DIY LED brake lights. Need help.

Bro, can put the image size bigger? Thanks for clearing things up. Why are u not more active? Haha
Anyways, I thought using parallel setup is better? And also power are evenly spread?
Because i tot if series, one bulb die, hard to diagnose the faulty ones.

It's big already what.

attachment.php

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    31.8 KB · Views: 477
He needs a bigger screen...stupidcar, save this diagram in a file and project it onto a screen at mamak stalls haha

Tail light manufacturer usually connect the LED in Series and Parallel connection.
Imagine the above 4 LED in series connection is consider as circuit no.1.
They will have circuit no.2, that connect with circuit no.1 in parallel.
Then connect again with circuit no.3, in parallel, then no. 4, no. 5, and so on.

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

It mean if one LED is dead, whole circuit (4 LED) is off.

Tail light manufacturer usually connect the LED in Series and Parallel connection.
Imagine the above 4 LED in series connection is consider as circuit no.1.
They will have circuit no.2, that connect with circuit no.1 in parallel.
Then connect again with circuit no.3, in parallel, then no. 4, no. 5, and so on.

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:35 PM ----------

It mean if one LED is dead, whole circuit (4 LED) is off.

Damn, its too messy. Cant process the info.
Ya lor, so series is quite bad.
I will just get a 100ohm 2W resistor?

Series connection has good power efficiency, while parallel has a terribly low efficiency.
(Imagine power wasted as heat at the high wattage resistor)
Also, series connection has more even in light intensity compare to parallel connection as what you does.

Series connection has good power efficiency, while parallel has a terribly low efficiency.
(Imagine power wasted as heat at the high wattage resistor)
Also, series connection has more even in light intensity compare to parallel connection as what you does.

But then if I need to do 80 leds, can series manage it? 12v is not enough right?

Series-parallel connection:

• 3rd Brake Light_multiple circuit.bmp
    801.3 KB · Views: 155
if you want 80 LEDs, just make (4 LED in series) x 20 unit.

Actually right, i made 4 leds in series with a 100ohm (1/4w) resistor to a direct 12V.
Then neg pole i connect them together.
I still don't understand the culprit other than the 1/4W change to 2W part.
Thanks for bearing with me bro

stupidcar, the diagram levin showed you is the same like mine. I think you will get what he mean soon...

From your picture, you are putting the LEDs in parallel.

---------- Post added at 01:01 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:59 AM ----------

Would suggest you just copy exactly what TitanRev does. Save your time.

From your picture, you are putting the LEDs in parallel.

---------- Post added at 01:01 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:59 AM ----------

Would suggest you just copy exactly what TitanRev does. Save your time.

I did 4 leds in series to a parallel 12V source.