engine oil

senoi

guyzzz....

sori off topic sikit? can u guys give more details about engine oil specification etc -> 15w50. which 1 is more light or wat ever about lar about the oil. i'm using lantis....tq

dont shot me if i wrong about it.
15w is for winter one, so we can ignore it.
so the 50 is showing the tickness :)

i also drive lantis. i use castrol + tufoil :) very good

the higher the number, the thicker (resistance of flow) it is

next service i wanna try tufoil la..macam best je

lozo said:
the higher the number, the thicker (resistance of flow) it is

So, full synthetic also had 50. some said that full synthetic more lighter...any comment

castrol(10w40) = RM60 (this is the cheapest price can get at PH auto)
tufoil = 58.90 (jj,tesco,ace hardware)

the wider the range of the numbers, the thicker the oil. For instance, 15-50 is much thicker than 10-40, which is thicker than 10-30. the W on, lets say 10W-30, denotes winter usage (useless in m'sia).

The reason where there's a range is because those oil are multigrade viscosity. Long time ago, they had single grade oil, like 5W, 10, 30W... well you get my meaning. So a wider range gives you a wider operating temperature range, but it's not as smooth. Now i think only airplanes and heavy industries use those single grade oils.

Synthetics are smoother than organics/minerals, with higher shearing tolerance than the latter.

I'm just spitting out what I learned about motor oil on the internets, heheh. Did some research on it because I had no idea what oil to put in my car last time. Mobil 1 is the best apparently.