civic 96

sazleej

guys..

just wanna ask .. my ride is civic 96 local auto with single cam vtec. its been serving me for the past 8 years already.. the age coming to 13 years.. the problem i facing now is the car has really lousy pickup.. hate it so much.. and other problem, but i just wanna focus on the engine and bodyparts..

1) my friend said to do a full overhaul for it to rejuvenate like new engine again.. just driving normally.. sometimes do a long distance ( 300km+ per trip ).. does a top overhaul also can do? is there like a parts that come like a set? roughly, how much it will cost for parts and labour?

2) does auto gbox serviceable? had a leak from kong oil seal near grand shaft :confused: it a mech said.. and the shifting also like s**t.

3) before this, when in the car.. i cant hear any noise from outside.. now even someone farting near the car also can be heard.. which part is kong??

4) the steering rack also kondem.. the alignment sometime ok and sometimes dont..

Above all.. which is the cheapest way to fix.. fixing the prob or.. just find a halfcut?? sorry because i'm in borneo.. not peninsular which can get parts easily.. just need to brain storming and find ideas to fix this.. thanks! :love:

i'm no sifu, but i will try to answer ur questions... well at least partially.

1) my friend said to do a full overhaul for it to rejuvenate like new engine again.. just driving normally.. sometimes do a long distance ( 300km+ per trip ).. does a top overhaul also can do? is there like a parts that come like a set? roughly, how much it will cost for parts and labour?
normally ppl do an overhaul (top/bottom) is to restore the engine. to replace all the wear/tear parts inside which we dont see. normally they would only replace what is needed, unless budget is no issue, then perhaps u can opt to replace all the parts with new parts. but ppl may say, better get a halfcut engine (diff ppl has diff needs, so up to u) price wise varies. depending on what needs to be changed and also new or used parts. i dare not say how much as i havent done it before. but it will be 1k-3k ... somewhere there. also depending on the parts.

2) does auto gbox serviceable? had a leak from kong oil seal near grand shaft it a mech said.. and the shifting also like s**t.
gearbox is serviceable. oil seal can be replaced no problem but as far as shifting like shit is concern, that one i have no experience. worst to worst u can opt for a 2nd hand auto gearbox. it might be cheaper than repairing ur current.

3) before this, when in the car.. i cant hear any noise from outside.. now even someone farting near the car also can be heard.. which part is kong??
most probably the rubber seals around your door frame has hardened. i have this issue also, but i have not solve mine. it can be replaced easily, but i'm not sure the cost. maybe 100-300.. maybe more... i will let u know when i replace mine.

4) the steering rack also kondem.. the alignment sometime ok and sometimes dont..
sometimes its just the road that makes u think ur allignment is out. some roads u will pull left, while some u might pull right. just get it to a tire shop to check it out. it could be due to alot of other factors.. tire air pressure, tire wear/tear, camber setting, bushing kong (results in camber setting lari)... this is all i can think of, im sure there are more factors which can contribute to it.. best to get a mech to check, as we cant see, we cant really tell..

hope this helps. cheers.

means it's better to get a halfcut... okay.. i'll try to find it.. thinking to get a reliable engine with gbox and wiring.. is b18 reliable?? cheaper than b16 rite??

not necessarily bro. the question is what do u want? do u want a car where u can mod, where u can whack when the need arise or is ur car just to get u from point A to point B?

transplanting isn't just a mere buying a halfcut and rev happily ever after bro. it takes MUCH MUCH more than that. u will be faced with endless problems, endless repairs, and only if u love it that much, will u be able to tolerate such issues. trust me. i love my car so much, but my problems is endless... sometimes i get frustrated.

lucky for me, my modded car is my weekend car, so i dont use it to work, and when the problem arise, i can pretty much delay my repairs etc.

think properly what u want, only then can we advise u what to do... but it is still up to u.. =)

i think.. the best way for me is to oerhaul or rebuild back my engine.. the prob now is the gb.. its not cheap to rebuilt.. rite? i'm not a revv guy.. just want to have smooth ride with pick up ( easy to reach 120 from 40 kmh ).. without weighing on pedal too much.. that's all

i believe, rebuilding/overhaul the engine would be a safer option. gearbox maybe u can convert to manual for better pick up, auto transmission as u know... are sluggish...

ur engine should run smoother after the overhaul.. else the mech didnt do a good job.

hope that helps.
happy modding =)

...hmm...:hmmmm:
why mine didn't facing any of the prob as urs b4...?? hmm... oredy clocking 330k mileage liao... from 96yrs till now...:hmmmm:

33k??? waaaa... so low ehhh?? mine already 230k... of cos la jin u didnt have prob... you OWN a workshop.. when will u be the next jimmy shine??? eheheheheheeeee

i think he typo la, 330k probably. cannot be jin's car 33k only, i see him going around whacking evo's and scooby's from all over the globe.

in puchong, kepong and some say batu caves. :biggrin::biggrin:

i think he typo la, 330k probably. cannot be jin's car 33k only, i see him going around whacking evo's and scooby's from all over the globe.

eeheheehheeee.... tot like some say in batam.. phua chu kang.. ehheheheee

33k??? waaaa... so low ehhh?? mine already 230k... of cos la jin u didnt have prob... you OWN a workshop.. when will u be the next jimmy shine??? eheheheheheeeee

sorry bro, shld b 330k... hehe....
btw, since when i own a workshop ler..?? hehe...:hmmmm:
my topspeed just 140kph... kena whack got la...:bawling:

sorry bro, shld b 330k... hehe....
btw, since when i own a workshop ler..?? hehe...:hmmmm:
my topspeed just 140kph... kena whack got la...:bawling:

that doesnt mean u got whack.. others with 240kph take almost 5min to achieved.. u just need 4 sec to go to ur top speed.. ehehehehehe