Carburetor Section

Skywalker, since its quite difficult to get weber carb nowadays , will proton 12v carby do the same job? (in terms of power). I've heard its using same principal as SU carbs. They r selling at rm1100-00 for OE units and RM600-00 for china ones. Chop shop selling rm450-00 .

Any comments?

yeap.... definitely....

the advantage of weber carbs is its tunability... ability to swap jettings and venturies to suit ur engine setting.... besides, most single weber carburetors has dual barrel... either open simultaneously (dcnf) or progressively (dgv).... why dual barrel is better than single barrel, i have to read up again... more or less same concept as 12v or 8v cylinder head engine....

standard aisan carb (proton 12v carb) has fixed jettings and choke... what normal mechanic do it jz adjust the air/fuel ratio.... what more extreme/expert mechanics do is they dismantle the whole carburetor, locate the air and fuel jetting, remove and cut/sharpen/mod the needle valve to be bigger according to ur engine settings.... this is a one-way-mod.... hence not many mechanics dare or able to do it.... once ur setting ruin, u need to find new carburetor adi....

yeap.... definitely....

the advantage of weber carbs is its tunability... ability to swap jettings and venturies to suit ur engine setting.... besides, most single weber carburetors has dual barrel... either open simultaneously (dcnf) or progressively (dgv).... why dual barrel is better than single barrel, i have to read up again... more or less same concept as 12v or 8v cylinder head engine....

standard aisan carb (proton 12v carb) has fixed jettings and choke... what normal mechanic do it jz adjust the air/fuel ratio.... what more extreme/expert mechanics do is they dismantle the whole carburetor, locate the air and fuel jetting, remove and cut/sharpen/mod the needle valve to be bigger according to ur engine settings.... this is a one-way-mod.... hence not many mechanics dare or able to do it.... once ur setting ruin, u need to find new carburetor adi....
Skywalker. Yeah a lot of weber carb owners i know r quite good @ tuning their own car. Ask how come they know how to tune some would say they learn from old experience mechanic (Alfa/Fiat specialist). Most of them have already sold of their weber carb cars. Young mechanics nowadays would try to avoid/ignore tuning weber or carb. Instead they would just tell u to swap a modern turbo or high performance engine.
Well how would u feel if your carb engine can beat a modern FI engine when u look @ the angry driver's face in shock! Hehehe, just kidding...

By removing /cutting the needle valve , will it overflow the manifold. & the plugs?

Thanks for the input, bro.

Where is the A/F mixture screw normally located?

Check this out guys:-http://www.carburetion.com/Weber/adjust.htm

By removing /cutting the needle valve , will it overflow the manifold. & the plugs?
that depends on ur engine mods and displacement... if standard 1.3/1.5, u wont need to remove n cut the needle valve... minor tuning of the fuel jet can adi (located under the AFR screw)....

Where is the A/F mixture screw normally located?

Check this out guys:-http://www.carburetion.com/Weber/adjust.htm

that one is weber carb???... looks like mikuni carb to me thou... hmm...

its a down draft type carburetor...errmm wad engine not sure yet cos only hav a kancil which i'm planning 2 sell soon...mayb iswara 1.5 lo...any info 2 share wit bout the carb ar sifu fred??

then better dont take it :nurse:

may i know what is the carb model/name??... interested to know more about ecu-ed carburetors and how they work... do u have any pics of it??...

Mikuni Carb used in Mitsubishi 4G1x/4G9x the layout almost same with the 8V proton carb, here is the 1

http://www5f.biglobe.ne.jp/~taka-k/car/cb3a/carb_cb3a.htm

that depends on ur engine mods and displacement... if standard 1.3/1.5, u wont need to remove n cut the needle valve... minor tuning of the fuel jet can adi (located under the AFR screw)....

that one is weber carb???... looks like mikuni carb to me thou... hmm...
No,no, its my ori carb. i just want to try to tune my own carb 1st b4 moving to the 'proton' or weber 'dcnf' carb. Still trying to located the A/F screw hehehe.... There r 2 adj screws facing the front. One i believe should be adjustment idle for a/c valve and the other screw (on top of acc. cable) does nothing when screwing around, hahaha. But there is one more screw located @ the rear of the carb is very sensitive. The idling sound will change even if i turn 1/8 , there will be some black smoke exiting the rear exhaust if i turn too much. any help Skywalker or other sifus?

if i'm not mistaken,black smoke coming out from exaust is caused by rich mixture in the combustion chamber rite??meaning 2much fuel...correct me if i'm wrong..

Hey sifu, the engine will only run lean at cold time, the main jet can solve this problem?

then sifu how to tune it to be likr this? mine is original proton wira carb...my car as mentioned got some idling problem while engine partially warm....i hav spray cleaner to it still the same...and its kinda new unit..

yorrr sky still keeping the carbys under ur bred meh hahaha
wake up the monster from its deep hybernation ma hehe

idle = rich mixture
cruise = lean mixture
acceleration = rich mixture
take the screw driver and feel the engine with ur sensors and hearing, slowly play with it, no fun 1 u ask other ppl tune for u haha
cabut 1st before fstrader kick my ass :rofl:

Yes i ve begin to feel the carbs tuning with screwdriver by hearing and feeling the sound. Takes alot of time to go power testing and tuning and testing and tuning but once u catch it u would feel the satisfaction ..(climax?) hehehe..

• weber dcoe.jpg
    weber dcoe.jpg
    27 KB · Views: 141