EG6 with B18c

freeman1314

Sifus, need some help here. I'm planning an engine transplant but stuck between b18c(not type-r ones) and b16a.

I asked my mechanic and he said if wan swap b18c(from integra h/c) the mountings need to change 4 mounting but if b16a only need change 1(because my eg now is auto). Is this true ? Because i seen quite alot eg's with b18c. My biggest concern is endorsment part, scare mod the mounting then have problem with jpj.

If you guyz opinion which swap would be better? I manage to source a b18c for 5.4k(not sure got lsd gb or not), but b16a around 8.2k with lsd gb.
I'm looking for a durable engine with less problem and more low end torque.

staple ur mech mouth......
the price u had quote quite affordable....

Staple his mouth ??:confused::confused:
Don't quite understand. Do you mean don't care and go for 18c? What about endorsement?

in all honesty, a b18 will give u better torque... but how come its cheaper? i thought its more expensive? and for that price i highly doubt its LSD. i was considering the two when i did my transplant, but i opted for the 1.6 (silly me).

as far as the mounting is concern, i believe it shouldnt drive u to opt for the other, because its only a small issue which can be resolved by getting another set of engine mountings. wont cost a bomb either... so if u want pure power, i believe the b18 will satisfy ur hunger.. however the b16 is quite powerful also... kekeke :rofl:

as far as endorsement is concerns, both no problems..

I also don't understand why the 18c only 5.4k as compared to other 16a which i found all cost around 6~7++k withouth lsd and 8k++with lsd.
But unbelievably cheap thing mostly doesn't come good so i dare not opt for that 18c. I'll try hunt around and see what I can get.

in terms of value and the potential of having to change mounts to fit a B18C (which i don't think you need to), go for the B16A that comes with an LSD. More worth it if you ask me. B16A has a closer ratio gearbox compared to an S80 B18C gearbox.

Yup, decided and found a 16a. engine condition considered ok la, not tip top but still ok. To best part is it coms with 16b gearbox.:thefinger:

make sure you hit 143whp at the least otherwise you got a dud.

Dyno test will be done only after i installed an vafc or other management to fine tune. Won't do any dyno with the stock engine yet(dyno session are damn gao expensive if go alone)
So won't get to know how much horses yet. The owner of the engine had yet to confirm his price for me also. Now everything at halt waiting for the owner to confirm the price for me.