D.i.y Changing Radiator Coolant

duno why all these cheapo unusable coolant can be sold to the public?
don't they should have some regulations on this?

O now i finally understand. hehe previously i thought the Toyota Long Life coolant Rm19 is for 500ml but its actually per liter so its definately worth it. But best like what you guys said, buy 2 liter of coolant. As for the reserve tank i guess i'll just add Distilled water. ;)

Now i no eye see the coolant until i get a better wan. If i'm not mistaken Proton car all using green coolant and yes my Kelisa coolant is also red.

Nowadays you can find cheap coolant everywhere and if i'm not mistaken again, i've seen before a coolant name Type R. :P

Woh RM19 for 1 lter leh. heheh. But the cheap stuff is 3.50 for 1 litre! Nowdays RM5 for 1 liter.

Remember to use the cleanest water u can find. Filtered water is good also. Distilled is best but not necessary because it is hard to get and expensive. :lol:

Do 1 time only last 3 years. hahaha. :lol:

I've been filling up the overflow reservoir with tap water... shit I think my radiator is gonna rust very badly pretty soon.

My previous coolant was green if I'm not mistaken. Is it ok if I change to the Toyota Long Life one?

Edit: oh ya, and where to get toyota long life coolant?

Actually its not a concern to use toyota coolants. I mean if i'm not mistaken EON or Proton has Preston DEX cool rite? Those are the best. And it is also red in color. But i dunno how much. Last time i saw DEX cool in ACE hardware retailing for RM35. for 2 liter? Which is good buy. Cheaper than Toyota coolant.

Why use clean water because we don;t want rust particles inside to form rust or contaminated or clog the water ways. Actually coolant has more function than being a boil temp raising agent. Lubricant and acid neutralyzer. Got some more la, forgot already. :lol:

Hi all,

What is the method of you use to change coolant.

I went to Proton service before. What they did is:

1: Open the radiator cap (after it is cool) and push a rubber hose with running water into it.

2: Use a clamp to help remove the the big radiator return hose (from engine) at the radiator end (it is held by a spring clip).

3: Start the engine. You will see the water + Coolant (mine is green) pouring out from the hose.

4: After a while the color of the water coming out from the radiator is colourless. This shows that the whole engine has been clean and flushed from old coolant.

5: Stop the engine and put back(clamp it back on) the radiator return hose. Remove the water hose and start engine. The water level in the radiator should drop and you can pour your coolant in.

6: Pour the coolant (4/5) into the radiator and if it still drains, top up with the water from water hose.

7: Pour the balance 1/5 coolant into the reserve tank and top up the tank to 1/2 or 3/4 full. (They did not clean my reserve tank :( )

Note: I plan to do this myself at this Saturday and also remove and clean the reserve tank. :)

Disclaimer: You have to be careful not to be hurt by the hot water. ;)

GRANDDADY RULE OF DIY: "ALWAYS and ALWAYS BECAREFUL".

Cheers to Diy. :P

i just sent mine to Honda srvice centre and i tell you they did a good job...dunno whether it was them or whether the shop that they sent it too was good...however, i was happy...note that i said "was" happy...drove around for 3 to 4 months when suddenly my needle started behaving like my RPM meter when u accelerate...it just goes up n up n up....opened the radiator cap and to my disgust i saw grease or some kind of oily shit in my radiator...i dunno where it came from..did anybody experience this before?

G.

i just sent mine to Honda srvice centre and i tell you they did a good job...dunno whether it was them or whether the shop that they sent it too was good...however, i was happy...note that i said "was" happy...drove around for 3 to 4 months when suddenly my needle started behaving like my RPM meter when u accelerate...it just goes up n up n up....opened the radiator cap and to my disgust i saw grease or some kind of oily shit in my radiator...i dunno where it came from..did anybody experience this before?

G.

Have you done a top overhaul before?
if yes, the engine oil have been contaminated the water jacket around cylinder block which is the mechanic didn't flush it from the cooling system. it's based on my experienced before.

Wellit depend on wat meterial coolant.. Esso they sell coolant also ok... I myself buy in supermarket coolant also no problem... Dun not pour more then 500ml coolant.. it will made ur radiator bocor...

Well i yessterday did flushing on my Kia sorento.. and Damn my radiator water tank bocor... The tank crack.. And it cost rm200 for de plastic tank... Hope my spare parts come afternoon andd i need to DIY replace it a.s.a.p b4 4pm....

There is no diff with red and green.... if ur radiator rust mean ur tap water is too much then ur coolant...

i wanted to post a thread on my DIY but i lazy... keke...

many ppl use toyota coolant, its not bad...im using it currently, before this running with Q8 coolant

Have you done a top overhaul before?
if yes, the engine oil have been contaminated the water jacket around cylinder block which is the mechanic didn't flush it from the cooling system. it's based on my experienced before.

yes thet previous time this happened i changed to a whole new radiator(aluminium type) and did a top overhaul too..but then now i see that the problem has returned. im just worried that the block is cracked or sumting serious like that...

G.

For the most effective cooling and heat dissipation use DISTILLED water. RO water is also good. In my case i use filtered water straight from tap which is also good. So long the water is not yellowing from hidden rust particles and mud!

When buying coolant, use Orange or Red colored coolant. I use TOYOTA long life COOLANT RM19 for 1 litre bottle. Prestone DEXcool is even better. But very hard to get.

U should use approximate 50/50 water and coolant.

In this case a normal radiator should be around 4 litres capacity. Mine is 4.5 liters. So i use 2 litres of coolant and 2.5 litres of water. Close enough. So use 2 litres of coolant and 2 litres of water. If u have no idea how many liters ur radiator is. But 2 litres of 1 litre coolant or 2 litre bottle then fill up empty bottle with water and u can know easily.

DON'T USE GREEN CHEAP COOLANT! I will tell u last time i use this it turned my rust to white deposits and that nearly cause blockage in my block! Not to mention busted my radiator cap in the process!

Do not flush your radiator if it is above 10 years old. U need to get a full external radiator flush from shops.

Remember Coolant doens't prevent from overheating. It prevents water from boiling easily that cause air to form and reduce radiator efficiancy.

Change the overflow tank water too!

After filling, run the engine and remember to squeeze the top radiator hose and you can see some trapped air pockets coming out. Run until the radiator water is almost overflowing continiously, then cap it.

Enjoy radiatore comfort. :lol:

means i cant flush my more 20 year old saga.? but its rusty though. inside. i checked the other day.:idea:

yeah,
when i diy, i just drain everything out..
well, is it harmful?
:hmmmm:

means i cant flush my more 20 year old saga.? but its rusty though. inside. i checked the other day.:idea:

i think what netmatrix tryin 2 say is true. if u flush ur radiator with rusts while starting ur engine, it might block any small coolant holes ie water jackets, water pump etc. better if u take out n send it for servicing at any radiator flush wshop. i think it would cost u rm80 for flush n paint d radiator (for a bmw cars. they take n send back ur radiator for free too).

i just flush out my 15yo satria radiator last week. just let d water run from d top of d radiator n drain it out. alot of rusts coming out. i did this 4 at least 10 mins. just let d water runs. n after d rusts is gone from d drained water, i run the engine n flush it too. take another 10 mins oso. the add coolant n bleed d system. all n all it just take u 30 mins.

ohh, regarding d white dust when u use chokia green coolant, i call it white sludge. this white sludge usually happen when u use anti-freeze as ur coolant. anti-freeze is normally used in countries which do have cold wethers. it task is to prevent d coolant from freezing inside d cooling system. for our country, it just act as an additive like coolant, but it will cause white sludge bcoz our climate is very hot. so i also recommend to use toyota's red coolant. better maa although it costs u more.