks.

so if we install alarm will have this problem in future? anybody have face the problem with after market alarm? mind to share?

cyilaw,

hey, as for alarm system... got 2 frens damn expert in it... both driving evo oso... de system they r using damn keng!!! but a bit costly lor... but damn safe!!! if u wanna, v can talk/share abt it somewhere else other than here!!! this is for safety purposes... cos there r lots of b*utards did their spy here... :mad: n oso remember not to let anyone who u r not really close, know what alarm system u r using... dun expose urself... dangerious!!!

So any big project for ur MR in de near future? Mmm... anyway, u plan to change ur rims? me been searching... looking for a light weight rims... for u any preferences?

All frens... Pls read this!!! Important to us all (car enthusiast)!!!
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...ead.php?t=32159

aja, how de Euro R doing? good? hope to see ur Galant next time too!!! :D

for me this car i think i won't touch anything on it, sport rims may be will change, but not now, no money..hehe..:P...i prefer the ralliart sport rims. just plan to keep this car as original for daily use, i got another 4wd wira with evo 3 engine waiting go for high hp, just finish run in after change to forged internal part, after i finish my work i will start do it, install bigger turbo..hehe..

the alarm system i plan to get viper alarm, but very costly, think to get the radiostar, more cheaper, but worry about the reliable of this radiostar...:~

guys,

let me share something on this alarm thingy. A few weeks ago, i test drove an evo 7 from a rich lawyer. he got 7 cars!!! walau.

anyway, he got this alarm system with immobilizer, quite a simple alarm system.

however, i like his immobilizer because his is just a small stick. u know there r those in the market which needs to plug in ur immobilizer stick into a metal contact located near your dashboard? for this owner, he doesn't have any metal contacts!!!

i think this type of system is normal here , but i really like the idea because then the thieves will not know THAT there is an immobilizer alarm system present on your car. buy our cars some time.

if they see a metal contact, they will know tt ur car has an immobilizerlah.

but then again, if these guys come with a tow truck...gone lah aduh....:)

just my opinion....be careful where u park

well lets hope the bugger dun get too frustrated and
decides to burn the interior of the car once he found out the owner
is trying to make life hard for them.

like they said, if he can't have it so will the owner.

Stormvolution 9 said:
cyilaw, hey, as for alarm system... got 2 frens damn expert in it... both driving evo oso... de system they r using damn keng!!! but a bit costly lor... but damn safe!!! if u wanna, v can talk/share abt it somewhere else other than here!!! this is for safety purposes... cos there r lots of b*utards did their spy here... n oso remember not to let anyone who u r not really close, know what alarm system u r using... dun expose urself... dangerious!!! So any big project for ur MR in de near future? Mmm... anyway, u plan to change ur rims? me been searching... looking for a light weight rims... for u any preferences? All frens... Pls read this!!! Important to us all (car enthusiast)!!! http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...ead.php?t=32159 aja, how de Euro R doing? good? hope to see ur Galant next time too!!!

Storm,
My Euro R so-so only. BTW, me also really eager waiting for the Galant to arrive. Actually donno which one to maintain / drive, either that Euro R or The Galant! Both hava pro / cons. see first la

cyilaw,

wow!! Wiralution u got lar??? hahaha... how much hp u think u gonna go for? 350hp?? hey, wanna ask u hor, for launching wise is ur MR better then de wiralution? MR wil b heavier, but de 4WD transmission system is much much better. Whereas de wiralution is lighter but de transmission might not b as good as Evo... so what's de results? hehehe... oso when u driving MR, any wiralution or satrialution try to challenge u? hahaha... i guess its quite normal it happened rite?

green, so when ur E7 arrive ler? It seems tht u been testing lots of E7 b4 u made up ur decision lar... Ya, there r lots of rich ppl own lots of cars in kl... i got to know a fren who owned GTR32, 33, 34 n an E7 plus few other europe performance cars... :eek: this r those top top rich guys... jus cant understand how they going to drive all those cars @ hom? :rolleyes:

aja, Euro-R Vs Galant? Mmmm... tough choice... de Galant u r getting is a turbo + 4WD car, rite? so maintainance wise wil b higher compare to Euro-R... oso wil those spare parts hard to source? Mmmm... if ask me hor... i think i'll choose Galant turbo, cos u get more room to play with compare to NA car... hehehe.. :D jus my opinion...