Diy : Undercarriage Lights

Originally posted by tzmito+Mar 3 2005, 01:13 -->
QUOTE (tzmito @ Mar 3 2005, 01:13 )

okay lahh . 2 feet tube is enough bright lah .. [/b]

2 feet tube also bright lar... u use 2 tubes equals to 1 4feet tube liao

Originally posted by jaywat@Mar 3 2005, 05:15
Actually there is a few disadvantages installing the undercarriage light.

1. Higher bump might hit and break the light. Unless using slimmer tube and place it completely protected by car undercarriage bone.

2. Cannot jack up car using those "big jack" which enable you to stand beneath the car one...those holding only car undercarriage bone.

3. Scare flood. Unless completely water proofed, from tube, connection point to wire..

IMHO ;)
1. bumps?? not really.. my wira always geser o hit bump wan.. no prob also.. just make sure de tubes is not de lower parts of ur car... u must mount it higher than de bone.

2. this depends on wat car.. like GTi may have a prob. my fren llast time kena... go to tyre shop.. use those jack for whole car wan... jack onli.. de thing break...
wira its ok... if de foreman kenot c clearly when working.. u can ON it :P :lol:

3. no worries bout flood... i dun think it will short dat easily... i experience raining heavily also no prob... flood also kena b4.. but dat time i din ON de lights ler..

actually very easy to do.. just everyone dun hav confident to try / do.. so they ask dis n dat to 100% confirm.. just like me.. but i've tried a lot of stuff... :P
jz not really into dis neon light yet..

no confident? just connect them all together 1st.. confirm can work liao then onli install it onto ur car lor...

btw.. this is not neon.. flourescent niah..

soli la.. F L O U R E S C E N T < too many words.. N E O N < 4 oni.. somemore they know wat i mean 1.. but i typed all liao .. haiz.. ;)

use DC choke no need starter wan... wiring diagram is on de choke itself..

bought 40w tube? use 40w choke lor... wats de prob?

talk about starter...that day the shop ppl who sold me the fluorescent light insist me buying the starter...he said even i don't use this time...next time when room lamp starter burnt also can change mar.. <_<

Originally posted by khguan+Mar 3 2005, 10:39 -->
QUOTE (khguan @ Mar 3 2005, 10:39 )
--QuoteBegin-jaywat
@Mar 3 2005, 05:15
Actually there is a few disadvantages installing the undercarriage light.

1. Higher bump might hit and break the light. Unless using slimmer tube and place it completely protected by car undercarriage bone.

2. Cannot jack up car using those "big jack" which enable you to stand beneath the car one...those holding only car undercarriage bone.

3. Scare flood. Unless completely water proofed, from tube, connection point to wire..

IMHO ;)

1. bumps?? not really.. my wira always geser o hit bump wan.. no prob also.. just make sure de tubes is not de lower parts of ur car... u must mount it higher than de bone.

2. this depends on wat car.. like GTi may have a prob. my fren llast time kena... go to tyre shop.. use those jack for whole car wan... jack onli.. de thing break...
wira its ok... if de foreman kenot c clearly when working.. u can ON it :P :lol:

3. no worries bout flood... i dun think it will short dat easily... i experience raining heavily also no prob... flood also kena b4.. but dat time i din ON de lights ler.. [/b][/quote]
U put the tube into rubber hose right?? after flood then issit very dirty inside the rubber hose??

nope.. de side i cut some of de hose to sumbat it.. so dat no holes.. water go in very little onli.. i mean when flood.. when rain.. can say no water go in...

Actually, I think we can use heat shrinks to cover both ends of the tube to protect it from water....

But I've personally never seen such a big heat shrink lah.. haha....

yah.. heat shrink is good idea.. but such big heat shrink mayb expensive..

n when u wanto replace tube. then have to use new heat shrink again..

Originally posted by jaywat@Mar 3 2005, 20:24
talk about starter...that day the shop ppl who sold me the fluorescent light insist me buying the starter...he said even i don't use this time...next time when room lamp starter burnt also can change mar.. b]

dude.. room lamp where got starter? did he mean de car round room lamp?

Originally posted by khguan+Mar 4 2005, 10:44 -->
QUOTE (khguan @ Mar 4 2005, 10:44 )
--QuoteBegin-jaywat
@Mar 3 2005, 20:24
talk about starter...that day the shop ppl who sold me the fluorescent light insist me buying the starter...he said even i don't use this time...next time when room lamp starter burnt also can change mar.. b]

dude.. room lamp where got starter? did he mean de car round room lamp?
[/quote]
hahahah actually i don't know how to differentiate which is room lamp lar...but i was refering the tube fluorescent light...because my room put that fluorescent light mar..so i said room lamp lar :P :lol:

actually i was thinking of cover the hose opening with some rubber scoop one...but now lazy already lar.. :lol:

khguan, never see your car front look with the undercarriage light on...care to show some?? must be nice also :rolleyes:

my car in front got no undercariiage lights cos no suitable place to mount.... wira bumpers kenot fit those lights... if u fit it.. it wil hit de bump...

unless if using GTi bumpers.. then can... de skirtings there got place to mount... like wat my fren did...

anyway.. i got lan to install those lights inside my bumper... so can c from de front.. but now no time to do it yet.. so have to wait lar...