Crossover...

ksgoh

Hi sifu and taiko,
normally how many crossover to be installed for 2 front and rear speakers, 2 tweeters, and woofer(s)??

almost al component set in market is passive rite...
seldom got a active set

You just cannot have more than 1 active crossover in any set up, regardlass of how many speakers and subs in your set up.
Buy the comps, disgard the passives, install a full active crossover and you'll have a full active system in your car.

Normally most systems would have passives on the front speakers and rear (if installed with components) and nearly all amps on the market comes with a built in active crossover... some have good crossovers that can do bandpassing , some are simple crossovers for highpassing or low passing..

Originally posted by ksgoh@Sep 10 2004, 06:39 PM
Hi sifu and taiko,
normally how many crossover to be installed for 2 front and rear speakers, 2 tweeters, and woofer(s)??
then what is suit for my spec?? active or passive?

Active crossover allow you to control your frequency and whereby passive doesn't

thanks for ur info....then i should go for active since i can control the frequency.......

as pisces said, whole system cannot have more than 1 active crossover, right?
my quention, normally i see the comp set comes with 2 tweeter, 2 comp speakers, and 2 box crossovers.....if i have this kind of set, should i add on a crossover if i want to install sub woofer(s) and 2 rear bass speakers??
second question, as normal proton car with comes with 2 front speaker and 2 rear speakers....could it possible to get better SQ if i just install a crossover (at where?) without install any extra speaker/tweeters/woofers??

Those comp set crossover are PASSIVE ! Only high end comp set passive crossover is adjustable but again there aren't as flexible as active crossover. This is what i have come across so far.

Originally posted by ksgoh@Sep 15 2004, 02:02
thanks for ur info....then i should go for active since i can control the frequency.......

my quention, normally i see the comp set comes with 2 tweeter, 2 comp speakers, and 2 box crossovers.....if i have this kind of set, should i add on a crossover if i want to install sub woofer(s) and 2 rear bass speakers??
second question, as normal proton car with comes with 2 front speaker and 2 rear speakers....could it possible to get better SQ if i just install a crossover (at where?) without install any extra speaker/tweeters/woofers??
Q1) If you are running your comps via the passives, then you still need an external crossover to control the HPF on the mids and LPF on the sub. A normal HI-Mid-Low crossover costing about RM300 is enough.
Q2) No. A crossover will not improve the SQ of your speakers. Those stock speakers really suck despite the fact that those car manufacturer charge us a bomb for them. :angry:
And BTW, forget about the rear speakers and invest in a better set of front comps.

i'm clueless about this......
how to identify that crossover that are active or passive........

Just a simple rule of thumb
Active crossover = can adjust frequency via a knob or chips
passive = cannot adjust frequency without modifying the internals.

Originally posted by pisces+Sep 15 2004, 08:20 -->
QUOTE (pisces @ Sep 15 2004, 08:20 )
--QuoteBegin-ksgoh
@Sep 15 2004, 02:02

Q1) If you are running your comps via the passives, then you still need an external crossover to control the HPF on the mids and LPF on the sub. A normal HI-Mid-Low crossover costing about RM300 is enough.
Q2) No. A crossover will not improve the SQ of your speakers. Those stock speakers really suck despite the fact that those car manufacturer charge us a bomb for them. :angry:
And BTW, forget about the rear speakers and invest in a better set of front comps. [/b][/quote]
thanks pisces....that's mean i still need a extra crossover for rear speaker and sub evern i have a passive crossover to control the front speaker and tweeters, right?
question again.... :P
what is kind of crossover needed if i want to have 2 sub at once??

Bro i think whether two sub or one sub , it doesnt make a difference so long as the xover filters only the low bass notes for the sub. As long as the signal is filtered , the number of subbies dont make a difference as it still passes through the amp all the same.

Crossover is actually just to filter the desired notes for ur music. Means if u use Low pass filter(lpf) the high notes will be filtered from ur music signal and only low bass notes will be fed to your sub. Same goes for ur other like high pass filter.Just to send the desired signal to ur speakers to maximise potential form amp and speaker , to let ur equipment not to play unwanted tones.any sifu pls correct me if im wrong. Just my newbie two cents.keke

Let me elaborate a little on what yohannes had just mentioned.
Proper tuning with crossovers will help you greatly to improve your soundstage.
If you tune your HPF on your front mids and LPF on your sub correctly, then you'll get upfront stage and upfront SUB bass on your dash.

Write your reply...