Crankcase Filter Modification..

first u got to locate the pcv hose... it should connect from engine to ur throtle body... locate that one first.... maybe u can pose some picture of your engine....

no one have pic of fuel injection engine here?? will try to capture if free today....but use web cam one, no clear laa.... :(

ksgoh,

engine bay, nah!

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/drexchan@1/3293/128F46146490.jpg

the circle shows the hose where i install the Microcompressor T-joint. my car is carb. but i think is the same.... :)

yup that is PCV.... the crankcase ventilation hose is normally connected to the air filter one right? its on the other side.... right side...

you mean you installed your MC on the crankcase vent hose (the one in yellow lined in my picture)?? That's wrong. You sure you didn't confused between the CVH and PCV?

already confuse by u liao.... but from my exp, i tried to connect my microcompressor at both side too (center and right side).... but at right side it dont hv any effect even i open up all my valve.... however at the center side it hv effect when i open the valve.... so i'm sure its the right place to install my microcompressor there.....

Originally posted by drexchan@Nov 24 2004, 02:05
ksgoh,

engine bay, nah!

http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/photoalbum/drexchan@1/3293/128F46146490.jpg
dun care which side of the engine larr, each engine have different places for PCV and also the ventilation thing...

in the pics shown here, the yellow line is the crankcase hose...
if im not mistaken, this engine is a 1.5i engine...or maybe a 1.3i engine as the thing looks the same...

i did this MC on my frens wira 1.5GLi and the MC is located at the side away from the original filterbox(right side of engine bay, looking from the front of the car)

the one in this topic is about the relocation of the breather for the engine valve cover...normally we would just replace the pipe with the breather directly but in this topic, he said was to replace it somewhere else which could draw in cooler air

to my opinion, this valve is where the car sucks in when the engine is idle, you could hear a chirping sound coming out from it if the breather is not in place( the chirping sound could only be heard if your tappet adjustments are done properly, if not, you could only hear the tappet sounds[very fast click klak klik klak sound])

so do not be confused about this DIY, its not for MC, the hose he is reffering to is the hose connected to the original filter box hose, not the PCV hose..

hope you guys can understant what the heck i was talking tho... :blink:

"if im not mistaken, this engine is a 1.5i engine...or maybe a 1.3i engine as the thing looks the same..." - gavan -

brother, that's my 1.5GLi lar.. haha!!! :lol:

Originally posted by drexchan@Nov 25 2004, 14:26
"if im not mistaken, this engine is a 1.5i engine...or maybe a 1.3i engine as the thing looks the same..." - gavan -

brother, that's my 1.5GLi lar.. haha!!! :lol:
oh, yeah lorr, thats why i said its either 1.5i or 1.3i cause the engine looks femiliar with my frens engine marr, wira engine also :P hehehehe, anywayz, niec clean engine you have there also...