Carburetor Section

from what i noe la...dhla40 can ngam 1.3, 1.5 or 1.6....BUT it could have been optimized to suit any of the mentioned engines...not one universal setting which can suit all displacements...

if the dhla40s were previously on a stock 1.3, and u plug it onto a 1.6, u r prolly 'under-carb-ing' ur engine, assuming no parts were changed, ull probably get a good low-end, good response but guaranteed to run out of breath really quick, as the chokes/main jets/air correctors are too small for mid-high rpm action

if the dhla40's were previously on a similar engine, then at least the settings wont be too far off...mebbe only jettings need tinkering with...

oh well...just my 2 sen...

parts for the dellorts still can be found, so at least no worry there hehe, altho not so common la hehe

hey sifu, as what i know is that for proton constant vilosity carburator, openning the mixture screw can increase the pick up of the car..how bout urs? would it be possible to increase the throttle respond by providing a rich idling mixture?

looking for carbs... weber dcoe 45 to 50 ... anyone out there ... wanna sell or know how to get it in malaysia ... im based in kl but currently in dubai so my foreman will be the one that will be contacting u guys who wanna sell or know how to get it... thanks ... contact me thru [email protected]
:adore:

from what i noe la...dhla40 can ngam 1.3, 1.5 or 1.6....BUT it could have been optimized to suit any of the mentioned engines...not one universal setting which can suit all displacements...

if the dhla40s were previously on a stock 1.3, and u plug it onto a 1.6, u r prolly 'under-carb-ing' ur engine, assuming no parts were changed, ull probably get a good low-end, good response but guaranteed to run out of breath really quick, as the chokes/main jets/air correctors are too small for mid-high rpm action

if the dhla40's were previously on a similar engine, then at least the settings wont be too far off...mebbe only jettings need tinkering with...

oh well...just my 2 sen...

parts for the dellorts still can be found, so at least no worry there hehe, altho not so common la hehe
Hey Tofu_manic great info ! But the major problem is to fab the sidedraft manifold. Long time ago u could just buy it off the shelf @ Speedworks and other reputable performance shop (hotbits remember?), but it is like looking for a needle in the haystack! hehehehe:biggrin: now..

yewyunjan, i never kacau'ed the ori carb, so dun dare give 2 sen opinion, later wrong pulak, must ask sifoo fstrader hehe

sb3, yeah the manifold would be pain to fabricate...but still possible, this one ask sifoo fstrader, mebbe jian hang can custom one hehe

nowadays its really hard to find just a hotbits intake manifold

initial r, if lidat shudnt be too far off then, any idea as to the choke size? just wondering

yewyunjan, i never kacau'ed the ori carb, so dun dare give 2 sen opinion, later wrong pulak, must ask sifoo fstrader hehe

sb3, yeah the manifold would be pain to fabricate...but still possible, this one ask sifoo fstrader, mebbe jian hang can custom one hehe

initial r, if lidat shudnt be too far off then, any idea as to the choke size? just wondering

wahh everything ask me wan meh?? :banghead:

not sure bout the choke size.. my mech did everything for me...

Jian Hang is an exhaust shop right, they know how to fab the IM meh?Sifu fstrader any idea?

yes they fabricate last time but not now cos he dont have the time to run here and there.

hello to everyone. i hv a problem regarding my carburetor. i don't really know about the problem, but my car, using carburetor from 4g91 engine(don't know what type of carburetor, sorry) is having problem to start when it is hot. (i'm using 4g91 engine standard with its original carburetor.) it is like it have overflow problem with black smoke coming from exhaust. i have opened the carburetor after engine is hot and can see pertol come into the carb tank even after i pull out fuel hose. many people said that this problem(hard to start when hot) is common in 4g91 engine using carburetor, but is there anyone can help me solve this problem? it's been haunted me since the last one year.

please.
thank you.

Hi all sifus, especially unker fred, and sky
long time no see. hope u still remember who i am...

can any sifus here explain how the size of the weber could effect the engine ? see no road on the 1st page. I'm getting 36 DCNF this weekend. :biggrin:

cant really imagine this thread still alive :biggrin: live long carburetor !!!

Anyone here know what's the problem with my car ? my rpm going up and down while idling sent for tuning alot of time already it can't be tuned . There's one time at proton service the guy pull up a tube connect to the manifold and then said the metal tube on the manifold is stuck and he use a niddle and hammer to knock it .....
Does tat indicate my carburetor is very dirty ?

hello to everyone. i hv a problem regarding my carburetor. i don't really know about the problem, but my car, using carburetor from 4g91 engine(don't know what type of carburetor, sorry) is having problem to start when it is hot. (i'm using 4g91 engine standard with its original carburetor.) it is like it have overflow problem with black smoke coming from exhaust. i have opened the carburetor after engine is hot and can see pertol come into the carb tank even after i pull out fuel hose. many people said that this problem(hard to start when hot) is common in 4g91 engine using carburetor, but is there anyone can help me solve this problem? it's been haunted me since the last one year.

please.
thank you.

yes 91 carb has many problems cos there are 2 wires not connected, cos jap 91 carb has electronic sensors... when its install here by our hardcore bawah pokok foremans, they hardly connect the wires cos there isnt any to connect so they just leave it there.

Hi all sifus, especially unker fred, and sky
long time no see. hope u still remember who i am...

can any sifus here explain how the size of the weber could effect the engine ? see no road on the 1st page. I'm getting 36 DCNF this weekend. :biggrin:

cant really imagine this thread still alive :biggrin: live long carburetor !!!

wahh getting dcnf ah??

must ask sifoo walker maa...he weber mahaguru nia :adore:

Anyone here know what's the problem with my car ? my rpm going up and down while idling sent for tuning alot of time already it can't be tuned . There's one time at proton service the guy pull up a tube connect to the manifold and then said the metal tube on the manifold is stuck and he use a niddle and hammer to knock it .....
Does tat indicate my carburetor is very dirty ?

rpm up down could be these possibilities :

1) distributor rosak.
2) plug rosak.
3) carb might need tuning.
4) petrol filter.

yes 91 carb has many problems cos there are 2 wires not connected, cos jap 91 carb has electronic sensors... when its install here by our hardcore bawah pokok foremans, they hardly connect the wires cos there isnt any to connect so they just leave it there.

wahh getting dcnf ah??

must ask sifoo walker maa...he weber mahaguru nia :adore:

rpm up down could be these possibilities :

1) distributor rosak.
2) plug rosak.
3) carb might need tuning.
4) petrol filter.

but standard proton aisan carb also got 2 wires connected to the carb mah... cannot jz tap the signal from there??... unker tried before??...

weber me no mahaguru lah.... i jz know how to use... haha... somemore mine previously not dcnf.... if wanna know inside out of a dcnf, ask unker fred lah.... he is God in Webers, especially dcnf and dcoes....:adore:

pajero diesel ??hmm make very little diff only if diesel weber it
unless u make the engine suck more diesel then it will be nice
u can go behind summit the car shops there i remember there got 1 shop go extreme on moding 4x4 just beside a shop which mods on mini coopers old school

no my pajero is petrol tht why i need to put weber, it take off faster thnfrontier or hilux but top speed cant keep up la