claying

Err.. can try my method la if you think is useful. Use a plastic bag cover your hand and feel the surface. If you feel there is something on on the surface then need to clay. I use ONR as lubricant. Never tried got marring when I have a clean surface to clay. Only got a few hair line before cause I think I picked up some tiny hard object then when wanna inspect the paint only I know I screw up from the preparation. I tried use opc to clay before and then end up my claybar melted. That's why I ask you how come your claybar wont spoil.

I clay left right up down, then wipe dry with a damp mf to feel is there is any pokey pockey feeling on the surface. If you not use to check contaminants with damp mf then use plastic bags.

What was your concentration for ONR and OPC? My OPC was super mild, 1 part to 10 parts water. ONR I'm doing 50-50

Btw has anyone tried soft99 claybar before? I have seen someone wrote that it is more durable than PermaGlass claybar. I still have half of PG claybar so still don't wana waste $$ to buy soft99 to try yet.

Soft 99 clay bar to me about the same as the PG ones.
The problem is soft 99 harder to find, less places selling. PG ones supermarket/hypermarket have....:biggrin:

Same findings as bro VR, find the quality about the same. Used to clay using the green soff99 but can't find it later on so switched to PG blue and still with the same bar after like 1year, and that also still got 2/3 untouched.

Why does PG have 3 diff types of clays? "For Light paints", "For dark paints" and "for weathered paints"?

I don't see a difference in the end result.

Soft/light...mild...aggressive....

I guess clay for dark colored cars are softer than light colored cars, am I correct? The most aggressive would be clay no.3, bad weathered cars.

But like bro vr2 mentioned before, those can be adjusted by the amount and type of lubricant used, right?

Moreover cars nowadays have clear coat. Maybe soft clear coat cars need softer clay..

You're about right there. And you can adjust the lub to a certain extent only. Even with an aggressive clay, with too much lub the clay would just skim over the surface without doing anything much. Best is to use something for what it's meant to be use for.....

So an agressive clay would cause swirls? That would explain why my Myvi is dull now. I could see a million swirls in there. Is there a product I can use to remove swirls without a RO or a machine?

You mean by hand? The whole car? I'll lend you my bosch la...don't think I'll be using it anything soon. I just can't bare the thought of somebody 'polishing' away defects on one whole car...BY HAND..!! If want to try a rotary also can...I can lend you my Makita. But better the Bosch la if it's a myvi.

I totally agree..... whole car by hand.......... it would be torturing and if you do survive it..... one hand will be more muscular than the other.

I guess clay for dark colored cars are softer than light colored cars, am I correct? The most aggressive would be clay no.3, bad weathered cars.

But like bro vr2 mentioned before, those can be adjusted by the amount and type of lubricant used, right?

Moreover cars nowadays have clear coat. Maybe soft clear coat cars need softer clay..

Yup, weathered paint clay? but most of us I think have clear coat paint.....

---------- Post added at 01:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:34 PM ----------

So an agressive clay would cause swirls? That would explain why my Myvi is dull now. I could see a million swirls in there. Is there a product I can use to remove swirls without a RO or a machine?

No need aggressive clay, just go over a few more times....:biggrin:

ROB Bosch I assume? Wah seriously lend me ka? If ok I'm ok pun. Eh wait... is this an attempt to poison me to the dark side? :biggrin:

But seriously, thanks in advance if you're loaning me the Bosch

I totally agree..... whole car by hand.......... it would be torturing and if you do survive it..... one hand will be more muscular than the other.

Can you tell me how to go about it if I wanted to do by hand?

He can do like Karate kid movie, wax on, wax off using both hands......hahahahaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 01:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:36 PM ----------

ROB Bosch I assume? Wah seriously lend me ka? If ok I'm ok pun. Eh wait... is this an attempt to poison me to the dark side? :biggrin:

Swirls using ROB also not easy to remove...depends on pads and products used

By hand have to rub rub rub hard........depends on product used too......:biggrin:

Yes, I'm serious. But need to tell me in advance when you want it la cuz it's also currently on loan and with somebody else...

By hand...well...a whole lot of time and patience. My suggestion, do it panel by panel and do not try to think that you're going to finish the whole car in one day...then you'd be rushing and cutting coners. Break the car down into sections, say front bonnet is one section, both front quarter panels as another section, one side of the two doors another section, roof one sections, front bumper, etc. Finish off one section (polish & protect) at a time before going to the other sections. This case, if you happen to feel tired, you can just stop and continue another time (day?). Oh...and when you're polishing a panel, do it in a small area at a time (like maybe 6" x 6"). Working on larger area might work when waxing but not when you're polishing or removing defects.

Product wise, well, something like Megs Ultimate Compound + Ultimate Polish + wax/sealant of your choice + a couple of pads and mf cloths would do just fine.

Swirls using ROB also not easy to remove...depends on pads and products used

By hand have to rub rub rub hard........depends on product used too......:biggrin:
You'd be surprised what the newer compounds/polishes can do. The days when 'ROBs are just for waxing' had pass....

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:14 PM ----------

But the time you finish one panel, feel like giving up......:biggrin:
Exactly. I know I would but, maybe we shouldn't underestimate him...:smokin:

You'd be surprised what the newer compounds/polishes can do. The days when 'ROBs are just for waxing' had pass....

---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:14 PM ----------

Exactly. I know I would but, maybe we shouldn't underestimate him...:smokin:

Yup, true. Even for me I tried boot cover, not even done half, gave up.....:mad:
Let's see if he can complete by hand.....:hmmmm:

Cutting polishers and pads.. something I don't have. So I guess borrowing that Bosch would be pointless. I don't think I'll be investing on LC pads or anything just to do this. Probably will pay someone. Unless you're loaning me pads too?

As for when, I'm actually not on a schedule. Anytime you are available to load the thing to me, I'll wait for that date dude. Appreciate the loan offer!

Yup, true. Even for me I tried boot cover, not even done half, gave up.....:mad:
Let's see if he can complete by hand.....:hmmmm:

I tried turtlewax safe cut to remove some scratches and swirls on my myvi hood before - by hand. This is hood only and myvi hood is small. Wash car + Surface prep + cutting + AIO sealant. Step 2-4 are only on hood. Took me whole morning from 9am to nearly 1pm. Then gave up already coz kinda exhausted haha :rofl:

To do this by hand, you have to:
1. Damn motivated
2. Enough sleep the night before
3. Great breakfast
4. Averagely 1 day do 30-50 times pumping
5. Water, preferably isotonic drinks.
6. Tools (dont worry too much on tools coz the first five is the most important :rofl:)