Component set soft ..

Originally posted by rfbies@Jan 31 2005, 11:48
hi all Sifus,

i just bought a Rockford Fosgate FNP 2614 6.5" com set from singapore.
Installed at there.. current set up is pioneer mp3 player (5650) and ohters
all stock .. ( Wira, Rear Clarion 6x9 Ori)

ok .. i am very new to car audio, b4 i install the Rockford com set, my
rear stock speakers are very loud, with nice base (maybe to me nice, to
sifu here is lousy. .hehe)

so after researching around the net, i got the impression that a 6.5"
component set can play very loud and nice music. But when i install the
Rockford com set, it seems to me "its just so so.." what i on both, my rear
stock speakers is louder than my Rockford com set. And the bass of the rear
stock speakers is better and louder again.

but one thing for sure, the front com set are sharper, so when i put the
FAD to +16 (front), i can only hear some soft vocal and sharp voice and a
little base, but when i put the FAD to 0, the sound very loud and nice..

As you sifu knows, my rockford model is a lower end com set.. maybe because
it is cheap or some setting wrong ?

here is my question :

1. Does all component set sound soft ? or only those lower end com set like
my ?

2. Currently my com set is not connected to AMP, if i install a AMP, would
it be a big different ?

3. or can it be anything wrong with the installation ? like, maybe they
never connect the Crossover ? (if no crossover can the tweeter and mid
function?)

4. or maybe my player push all the watts to the rear speakers? hehehe

thanks all Sifu !
my front speaker also RF P162S 6.5" mid speakers, i use a P2002 RF - 400w amp to push the front speaker, sound ok, and add in one dynamat 1 farad of cadence, if u want boom boom in front i think u will have to bring your woofer to put in the center of the dashboardloh :lol: :lol: :lol:

ask all the sifu here, no body wanna play anymore rear speaker, dump it, at the back u only need a woofer and in front a pair of component speaker or mid range speaker.

Just a two kumpang of mine. Good luck.

Originally posted by Tohsan
my front speaker also RF P162S 6.5" mid speakers, i use a P2002 RF - 400w amp to push the front speaker, sound ok, and add in one dynamat 1 farad of cadence, if u want boom boom in front i think u will have to bring your woofer to put in the center of the dashboardloh laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

ask all the sifu here, no body wanna play anymore rear speaker, dump it, at the back u only need a woofer and in front a pair of component speaker or mid range speaker.

woww.. nice component u have there.. how much u got it ? and nice amp u got there also .. how much u buy this amp ? so u are using RF com set and a RF amp, how was it so far ?

no lah .. i dont intend to on that loud on the front component, but just now was too soft..

hehe . thansk !

Originally posted by rfbies+Jan 31 2005, 20:25 -->
QUOTE (rfbies @ Jan 31 2005, 20:25 )
Woww.. thanks all man,

--QuoteBegin-DJThoRmented

not a sifu, so can't recommend you an amp... wink.gif

look at your components requirements, mainly the rms... hmmm... if i'm not wrong.

since you're a rock head banging typo... look for amp characteristic that can keep up the pace of your music and don't forget... rf are power hungry... wink.gif

so if my Component set stated 50W, 100W peak, which should i look for? 100W ? if the 4 channel amp stated 50wx4, means 200W ? actually if the component set stated 100W, is both side 100W or 100w per side ?

actually i not so into head banging, i dont like techno... but like rock, slow rock, alternative, for example, Third eye blind, goo goo dolls, collective soul, smashing pumpkins, matchbox 20, nirvana, gun and roses, Foo fighters... [/b][/quote]
with music type like yours... don't you think of a sub? :o :P ;)

i'm no good in calculations... gave up on math a looooong time ago... now only use network calculator :P so ask the sifus on calculations ;)

but seriously, with your type of music... go for a sub man ;)

Originally posted by rfbies+Feb 1 2005, 14:43 -->
QUOTE (rfbies @ Feb 1 2005, 14:43 )
--QuoteBegin-Tohsan

my front speaker also RF P162S 6.5" mid speakers, i use a P2002 RF - 400w amp to push the front speaker, sound ok, and add in one dynamat 1 farad of cadence, if u want boom boom in front i think u will have to bring your woofer to put in the center of the dashboardloh laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

woww.. nice component u have there.. how much u got it ? and nice amp u got there also .. how much u buy this amp ? so u are using RF com set and a RF amp, how was it so far ?

no lah .. i dont intend to on that loud on the front component, but just now was too soft..

hehe . thansk ! [/b][/quote]
The P162S speaker n P2002 amp will cost you somewhere RM2K plus only. So far I am satisfy with the performance.
If i got cash I wanna play Sinfoni n Rainbow.

Originally posted by DJThoRmented+-->
QUOTE (DJThoRmented)
with music type like yours... don't you think of a sub? ohmy.gif tongue.gif wink.gif

i'm no good in calculations... gave up on math a looooong time ago... now only use network calculator tongue.gif so ask the sifus on calculations wink.gif

but seriously, with your type of music... go for a sub man wink.gif[/b]

haha yeah . me also a math failure.. any Sifu can help us ?

"so let say now, my component set is 50w / 100 w peak which should i refer to ? 50w? and this 50 w is one side or both side ?

as for amp .. if stated 50wx4, meaning 50w x 4 different thing rite?

let say i want to power up my Component set, meaning i will use up 2 x 50 w at my amp rite? then got remaining 2x 50w can punch the Sub woofer ?"

--QuoteBegin-Tohsan

The P162S speaker n P2002 amp will cost you somewhere RM2K plus only. So far I am satisfy with the performance.
If i got cash I wanna play Sinfoni n Rainbow.
[/quote]

wahh .. cheap .. mind to tell me where u got it ?

Originally posted by rfbies@Feb 1 2005, 15:58
haha yeah . me also a math failure.. any Sifu can help us ?

"so let say now, my component set is 50w / 100 w peak which should i refer to ? 50w? and this 50 w is one side or both side ?

let say i want to power up my Component set, meaning i will use up 2 x 50 w at my amp rite? then got remaining 2x 50w can punch the Sub woofer ?"
try to for something... errr... like... errr... 4 x 100 or 4 x 120... that will work ;)

errr... heh... :D

rfbies-----you are a fast learner
appleyard---you cant understand what i wrote or u read wrongly?? :lol: :lol:

Originally posted by yohannes@Feb 1 2005, 17:58
rfbies-----you are a fast learner
appleyard---you cant understand what i wrote or u read wrongly?? :lol: :lol:
well i missread what you wrote there. sorry

anyway here is what you wrote. place the mids in the trunk and your boot will act as an enclosure. am i right?

what makes you think of putting your mid in the trunk to make it louder? do you know how sound travels? sound do not travel far. the further you place you speakers, you will lose details on you mid. if you put your speaker in the back the sound it generate will not be much louder. Why do ppl place subs in the back its because you cant put 1 cu. ft enclosure on your dashboard. for years ppl trying to figure out how to install a 10" or even 12" in the dashboard. subs need enclosure to produce low frequency sound. another thing is why do you want sound to come from your back? care to explain.

well yohannes trying to hard to be smart? dont talk crap if you know zit.

Hope i'm not wrong ,

Just imagine our Amp as Car Engine, where the speakers as car Body/Chasis. Now you've upgraded your car BODY to a Benz chasis but the engine is still using a proton Engine. How is it going to push ? You need big engine to push a big chasis right ? ( Benz chasis + Benz engine = optimal performance )

So in your case, your rear is louder cause proton engine pushes proton chasis. (Good power to weight ratio) . Where the front you are pushing a Benz chasis ( Not so good power to weight ratio).

With the extra amp to pump the RF Speakers , definetly it will sound nice and punchy.

Regards,
CK Siow

once again appleyard , id like to say , the bass is greater from the speakers at the rear simply because of the trunk acting as an enclosure. never did i say putting at the back will make it louder :D :D :D hahahaha....u really got big i mean huge problems with your eyesight la. I can recommend you an optometerist with a discount actually. HAHAHA. Anyway , i only said the bass would be greater cos the trunk acts as an enclosure and not louder from the front(have to say twice to penetrate ur numbskull) so anyway , u can try it yourself , put any speakers in the door panels and try putting the same speaker in the rear(where theres a trunk or simply any enclosure) and definitely the bass would sound better from the speaker. Simple..very...but for u..ahaha...

actually yohannes, i kinda agree with you. my rear 6x9's without amp can thump some good bass! :huh: :o :D

hehe....bullet_nos bro..this one is abit tough.involves common sense....not fathomable by all...hehe... :D :D :D

lol
ok here is the thing. are you talking sub bass or mid bass. do you want to produce low freq. bass of mid freq. bass?

ck
sound is not like engine. when sound travels far is loses it waves and you will lose details. try and place your speakers to the rear and the dashboard which one is louder. and tell me why would you want sound to come from behind you?

Yohannes
now if you place your mid in front (becaue you are refrering to mid) can your boot became enclosure? so the spakers will be behind right. dont tell me nonsense when you mention the boot is the enclosure when what you mean the speakers is not in the rear? now you tell me what is the function of the mids? do mids produce thumping bass? btw would you back your facts with proff rather than those small icon? would love to see some facts here.

still trying hard eh.
:ph34r:

ps: no offence but ....

Tohsan said:
Bought the things from this shop in United Garden call Easy Automart, behind the Pearl International Hotel/shopping center, u can nego straight with the boss there, his name is Jack!!!

Originally posted by Tohsan@Feb 2 2005, 08:55
Tohsan said:
Bought the things from this shop in United Garden call Easy Automart, behind the Pearl International Hotel/shopping center, u can nego straight with the boss there, his name is Jack!!!
wowww.. u got it cheap there.. surely i go check out if can .. by the way, united garden located at KL rite ?

er...im reffering to the low bass, if it matters. :rolleyes:

btw, i think what yohannes meant, is that IF u put the mids at the rear, it will produce better bass as the boot can work as a bigger enclosure. more air to push. (me thinks, dun fire) but since it is more appropriate to put in front (we all want them to sing in front ma ;) ), therefore, the speakers dun play as loud as compared if they are at the back ma.

cheers to all.

Peace :rolleyes:

Originally posted by rfbies@Feb 1 2005, 10:47

oic ... means i got to check the wiring .. hmm .. maybe ask ppl . or any sifu here want to help me ? heheheh

so let say now, my component set is 50w / 100 w peak which should i refer to ? 50w? and this 50 w is one side or both side ?

let say i want to power up my Component set, meaning i will use up 2 x 50 w at my amp rite? then got remaining 2x 50w can punch the Sub woofer ?

thanks all !
ok here is my opinion,

for ur component set, better refer to ur speaker's rms rating. For ur case its 50W rms for each speaker. If ur amp is stated 50rms x 4, if u use 2 channel for ur front, it will pump both the tweeter n midbass (ur component set) i think u'll parallel both component. then the other 2 channel u can bridge into 1 channel to pump ur sub. when its bridged, then it will produce higher wattage. (depends on ur amp's spec, and its impedance's rating because some amp can go as low as 1 ohm)

basic law - when u parallel two 4 ohm, u ll get 2 ohm.

just my basic knowledge in electronic.correct me if i'm wrong :lol:

bullet_nos
you got it right. why do mids are upfront is because for the center imaging. sound does not travel far. if you put your speakers furthur (rear) than your ear it wont be much loud the placing it on the side (door).

mids are designed to play 70hz to 1khz of frequency. it cannot play lower than that. those thumping bass are in the range of 50hz - 70 hz which is the duty of a subwoofer.

given a choice i will put my 2 12" in the dashboard if i have the space to do so. dont be surprise those car who go to competition in the US plase a 8" sub under the dashboard.

now why is it hard to understand this? before you mislead other forumer with fake info think about what you going to say first.

ps: if you want to say something other that what the question asked then start your own thread. dont make other forumer thread bad just because you have a problem with me.

:rolleyes: oh well. peace.

and i hear some talk about the bass should come from under then seat and not above the head, how does that work?

anyway, it maybe out of topic, but related to staging and stuff. im still noob also ma. cheers

btw, how to determine 4 ohms and 2 ohms? parallel...er...blur. :blink:

Originally posted by rfbies@Feb 2 2005, 10:26
Tohsan said:
wowww.. u got it cheap there.. surely i go check out if can .. by the way, united garden located at KL rite ?
that place is one traffic light before the OUG traffic light!!