DIY LED brake lights. Need help.

Bro, can put the image size bigger? Thanks for clearing things up. Why are u not more active? Haha
Anyways, I thought using parallel setup is better? And also power are evenly spread?
Because i tot if series, one bulb die, hard to diagnose the faulty ones.
It's big already what.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
He needs a bigger screen...stupidcar, save this diagram in a file and project it onto a screen at mamak stalls haha

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Tail light manufacturer usually connect the LED in Series and Parallel connection.
Imagine the above 4 LED in series connection is consider as circuit no.1.
They will have circuit no.2, that connect with circuit no.1 in parallel.
Then connect again with circuit no.3, in parallel, then no. 4, no. 5, and so on.

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

It mean if one LED is dead, whole circuit (4 LED) is off.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Tail light manufacturer usually connect the LED in Series and Parallel connection.
Imagine the above 4 LED in series connection is consider as circuit no.1.
They will have circuit no.2, that connect with circuit no.1 in parallel.
Then connect again with circuit no.3, in parallel, then no. 4, no. 5, and so on.

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

It mean if one LED is dead, whole circuit (4 LED) is off.
Damn, its too messy. Cant process the info.
Ya lor, so series is quite bad.
I will just get a 100ohm 2W resistor?

levin818

Nov 29, 2003
Series connection has good power efficiency, while parallel has a terribly low efficiency.
(Imagine power wasted as heat at the high wattage resistor)
Also, series connection has more even in light intensity compare to parallel connection as what you does.

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Series connection has good power efficiency, while parallel has a terribly low efficiency.
(Imagine power wasted as heat at the high wattage resistor)
Also, series connection has more even in light intensity compare to parallel connection as what you does.
But then if I need to do 80 leds, can series manage it? 12v is not enough right?

which one MORE powerful !!!
i heard mivec open MORE powerful than vtec open ...
i'ts that true .....
correct me if I am wrong :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: