wat so funny? :mellow:
A key point to note is that the closer the operating voltage (14.4V) present to the maximum voltage (16V), the shorter the lifespan of the capacitors. You don't have to exceed the voltage to be harmful, you have to be too close.. 1.6v/16v is a 10% margin.. sounds a tad too narrow for me.Originally posted by khguan@Feb 27 2005, 10:50
levin818,
my VS is built not onli for de ECU n sensors... its for de lights, ICE n etc... so dat i can get more benefits from one thing... n my bass definitely improved...
another thing is i think using 16V caps is sufficient... our car nominal or maximum voltage is 14.4 volt... n de power supply is coming from de alternator... alternator is like a dynamo.. n de voltage supplied is proportional to de rpm.. n i believe there is a voltage regulator or limiter for de alternator.. so no matter how fast u rev ur engine.. it produce max 14.4V... so it is still safe...
if u say there is a voltage strike... then de ECU will be fried together with de VS... then if like dat without my VS de ECU also will be gone lar...
so as a safety protection i put a 10A fuse... some ppl ask me y i dun put 30A fuse... i think dat 30A fuse will not serve it purpose when there is a surge...
so far i used my VS for more than a month... under damn hot weather condition... driving daytime n nightime wit most of my electrical items on.. NO PROBLEMS at all. i open up my VS n check.. everyting inside look new.. n most important.. no deformation of de caps..
yeah.. anyway thanx for ur comments n advice..
Did proton rejected your Job Application? Cause they sure need more minds like yours... :DOriginally posted by Indecided@Mar 2 2005, 19:09
Afterall, there is no major cost difference between 16v and 25v... don't risk your electronics for ignorance. You can't say that if ECU goes, the VS goes as well.. that is testing fate... you should be able to say that even if the ECU can go my VS will still survive the surge! :huh:
Originally posted by n305er+Mar 3 2005, 07:51 -->
QUOTE (n305er @ Mar 3 2005, 07:51 ) --QuoteBegin-Indecided
@Mar 2 2005, 19:09
Afterall, there is no major cost difference between 16v and 25v... don't risk your electronics for ignorance. You can't say that if ECU goes, the VS goes as well.. that is testing fate... you should be able to say that even if the ECU can go my VS will still survive the surge! :huh:
Did proton rejected your Job Application? Cause they sure need more minds like yours... :D [/b][/quote] Well, I would probably make a dent in the finance department.. I'm a BA student. And I won't work for non-MNCs... Nuff said about that. Thanks for the compliment though :) |
tis 1 is interesting......how much different?Originally posted by levin818@Mar 2 2005, 21:03
According to E-Cap specification, the higher the voltage, the lower the ESR. Therefore a 25V E-Cap will have better noise supression performance over 16V E-Cap (which mean you can reduce the qty in parallel).
Perhaps you might want to consider this point.
Agree with khguan, like my case:Originally posted by khguan@Mar 5 2005, 17:53
i'm not sure whether each car need specific total cap value or not... personally i dun think so... u c those aftermarket VS they never state it is for wat car n wat car... it can be used on all cars.... so i dun think de caps values r not specific to every car...
ok.. de more farad u have... de better de stiffening effect will be when voltage drop occurs...
dun worry about de charging time... it wil be charged all de time... when ur voltage drop.. de VS will supply some current to stabilize de voltage.. n when de voltage normal de caps r charged... so time to charge de caps is NOT important.. time to discharge is important..