buying a corolla seg AE111, what do i look out for?

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
i found a ae111 1.6A 96 only going for 20.500k only.. is that cheep or okok only or have probem 1, like accident beforo?

over here at kl have this shop that specialise in 4age, "kegani" for 5k servicing is around rm230-rm250. is that ok ? :adore:

---------- Post added at 11:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:29 AM ----------

and 1 more thing.. is 4age 20vbt fuel eco. ? vs 4afe. for normal drive.. city drive.. thanks.. and the reliability of the enjin 4age20v bt vs 4afe... thanks :adore::adore:
Bro I don't know KL standard price for servicing. But RM200 is a lot! And servicing is a fairly easy task that you can do yourself. My servicing cost around 80 - 100 using 76 brand semi-syn oil. No labour charge because I go to the authorised dealer of the 76 brand oil. And the mech even told me I can service every 8k km because I use semi syn. ButI never do that la... Max 7k km I will feel damn guilty and service it :biggrin:.

And for those 2 engines, they are like tanks. I've been whacking my 4AFE but it doesn't break.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
thanks sifu sifu... but the car that i know now is at a use car place at serdang.. and my house is at kepong wo.. how can i get a mech to see the car ?? i am really noob in this. 1st time buying a second hand car. how can i know its not a " potong car ? " see under the door ruber ad.. under the car capet ? thanks to all the sifu sifu ah..

---------- Post added at 12:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:07 AM ----------

what you mean by suspension dead give away, push the bonet and boot if too bouncy need to change, if too hard no comfort at all. ???? thanks..
:adore::adore::adore:
the best way to spot a 'kereta potong' is to look under the car.. see if there's any welding from 1 side to the other..

if not, look under the rubber thingy beside the seat (front & back) below the door.. got welding or not.. if got, DONT BUY..

Gudluck :burnout:

and for the suspension.. push down hard & let go..

if it goes up & stay, the suspension is good..

if it goes up & down & up again, not good..

loupho

Mar 9, 2011
:adore:Originally Posted by loupho
i found a ae111 1.6A 96 only going for 20.500k only.. is that cheep or okok only or have probem 1, like accident beforo?

over here at kl have this shop that specialise in 4age, "kegani" for 5k servicing is around rm230-rm250. is that ok ?

and 1 more thing.. is 4age 20vbt fuel eco. ? vs 4afe. for normal drive.. city drive.. thanks.. and the reliability of the enjin 4age20v bt vs 4afe... thanks :adore::burnout:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
1. Toyota SEG '96 AE111 4afe - RM 20.5k = standard price.. in mudah.my have RM 19.3k.. (dont know about the condition.. must see for urself 1st)

2. "Kegani" shop in KL.. dunno.. must see for urself also (sorry)

3. 4age 20v BT vs 4afe.. hmmm..

4age is a race engine.. light internals.. high horsepower rating.. i've used it on a AE92.. fuel consumption superb..

4afe is a everyday car engine.. internals ok.. horsepower rating not so high.. never use it but i think the FC is ok..

both engine are reliable..

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
1. Toyota SEG '96 AE111 4afe - RM 20.5k = standard price.. in mudah.my have RM 19.3k.. (dont know about the condition.. must see for urself 1st)

2. "Kegani" shop in KL.. dunno.. must see for urself also (sorry)

3. 4age 20v BT vs 4afe.. hmmm..

4age is a race engine.. light internals.. high horsepower rating.. i've used it on a AE92.. fuel consumption superb..

4afe is a everyday car engine.. internals ok.. horsepower rating not so high.. never use it but i think the FC is ok..

both engine are reliable..

I didn't notice before this d7zul... Your avatar... IS it AE101 Levin BZR?

loupho

Mar 9, 2011
helo to all the sifu sifu that have help me a lot here..:adore::adore:

if any of you all come a crost a ae111 auto with bride colour and is in a very nice condition and the price is risanable.. pls pls pm me...the detail... thanks...

what happen if a 4afe vs 4g92p.. any coment?? cause i have driven a wira 1.6 auto sedan. the pickup is quide good oh.. but the fual consumtion is too high,.. :burnout: and what do you aall think a 4age bt vs 4age svt.. ?? :hmmmm::hmmmm:

Jul 17, 2006
firstly, ask yourself whats the reason to start this thread. is it to ask about buying 2nd hand car or comparison between engines? if not, i can guarantee your thread will shoot in many different direction

wilm3

Aug 4, 2005
hi i gave ur details to my fren dy hope he call u up soon...

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
firstly, ask yourself whats the reason to start this thread. is it to ask about buying 2nd hand car or comparison between engines? if not, i can guarantee your thread will shoot in many different direction
Haha... Yalo bro... Actually you have to know what quality are you looking for when buying a 2nd hand car.... Be focused.

---------- Post added at 10:38 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:29 AM ----------

if any of you all come a crost a ae111 auto with bride colour and is in a very nice condition and the price is risanable.. pls pls pm me...the detail... thanks...

what happen if a 4afe vs 4g92p.. any coment?? cause i have driven a wira 1.6 auto sedan. the pickup is quide good oh.. but the fual consumtion is too high,.. :burnout: and what do you aall think a 4age bt vs 4age svt.. ?? :hmmmm::hmmmm:
Okay... Here... About 4AFE vs 4G92P. I have tried 4AFE auto, manual, 4G92P auto, manual. I can rank the speed/pickup in the following order: 4AFE manual > 4G92P manual > 4AFE auto > 4G92P auto. On papers, the 4G92P is more powerful than 4AFE by a bit, 111 hp vs 105 hp. But I don't know why when I tested, the 4AFE feels more lively, lighter and better pickup than 4G92P (wira body). Maybe due to gear ratios and weight. Auto sucks to me. But I can say the 4AFE auto is better. I don't know the 4G92P uses a 3 or 4 speed auto. The one I tested really really gets me mad. It's damn sluggish and FC is damn high. That's my exp on these engines. About FC, I haven't tested 4G92P FC properly. Only 4AFE. But my assumption is this: 4AFE manual > 4G92P manual > 4AFE auto >>>>> 4G92P auto.

BT vs SVT, Bt has 165 hp and SVT 160 hp on papers. If you plan to drive it as it is get the BT. It is newer than SVT. Less wear and tear. The VVT has better programming than the SVT. MAP sensor requires less maintenance than the SVT AFM. If you plan to tune the shit out of the engines, get SVT as if has stronger, thicker conrods. But there are cases where the AFM is old and gives high FC and the VVT pulley start to sound.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
I didn't notice before this d7zul... Your avatar... IS it AE101 Levin BZR?
Oh.. that's my car..

Toyota Levin AE101 2 door coupe.. Silvertop Auto (planning on a 6speed blactop:biggrin:)

BZR only on AE111

4afe vs 4g92p = it's quite a battle.. depends on the condition of the engine..

4age BT vs 4age SVT = stock vs stock.. of coz BT wins :burnout:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Oh.. that's my car..

Toyota Levin AE101 2 door coupe.. Silvertop Auto (planning on a 6speed blactop:biggrin:)

BZR only on AE111
Nice laaa.... Quite rare... Good luck on your project :biggrin:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Nice laaa.... Quite rare... Good luck on your project :biggrin:
Thanx..

juz want to add some information..

AE111 BZG = Blacktop 5 speed

AE111 BZR = Blacktop 6 speed..

:driver:

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
Thanx..

juz want to add some information..

AE111 BZG = Blacktop 5 speed

AE111 BZR = Blacktop 6 speed..

:driver:
Thanks for the info... I've been wondering for long time what is the diff btwn BZR and BZG. But some say BZG is auto and BZR is 6 speed manual... :hmmmm:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
Thanks for the info... I've been wondering for long time what is the diff btwn BZR and BZG. But some say BZG is auto and BZR is 6 speed manual... :hmmmm:
ok.. that's a lot of codes for the AE111

BZR, BZG, BZV, FX, XZ

I only know the 1st two.. hehe

:biggrin:

Famous BMW tuner - Hamann had released 3 nicely done models of the E92 and E93 BMW 3 Series coupe and convertible respectively, namely the 320i, 330d and on to the almightly 335i.

Let's start with ECU tuning, the twin turbo 335i got itself an additional 37 HP and an increased top...