ECU tuning

hey guys, hi there

i am interested in a subaru impreza wrx v9. the one with a piggie sirt of nose one.

read about the suspension setups u guys are discussing. anyone know the spring rate ?k for front n rear of the wrx? the subaru ver 8 wrx also can.

am tryign to decide wether go for better anti roll bars or spring rates....kkinda loss.

oh yeah i used to own a evo 7 too. or spring rate is F8k R6k...bone jarring brrr.hahaha

is the wrx spring rates less than that?

btw anyone heard of the Prodrive Performance PAck being offered by the local subaru distributer Motor image? anyone knows the price?

actually i think for a ver 8 wrx costing rm186k for brand new is okay eh?

how about the unreg?

RM186K is good if it includes the PPPackage. Does it? I knew they were offering it last year for RM198K i think on the road. But is this for the MY05 or MY06 models?

Considering the warranty you get and the after sales service support from MI its good offer compared to grey imports.

Anyways, do you have MI contact no.? I might also call them to find out. Thanks.

PPPackage is as the name suggests a performance package from prodrive who are the tuners for subaru WRC team. As i recall it's supposed to give you additional 40hps and some amount of torque in addition to the std WRX. Which make it even better in performance compared to a Uk spec STI. If you need to know more check out the prodrive website. THe PPP offered includes intake hoses, tuned exhausts & ECU by prodrive.

Stormvolution 9 said:
supergripen,

Hahaha... Ya, i think u got a very good point here where v dun need a stiff dampers n spring for street use!!! Unless v r aiming for track attack!!! Oh yeah, of cause after i hv put on de HiperMax II + Eibach... i'll do a small little review here... De thing is with my fren - Aerotech, Nilai!!! It cost ard RM10k +/- including setting n stuffs.... Why am getting this sets of suspension is bcos i went for de track day on April in Sepang... From there i discovered 1 of de suspension oredi 'Gong off'... Need to b replaced... And this fren of mine recommended me de above set up... So i'll give it a try!!! :regular_smile:

So do u hv any ECU brand in mind at de moment?

hey storm..wow!! rm10k huh?? outta my league already la.anyways,i rarely track my car so i'm looking for a more streetable setup where ride quality is equally as important as cornering balance and body control.
anyways,i think the HKS will be good..very reputable tuner.i plan to get their products also as Prodrive Japan also uses them.so that seals it for me as far as engine products go.
ECU tuning..well,i've got 2 top choices at the moment la..one is ECUTEK and the other one is the HKS F-con SZ.dunno yet but i plan to use a lot of HKS items such as exhaust system,BOV,panel filter..u good friends with Aerotech ah?? maybe i can visit them one day.i'm near Nilai also:regular_smile:

boostmasta said:
Hey Super - is yours a V8 STI or just V8? Did you get it at Naza? How are their cars compared to otehr dealers out there. Also, one very important thing what kind of mileage are you getting? I heard that these monsters give ard 300kms on almost full tank (60litres) in open/jam city driving - is that true? (I'm straightsixers la :))

hey bro..wah,dah tukar nick ke??

mine is a GDBC STi..i guess its all the same regardless of anywhere u get it.i'm relatively happy with Naza cuz they have all the relevent documents so i have peace of mind.others don't even have the AP for the car!!! how to sell later on??

so bro,have u bought your scoob yet?? the ver8 WRX from MI seems a pretty good deal la bro,provided they give u free PPP la.i'd get that..265bhp,as good as the UK STi bro.Prodrive is such a great tuner man.i'm doing up my STi following Prodrive's concept/philosophy..just ordered 18" Prodrive GC-05F forged rims for my ride.wow!!! can't wait..:X-:

yeah,consumption is pretty high if u push on all the time.i'm getting ard 400-450kms of mixed driving.i'm normally slow in residential/town/kampung areas..below 90kph.but when the roads opens up,i whack her good!!!! syokk..:regular_smile:

silverevo said:
btw anyone heard of the Prodrive Performance PAck being offered by the local subaru distributer Motor image? anyone knows the price?

actually i think for a ver 8 wrx costing rm186k for brand new is okay eh?

how about the unreg?

hey bro..so what prompted you to switch from an Evo7 to an Impreza?? if u don't mind sharing la..

anyways,the deal is good if they give u free PPP.i think this is a good deal cuz for that,u get a new car,that has been tuned by Prodrive no less and you get warranty etc.version9 i think is a bit too expensive for now..still the same basic car with tweaks here and there(very good tweaks though).

try and haggle for freebies if you do get the MI car..

supergripen,

Oh yeah, am close to Aerotech!!! No doubt they charge slightly higher than most tuner out there (guess u might heard of tht as well)... But de biggest plus point is they give TREMANDOUS service n RELAIBLE tuning!!! :_: Am using HKS F-Con SZ which is tuned by Aerotech... On wheel power currently is 297.5hp on dyno which is abt 350hp on engine... On de 3rd gear onwards... de pull force r very very obvious... Am satisfied!!! Hahaha... If u r interested, can pass thier contact for u too... And jus mention my name will do man...

MI contact No: 03 - 7968 1212 Look for Rusaidi or Paul!!!

Eventhough i buy my car with de Grey Importer, but i send my car to MI to do normal services... Their main mech - Mr. Chee is a good foreman too... Been to Sg n Japan for training many times... Experience mech!!! De down side is tht, they do not keep STi parts in stock... But no doubt u can book through them... And of cause its pricy than outside shop...

I heard them mentioned abt de PPP kit, but cant recall how much izzit dy... Mayb u guys need to call up n ask again... Besides, for my personal opinion with rm180k++ for a Ver 8 WRX is a bit pricy no doubt its brand new... With de same price, u can get an unreg Ver8 STi JDM 280hp... Tell u what... de power r very different if u compare 2 cars... Get a nice good condition STi n its really worth it... Go do a test drive on both cars n u wil know what i means!!! :_: UK spec STi is 260hp...

As for Ver9, MI gonna bring it in to Msia... But its de 2.5L version WRX... Price dunno yet... In case anyone need any info on STi JDM spec... Do let me know... My dealer side got few units in Ver7, Ver8 n oso de Ver9!!! Can pass u de contact n u can deal straight to them without naming me la... Jus helping here!!! Hahaha...

As for Evo to Scooby or Scooby to Evo... I hv lotsa experience in frens shifthing from bith sides... LoLzzzz... All hv different opinion n ideas... From Evo to Scooby normally they said cos Scooby r more comfort n easier to drive... More continantal like... From Scooby to Evo, Evo r easier to mod in order to get big power n parts r easier to source... Hehehe...

supergripen, well, the evo 7 ride is damn stiff lah....until i sakit belakang man. anyway i am getting old....no more super fei che for me lah. just want a comfy ride but with adequate power enuf for me.

the thing is once u sat on a performance car like an evo with turbo n 4WD n handling plus 280 hp...its very hard to go get a NORMAL car. i am sure u guys sure share my drift lah.

needless to say, hard to cari a reasonably priced car and not too old. anything less than 200hp or 200 Nm of torque is......well u know haha.

tts why i am looking at subaru lah...handling, 4WD, stiff chassis. comfy ride(is it?)

WRX is good enuf for old man like me.

but i need to go check it out in motor image...wow looks like MI has good ratings here. good also.

cheers for all the help.

hi storm..wah,u got almost 300whp huh?? that's my target actually..so what have u done to get that power??
and can u give me the address for Aerotech in Nilai?? i want to just go have a talk with them.they carry HKS items rite? my fav jap tuner.

hi silverevo,i know what u mean regarding the wooden ride.i'm getting old too,that's why i'm shying away from jap coilovers and going the aussie/brit way of tuning the handling and ride of my scooby.
i think storm has a point there..best for you to try out both the MI WRX and also the STi.get a feel of what suits u best and decide from there.
the WRX is more tame and less manic compared to the STi.if u are mellow,the WRX will do just fine(but i'd still insist on the PPP).the STi is more hardcore with more lag in the turbo(more kick too!!!),the ride is stiffer and eventhough it has a 6speed box,the ratios are damn close.110kph@3100rpm in 6th.WRX ratios are more real world i think but can't take too much power(300hp)i heard..anything more it'll go bust!!
so have a talk and decide which one suits u..

hey andy,thanx for the contact number..going to have a talk with aerotech soon.

supergripen,

Hey bro, hv u call Aerotech??? Hahaha... Myself been very bz with de World Cup lately!!! LoLzzzz.... Anyway, sent my car there for de suspension change!!!! Current setting = HKS HiperMax II + Eibach springs!!! Errr.... forgot to ask what's de spec of de springs... Tell u what, i didnt expect tht changing suspension wil take almost a full day to do so including setting... Wow!!! :shades_smile: Rennie were very patient n careful in his profession!!! He tried out few different springs with different 'k' rate, different car height n etc with on de road test driving until both us n himself r satisfy!!! Hahaha... Not an easy thing to do man...

So now am feeling it n wil do some little review here to share out ya... Currently it felt comfortable n during hard corners it provide stiff support!!! :_:

besides HKS any other suspension brands the aerotech guys carry as well storm9?

Stormvolution 9 said:
supergripen,

Hey bro, hv u call Aerotech??? Hahaha... Myself been very bz with de World Cup lately!!! LoLzzzz.... Anyway, sent my car there for de suspension change!!!! Current setting = HKS HiperMax II + Eibach springs!!! Errr.... forgot to ask what's de spec of de springs... Tell u what, i didnt expect tht changing suspension wil take almost a full day to do so including setting... Wow!!! :shades_smile: Rennie were very patient n careful in his profession!!! He tried out few different springs with different 'k' rate, different car height n etc with on de road test driving until both us n himself r satisfy!!! Hahaha... Not an easy thing to do man...

So now am feeling it n wil do some little review here to share out ya... Currently it felt comfortable n during hard corners it provide stiff support!!! :_:

glad u like ur Hipermax..can't wait for the review.i'm ordering Whiteline suspension bits including progressive sportsprings,adjustable front and rear swaybars and swaybar links.thinking about the anti-lift kit as well but that'll be the next stage..
enjoying the handling of the car now whilst getting to know the car's handling habits as well.seems to be very hyper in response so i need to always have the steering in both hands when driving fast..need faster shifting as well,the gearbox seems very notchy and doesn't like fast hand work.maybe i'll have to start looking for a shortshifter kit now!!!:_:
hell,its hard work driving the STi fast..and i mean twists and turns and switchbacks and sweepers la..not highway.that day i blasted through a deserted palm estate carving road at 190-200kph!!! felt like Petter Solberg doing his stages!!!

silverevo said:
besides HKS any other suspension brands the aerotech guys carry as well storm9?

had a talk with Rennie at Aerotech..apparently they don't really stock many HKS parts anymore.they mostly do tuning nowadays..so once u've done up ur ride,u can send it to them for tuning la.

supergripen,

Wow!!! Great to know tht u r upgrading ur car 'handling' area!!! Its gonna cost lots too from what u hv mentioned!!! Hahaha... What tyres u r using currently huh?!! Mind to share? Hv u try de Bkt Tinggi route (lotsa coners with tight road), Karak Highway (lotsa highspeed corners n sometimes can b very dangerous if u cant slow ur car quick enough) n de Ulu Yam (normally nite drive to avoid de head on traffic, Its really like de Initial D kinda roads) b4??? Hehehe... After u hv tested all de 3 routes, u wil realised power not de most important thing (not priority) whereas handling wil help lots...

Cheers!!! :_:

Stormvolution 9 said:
supergripen,

Wow!!! Great to know tht u r upgrading ur car 'handling' area!!! Its gonna cost lots too from what u hv mentioned!!! Hahaha... What tyres u r using currently huh?!! Mind to share? Hv u try de Bkt Tinggi route (lotsa coners with tight road), Karak Highway (lotsa highspeed corners n sometimes can b very dangerous if u cant slow ur car quick enough) n de Ulu Yam (normally nite drive to avoid de head on traffic, Its really like de Initial D kinda roads) b4??? Hehehe... After u hv tested all de 3 routes, u wil realised power not de most important thing (not priority) whereas handling wil help lots...

Cheers!!! :_:

yeah..very true.handling is very very important..that's why i'm concentrating on suspension work first.power is important too but u must have a good handling car to really control that power..unless only play highway la.

no i haven't got the time to try those roads yet.my favourite road right now is the Labu to Seremban trunk road..goes through palm and rubber estates.the road surface is fantastic and the turns and sweepers and small hills are very very nice to test your skills and also the handling balance of your car..and it doesn't strain ur engine too much like those hill roads.sorta like a smaller version of the nurburgring.

Write your reply...