Carburetor Section

alan, thats how u develop the love for ur car, tune it love it :P

carrera, that one i really dunno lor :unsure:

Anyone knows the actual manufacturer of the Saga/Iswara Megavalve carburetor? Some say it's Solex, others say it's Mikuni.... and there's no indication on the carb's casing. Only saw an enbossed "Arram" wording at the rear (facing firewall).

eish cipan now no more playin weber or carb lar.....
quite hard to tune the carb unless u've been workin with carb ur whole life....
:lol:

Originally posted by Esky@Feb 24 2005, 08:02
What I heard that an old-timer mechanic does when tuning:

if u want pick-up, he'll lean out the a/f mixture (turn the screw in) until the engine idles roughly b4 screwing back (richen it) a bit.

If u want top speed, he'll richen the a/f by screwing out.

U can experiment it yrself, like what I'm doing. I use liquid paper to make a mark on the screw so that I can see how much I've turned the screw (I make 1/8 to 1/4 turn each time). If it backfires, then I just undo the amount I've done previously, no harm done. Nonid2 goto workshop for RM60 MUT sessions!

For the Saga/Iswara Megavalve engine, u can actually use a short screwdriver with a small "-" tip to adjust the a/f screw. Some mechanics use old spark plugs with straightened side electrodes to do so. The proper tool costs around RM60, I've heard.
by doing this won't blow up the engine ? later i test , engine k.o who gonna tangung one ? :lol:

How come you guys using weber FC so high? Mine 20 bucks on weber around 180 km

Originally posted by fstrader+Feb 24 2005, 13:23 -->
QUOTE (fstrader @ Feb 24 2005, 13:23 )
Originally posted by narx@Feb 24 2005, 07:57
Originally posted by fstrader@Feb 24 2005, 01:18
110km...

dude ur running side draft mah....
clayton, me also shock to see that figure but its true ;) mayb my own tuning pays out :P

cookie & everybody, how about tomorrow night? venue : pj area? :)
try give fine tunnnig ler....

but the response and sound is priceless... hahahahaha

ur engine healthy?

Originally posted by starwing@Feb 24 2005, 17:38
you using weber ?

Originally posted by starwing@Feb 24 2005, 17:38
dude urs down draft lar....

fred using sidedraft lar...

Originally posted by fstrader+Feb 24 2005, 13:23 -->
QUOTE (fstrader @ Feb 24 2005, 13:23 )
Originally posted by narx@Feb 24 2005, 07:57
Originally posted by fstrader@Feb 24 2005, 01:18
110km...

dude ur running side draft mah....
clayton, me also shock to see that figure but its true ;) mayb my own tuning pays out :P

cookie & everybody, how about tomorrow night? venue : pj area? :)
PJ area me no prob but a nite how 2 teach ours to tune ur carb sifu :blink:

as me newbie need 2 learn from sifu's :lol:

pls dont call me sifu :lol: we learn from each other and mistakes we made...hehehehehhe :P

Originally posted by fstrader@Feb 25 2005, 09:56
pls dont call me sifu :lol: we learn from each other and mistakes we made...hehehehehhe :P
fstrader,

yes we learn from each other :)

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here... and need some advise...
i drive a iswara 1.3 aeroback.... I face problems tuning my car...
each time it is tuned, it will only last for a month or 2 b4 the whole engine gets out of tune again... ANY SOLUTIONS? :huh:

another thing with it is that it need a good warm up b4 driving if not it jerks alot just like choking...after changing the extracter and done some tuning, it became better but eventually the problem came back...

:( Need help!

THanks!

bro ynod, there are some simple solutions tht u might wanna try before changing lotsa things or buying some extractors to counter it.

first try those, carburetor spray that u can find at all major supermarts and spray it in. when spraying u need to press half throttle or even full only the carb can be cured or clean.

btw wat carb u using ah? ori carb or weber or solex or blahh blahh? :unsure:

your problem might just be a dirty carburaotr thats need lots of cleaning....

get 'carburatot cleaner' and follow the instruction ebhin on how to clean it ...

if problem still occur..checked air filter..might eb dirty air filter..if still got problem..then bering yout carb to service.check the jets and needles

carbie tech talk TT.

anyone free, or which day u particularly like to have tt?!

cheers :)