Drift and Drag Strip

turbolover

Hey guys,
If i were to built a drift,drag or a toned down race track, do i need to have a licence?If yes how do i go about it?
If i don't need a licence to run a track, do i need to construct a track to specification.I hope some sifu or those who are well verse in these matters can help me answer my queries.:itsme:Thank You.

well, it depends on what event u want to run. let's say ur interested to host a motogp or f1, then u need FIA/FIM approval. they will have to approve the layout, design etc n the track must be built up to their stringent quality including safety barrier, tarmac quality, run-off areas, pitlane, paddock, communications, monitoring etc etc etc...

if u want to host local events, u can contact AAM/MAM to get their endorsement n once u get that, u can host lots of sanctioned events.

what i would do, given enough budget, is to build a drag strip, up to proper NHRA spec. that could generate enough money, considering there is no proper drag racing track in malaysia. no matter where the location is, drag racers would come to participate...

Thanks Khoyos for the prompt reply.I have the land and resources can be arrange.Maybe i can contact AAM like you mentioned.If jadi definitely will invite you over for your 2Jz.hehe.:biggrin:

this is very interesting question...but im 70% sure you definitely need a licence and approval from the goverment.How much and costs and documents required ...or even requirements to run a track approved by the goverment im also not sure...but i would definitely like to know also.

fuck the government man. the only thing government will help in this matter is to send an army of politicians trying their best to scrape ur money clean with all sorts of legislations, red tape, etc etc etc.

build the track based on international standard. invite NHRA officials to come inspect n sanction the track. once its sanctioned by NHRA, then automatically AAM will concur with the ruling. then just maintain the standard, sub 9 sec must have chute, rollcage rules for each category etc etc etc. keep the government out of it. for sure they wont assist in funding the project so why should they reap the rewards?

this is the thing that will propel our country's drag racing scene, instead of participating in a "drag battle" that doesnt allow burnouts n held on a GP course tarmac... that leads us nowhere. at least some of our local tuners can prove their worth with their ballistic RWD machines. in sepang, these machines are being "bullied" by 4wd due to inability to do burnout.

p/s i'm not a big drag racing fan but i would love our country to at least have the facilities to compete with our neighbouring country, n as a result, allowing healthy competition n development of technologies that we as end users can benefit as well...

Bump: and maybe then, we can invite the "kings" from our neighbouring contry, finally making their presence worthy when they see our PROPER drag strip...

Totaly agree with what you said.I will check with AAM and MAM about this matter as i know that dealing with govenment is a hassle and i don't need financial help from them.They need help from us by us paying those taxes.:smokin:

but im sure in any grounds that you were to build a racetrack, im sure there will be government intervention.

Just be ready to well....to be put blatantly, 'under table monies'

Even after receiving a license to setup a track and gotten the approval based on the design and construction of the track....the rules that is set cant be done by the track owner?

turbolover..if you have checked with AAM and MAM do please share with us what was mentioned...thank you so much bro.

Called MAM and they don't sanction drift track, so i ask about drag strip.No need licence but must be away from residential area and i assume the layout of the track must follow specification from local council.And with another drag strip that will affect SIC i'm sure the council will reject for whatever reason they can come out with.Nevertheless i will try to apply when the time is right.See whether the plans can be approve.But need hell alot of money for a track which is safe for spectator.

maybe if u open it to the public the u need a license right...

but what about if its private??

Even private u need the layout plan of your track to be approved by council first.Then they will study to see whether are there any housing nearby regardless of your track is for private use or public.But from what i gather,safety feature is very important.even SIC is not really 'safety proof' as public are allowed to walk around the pit lane.accidents happens.just read in papers that a fan watching bicycle race got killed by police bike.Not even dealing with high powered cars yet.:nurse: