Cams and Adjustable Cam Pulley Settings

One thing about cars. Like stock market. No interest if did not buy anything. If buy one sure everyday jaga, ask ppl and all :lol:

Learned a lot bout tis.

The adjments is just a few degrees, nothing radical.

AutoBLackie...i didnt count the teeth at all,hehe....if what u say is true,7.5 degree is a lot,as the camshaft turning only half of the crankshaft speed,and since the cam timing is based on the crankshaft degrees,not on camshaft...that means 7.5 x 2 = 15 degrees of retard,closes 15 later,and no overlap...BUt if u see the 20v black top cam timing,the vvt will advance the cam more than 15 right,i dunno bout this(didnt do my homework)...dont have enuff money to buy cam pulley,hehe....i will experimenting more when i got the time...no cam pulley a bit hard to do experiments....since have to losen the belt to get things done.And i'm a bit confused why advancing the intake didnt get the desired results as the 20v....to know which way is advance,crank the engine and see which way the cam pulley turn,and turning it in the same direction of the rotation,will advance the cam,mostly clockwise except for honda engines

Actually, the VVT retards the IN cam.
The AE111 blacktop uses 250 degree cam as oppose to 240 for 4age "Big port" and 232 for "small port". Which is good for high rpm power.
I believe the Blacktop is tuned for higher powerband abt 5000rpm and above (witout VVT). The VVT is to make the needed low end torque. By retarding it, it effectively makes the overlap time much smaller which is good for low end. I'm not sure how many degrees though.

the vvt retards the IN cam,that means below 5000k rpm the IN cam is on advance,the the vvt kicks in,and retards the cam....that would make the overlap becomes smaller right,and as far as i know,less overlap,not good for high rpm.... :rolleyes: need to check on the net,since i heard the all vvt operates by anvancing the IN cam.BUt as far as i'm concern by reading other ppl posts on various forums,advancing the IN cam does really give much gain on the top end.

yes vvt retards the IN cam by 5 degree when high rpm it advance it back to 0 .. that's why when high rpm vvt switches off ... ermmmm i think so kuaaa :unsure: and also when you go dyno and remove the vvt switch without any adj cam pulley you can see the low rpm is very bad because the cam starts at 0 deg all the way to redline ..

AutoBlackie,
waaaaaaaaaa ... just get two adj cam pulley you learn so much liao .. fuiyohhhhhh .... really really salute B)

Originally posted by e f i n i-@Feb 15 2005, 17:49
wah acoustic's webby so much info.
actually i know that website already exist quite long ago, since 2003, but what a shame, until now also i havent read it complete yet.
one day when im free im really gonna read everything in the website!
Hahahha, no need to read everything lah :) - just read what you need :)

Originally posted by AutoBlackie@Feb 15 2005, 20:20
I found out that if you adv. the IN, the inlet valve will open faster and therefore close faster.
close faster but NO AIR WENT IN

Originally posted by AutoBlackie@Feb 15 2005, 20:20
As for the exhaust adv. the EX, the exhaust valve will open faster, just before BDC. Why before and not at BDC? So that the upward stroke does not have to fight with the pressure generated by the combustion. Earlier evacuation means less resistance. However, if too early, means not fully utilising the power generated by the combustion.. This part of the cycle is refer to as Blow Down.
This one ..........mathematically speaking is a function of: -

valve opening vs. rpm

Since we don't have VVT, we are stuck.

You have adj pulley = VVT but manual, have to shut down engine - change and restart engine and drive.

Since you understand this, then you would also understand that VVT for intake is usefull right :)

Originally posted by TauhuTauhu@Feb 15 2005, 17:16
hmm...how to adjust ignition timing on DLI?
Even waste spark system from 4AGZE or 4Gxx also have a crank & cam sensor, nearly like a distributor, so adjust that one.

Waja however don't have I think.

Kenari, Kelisa also don't have.

Originally posted by cuscostrutbrace@Feb 15 2005, 21:42
ERm....i retard my 4ag tvis intake cam by one teeth,surely can feel the top end a bit,no effect on idle ...just like before,at 1100-1200 rpm(quite high),before this i advance the intake by one teeth,no power at all,even at lower revs...both with stock ignition timing ;)
one teeth ???

Got perform simple arithmatic or not?

cam pulley got 36 teeth, one teeth = 10 degrees.

too much lah

The VVT onli affects the IN cam. But adj pulley is different! It can adjust both cams. That's the beauty.
VVT onli on when triggered. So if you do drag race...hmm how do u make sure its opened when u want it?
If VVT is so good, why la Yolk throw it away?
Get them. U wont be dissapointed..... ;)

waaaaaa ... so good aahhh ??? i oso want laaa !!!! heheheheheheee ... but for exhaust cam only laaa ... :P can find aahh ??? :D

Originally posted by AutoBlackie@Feb 16 2005, 12:10
The VVT onli affects the IN cam. But adj pulley is different! It can adjust both cams. That's the beauty.
VVT onli on when triggered. So if you do drag race...hmm how do u make sure its opened when u want it?
If VVT is so good, why la Yolk throw it away?
Get them. U wont be dissapointed..... ;)
I was talking for daily use.

If you're talking about drag, then different lah. However are you in drag races?

BTW, some fully programmable stand-alone ECU can trigger on / off any time you like. There is a VVT controller for sale also :)

Although full on or full off does not equal to -1 or +2

Why got someone do something then must be good meh??? cannot be so naive what !!!

Also it's like you say, got high no low, got low no high ........ he wants high mah :) and he don't mind no low mah.

As for me, I think allot of people also ............ very greedy one, want both.

:lol:

Well seems to work well with my auto. I don't drag. No braging also :P
The low end is even better than VVT on. More drivable in town now. B)

I've tried other mods like b4 K&N mushroom lookinf filter but re install back my stock. Iridium plugs, no diff. Extractor..still looking for a cheap one with JASMA cop.

I think this mod gives the most value so far. 1k for all. Can play some more :)

Some people don't know the joy of driving without vvt ... so nvm laaa .. VVT is not a gift from god ... hahahaha no need to take it like holy bible ... life still goes on without vvt ... I also prefer driving my car without vvt and love the instant response i get whenever i full throttle even at 3k rpm ... unlike the stupid sucky vvt .. got bloody lag at low rpm ... <_<

36 teeth aaa...i dunno coz i never count the teeth...10 degrees means 20 at the crank...waa...that is too much...no wonder my bottom end a bit laggy.. :lol:

Way to go YOLK! :)
Right on.
Well, I am as surprised as you are. Used to think that VVT is really cun. Until I kill it.
:rolleyes:
Anyway this is just something to consider..... :)
Adj Pulleys really is a genuine upgrade step. :)

did any of you guys feel a lag during the transitional phase of VVT on and off, i feel this sometimes around 4-5k rpm sometimes it lags abit and sometimes it dont.