Can Coolant Mixed?

not even 1 liter..about 200-400ml i assume...forgot de
green colour one... <_<

Buy the coolant that is orange or red in color. I would suggest Prestone that is sold by EON or go for toyota coolant or Perodua (Denso) ones. They are still red.

About green coolant, they are obsolete. Because the chemicals inside react too well to rust and dislodges the rust inside your radiator. Also notice green coolant would form white deposits. So in general green was last centuries product. Red or orange is the lastest one.

About white coolant, i've only seen once in an Alfa. Thats it. I have no idea about it.

Coolant is NOT acidic!! Rust is acidic. In fact coolant is Alkaline in nature. General coolant compound is Ethyl Glycol + some other special formula by manufacturers.

Using distilled water is the best. If u use it with good coolant even better.

General cars have 4 litre radiator capacity. More or less. And manufacturers usually suggest 50/50 mix of coolant and water.

General flush should be done every year. That is when most water would be poluted or turned acidic which forms rust.

True radiator flush means taking the radiator out to be chemical washed and flushed with pressure test for leaks by radiator shop. Not those flush you buy off the rack.

Also don't overlook the radiator cap. Change it every 2 years. Why? For optimum water pressure. You can't detect small leaks because hot water evaporates too fast.

Lastly do some research in the web for coolant type, its function and availability here. For overseas they use the word ANTI-FREEZE not coolant. So search wisely.

And the answer ot main topic,
No it is not advisable to mix coolant brands. Just add water if it is running low.

muz put coolant 1 meh???? dun put can how? :huh:

hav been oni using water for years alr.... :o

got any side effects??? :huh:

juz change a radiator coz pecah alr....

the mechanic add 1 bottle of coolant for me say to prevent rust n giv better cooling effect.... really ah?

the coolant is diff from wat i saw when i was small.. this 1 not green color 1. white color n look like milk 1...

good 1 ah? :huh:

Prestone coolant you can buy at EON service center. If you have local auto magazines, you can see its being sold by EON. Although i have seen it in ACE hardware in Mid valley. But quite expensive for 2 litre product.

Else you could buy Perodua(Denso) or Toyota long life coolant from any spare parts shop. I'm using Toyota ones for RM19 per 1 litre bottle from any spare parts shop.

If you run just plain water, it makes sense that it is able to dissipate heat faster. But it does not prevent the water from boiling. Boiling means bubling. Even from inside the radiator. Not good for heat disipation if there are air pockets in the water ways right? Coolant raises water boiling temp. Meaning water only boils above lets say 130C and not 100C. So cooling it still optimum even after 100C.

If you could use distilled water with coolant, its the best. Else just run home filtered water with coolant. Works just as good if not better.

About the white coolant. I don't have any idea. But generally mechanincs use any type that is recommended by salesman. They buy a dozen or more and use it. From my experience they never use the same brand unless they are authorized service centers for a particular make.

Last time a sohai mech taught me to put panadol into radiator can get better cooling. Donno how true is it. But I sohai went try also. waste my panadol only.

Panadol :blink:

tat mech must be a former doctor :lol:

Interesting info , thx guys.. got a lot of info and insight :)

Originally posted by Seabiscuit@Jan 21 2005, 21:05
Last time a sohai mech taught me to put panadol into radiator can get better cooling. Donno how true is it. But I sohai went try also. waste my panadol only.
panadol can cool down ur head
but radiator?! :wacko:

Panadol?! Thats logical if a person is sick. But a car? hahaha. Say i wonder what is the dosage for a car? 50 tablets? hahahahah. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

hey guys! nooob here..
er a lil ques here..
i'm drivin a nissan AD resort..
thing is.. the radiotor.. brand Calsonic.. has 2 fans.. but 1 of em aint working.. and my car temperature's goin mad... super tinggi! i dare not drive in town addi.. any suggestions 2 repair and how much will it cost... btw... from iph but currently in kl.. would it be save 2 reach back ipoh?

hmmm like that i think reach back iph in 2days time la... hehehehe
anywhere 2 find this parts? heard it costs a bomb gettin a new 1... newbie.. dunno anything.. thanks ZTHians

Most of the automotive coolant base on glycol. Won't be using acid base.
Is to protect "waterway" of the vehicle. Not corrode the "waterway".
The anti-freeze is because glycol have lower freezing point if compare with h2o.
And it can be mix with other glycol base coolant.

Originally posted by babywolfz@Jan 26 2005, 01:27
from iph but currently in kl.. would it be save 2 reach back ipoh?
bro.. u travel back ipoh night time lar... move out around 11pm ++ fill up your tank..

last time i travel Perlis-KL with my radiator fan rosak.. non stop.. re-fuel super fast like F1 pit stop.. travelling at 11 pm cruising at 120 kmh..