Can EF-JL runs without TPS?

farique

Helo,

Not my car, but a friend of mine. He does the swap all by himself and Im just helping him out.

His previous EF-JL blown piston no 1 for no any apparent reason. He Was constant boosting and boom! Engine died down. Further inspection piston blown on the rings side into smithereens. The rings however in good shape.

Now, this EF-JL is now swapped in replacing the old blown motor just to get the car running. He swapped back everything from the old to this one.

He swapped the throttle body to a larger unit (bought from his friend) with the TPS jumped.

Now the question is, will the engine run without TPS? How does the ECU knows the amount of air is getting into the chambers?

He already run on EManage blue on previous engine and now he simply hooked it up to the new engine with the wiring is just copied back from previous engine.

The larger throttle body without TPS previous owner told him to get MAP sensor to hook onto to get the air flow sensor going. But, EF-JL doesnt have air flow metering am I right? Hence the TPS is there.

We started the engine and the engine runs well (apart from being too loud with no exhaust and doing it in home porch with neighbours around.. :rofl: ). We didnt let it idle. Cranked it and let it run for a mere 10secs just to see everything is a-okay.

So, does the MAP sensor a requirement?

p/s: he already bought ignition harness and ready to be fitted.

u will feel things when u drive not when you start it, MAP sensors is a must except u modified to independent ECU...
just my 2cent... maybe some sifu can helps...