Evo 3 Boost Standard

ranGe nuMber oF bOOstinG iS iMportaNt... n ...diFFerenT...
buT iF u use uR heaRing iS skiLLfuL n moRe saFe...

why so surprised that evo 3 is running on 0.9 bar? Evo 7-8 even higher, running at 1.3 bar.

evo3 std is 0.9? and ppl at lancerregister says 1bar is about as safe as it gets?... sounds a lil dangerous rite... if spike to 1bar+ then conrod patah lor?

if u have enough fuelling 0.9 bar should be still safe but better get your air/fuel ratio tuning right first. Since evo 3 has a slightly fragile block better be safe than sorry.

Originally posted by dolly@Dec 28 2004, 09:02
evo3 std is 0.9? and ppl at lancerregister says 1bar is about as safe as it gets?... sounds a lil dangerous rite... if spike to 1bar+ then conrod patah lor?
different ppl said different story, i hear alot of ppl saying this and that. after all, i try my self, with standard fuel and ecu set up with metal gasket, i try boost to 1.1 bar without anything happend and it use for 1 year, then upgrade my ecu and fuel pump i boost to 1.3 bar also nothing happend with all original piston and conrod and of course with metal gasket. after that open up my engine and notice the piston and conrod still chun...i found some japan web site advice evo 3 standard set up should not over 1.2 bar. so just refer.

Originally posted by jinkl@Dec 28 2004, 02:39
cos mine runs till 0.6 and ppl say its the correct boost . errr
better ask more ppl and experience ppl... ;)

aiyoo u all ah :D
wanted to know the Stock Boost ma :D
hehe confused with potential boost :P

i bet the evo 3 has been bleed to run up to 0.9 boost , cause alot of people say standard actuator opens at 0.6 - 0.7 , including our taiko " sam dum funk " :lol:

thx cyilaw, now i'm not so scared knowing its possible to run that high

yo.. jinkle..

I guess we better make some kinda TT of 4g63 (turbo) users..

so we can share more info and filtering out useful and non useful knowledges..

my one is....

idling boost = -0.5 ~ -0.6
rev boost = 0.6 ~ 0.8(kau kau one)

everything is stock.. exept for air filter and down pipe.

DJ-EVO3 hehe no problem :)
my car now oil leaking .. sial la
park and move the car got spots of oil
must go checkup.

very common problem, mine also like that previously when first transplant. Have to replace all the rubber seals.

hahah... yo jinkl

I guess we better go together.. because I can see my one also..

but the thing is.. if my old work shop didn cheat me, they might change it but

I don see any oil drops... The thing is I could see the trace of oil's flowing

down from top somewhere....

I don know.. :P probably by this monday I will go to workshop.

wanna join me?

oh one more thing.. my kancil... it's defenately having that problem.. (oil dropping)

but I just wonder... stupid workshops put too much engine oil last time..
(actually this is second time that I had this happen on my car....)

it's more than full...

could it be happen that if we put too much engine oil.. it might cause

oil leaking?

hey guys im running an evo3 also. Boost are as below

gear 1 - 0.5
gear 2 - 0.6
gear 3 - 0.85

never test other gears no space. hehe.. i just changed my actuator so it should be correct. All boost are at around 7500k. exactly like DJ-evo3 must rev kau kau somemore or else boost 0.5 bar only. Honestly i think its how hard u step on the throttle, cos boost is actuated by load. Dont u agree?just my one cent opinion.

My Boost

mine...mine

Stock Evo III. Except banana manifold.

Idling -0.5 vacuum
1st Gear Boost - 0.6bar
2nd gear 0.7+ bar
3rd to 5th 0.8 bar max but sometimes creep to 0.9 bar

All at 7000rpm redline. I think mine spool faster coz banana.

What do u think?

which gear are you doing your comparison?

4+k rpm to reach 13psi on 3 (or 4th gear for got xD)

3.5k rpm to reach 13psi on 5th

normally...evo 1-3..

for stock engine n stock actuator

idle..-0.5/-0.4
1st gear..0.6
2nd....0.6
3rd..0.6
4th..0.6
5th..0.6