Bt Vvt

icic...then how much is the RSM cost leh ?? and how it controll leh ???? mind to share some infor???

RSM cost rm400-450 secondhand,without G sensor normally.RSM have a rpm output function which can trigger a device according to rpm.You need a relay to trigger the vvt to be safe,since the RSM rpm trigger driver not designed to take high load.

You have better leave this task to the ECU becuase when VVT is engauge the ECU will switch the fuel map at the same time. But if you engauge it manually by using external stuff (VVT-Controller, RSM etc), the ECU will not know and will stay on the same fuel map that will not give any better power.
In Japan the tuner will compensate the fuel by using SAFC when manually enguage the VVT. If you only plug in VVT-Controller you will not get anything better.
And FYI, the SVT ECU will trigger the VVT whenever it sense the needs (engine load), ie: when going up hill the VVT will turn on automatically eventhough the rpm is keep at, say 3000rpm. Or when making a hard pick-up from stand still the VVT will kick in immediately.
If the engine is running at low load, ie: down hill, the VVT will not trigger eventhough the rpm is beyond 5000rpm.

IIRC, doesn't SVT's VVT depends on RPM? I think it triggers at around 4k~5krpm for SVT, regardless of full throttle or not. But this is the first time I'm hearing SVT's VVT works based on engine load, seems like it is more advanced than BT's VVT. Bro levin818, where did you get this info from? Did u test using VVT indicator? Just curious...

Btw bro caleb, usually ppl retain the original intake VVT cam and swap the exhaust cams to keep the VVT function. FYI, Toda is selling intake camshaft that still retains the VVT function.
But for those hardcore kaki, they usually throw VVT and go for aftermarket intake/exhaust cams all around. But FC sure kau kau la.... VVT is to save fuel mah.

ohhhh....if let say ECU...wat kind of ecu should i buy ?????
oh yeah...how can i make my engine to rev till 9k??? or even more...any idea ????

ohhhh....if let say ECU...wat kind of ecu should i buy ?????
oh yeah...how can i make my engine to rev till 9k??? or even more...any idea ????
ECU totally depends on your budget bro.. standalone usually costs over RM2k. Just research the price for Motec ECU, sure pengsan :banghead:
IMO, piggy-back (addon to the OEM ECU) is better for us normal users. Emanage should do the trick.
Bro, rev till 9k or 10k can do.. just come to Ipoh and look for ECU sifooo (founder of Protech ECU). But seriously, you will end up killing the engine and power drop usually after 8krpm, unless your engine is modded. Actually, whats the purpose of doing over 9krpm on stock engine? Showoff???

You have better leave this task to the ECU becuase when VVT is engauge the ECU will switch the fuel map at the same time. But if you engauge it manually by using external stuff (VVT-Controller, RSM etc), the ECU will not know and will stay on the same fuel map that will not give any better power.
In Japan the tuner will compensate the fuel by using SAFC when manually enguage the VVT. If you only plug in VVT-Controller you will not get anything better.
And FYI, the SVT ECU will trigger the VVT whenever it sense the needs (engine load), ie: when going up hill the VVT will turn on automatically eventhough the rpm is keep at, say 3000rpm. Or when making a hard pick-up from stand still the VVT will kick in immediately.
If the engine is running at low load, ie: down hill, the VVT will not trigger eventhough the rpm is beyond 5000rpm.

Hmm,some thought here.The VVT system is open loop right.The ECU might be switching the VVT on or off,but it does'nt know whether it actually done the task or not.Even if we control the VVT using piggyback controller,the ecu is still switching it on and off,except that the ECU VVT output no longer connects.

I have experimented with adjustable cam pulley to replace the VVT,and i unplug the VVT solenoid connector,the test:-

Full retard (normal position) = Idle normal,below 3.5k normal,but after that very slow from stock,all the way to rev cut.No

Full advance = Idle lower than normal (650-700rpm,but soon after 1 day the ecu compensate for this),below 2.5k normal,above 2.5k to 4k better than stock VVT,at 4k rpm still can feel VVT kicks in,all the way to rev cut,better than stock.

The performance is good with adjustable pulley compared to stock(except for low rev).And i'm quite suprised i still feel the vvt kicks in even i disconnected the solenoid.So i'm think the ecu did switch the fuel map,or bump the ignition timing when the vvt kicks in.Most ppl want use vvt controller coz want the vvt kicks in early during traffic light sprints,which is in high load,so i think the ecu will still switch to another map when it suppose to do so.But even with the performance gain,i'm switching back to VVT pulley,because the cruising fuel consumption is high,and the pulley i borrow from my friend,hehe

Btw,I will try experiment the RSM to verify this.What do u think Wong sifu?

IIRC, doesn't SVT's VVT depends on RPM? I think it triggers at around 4k~5krpm for SVT, regardless of full throttle or not. But this is the first time I'm hearing SVT's VVT works based on engine load, seems like it is more advanced than BT's VVT. Bro levin818, where did you get this info from? Did u test using VVT indicator? Just curious...

Btw bro caleb, usually ppl retain the original intake VVT cam and swap the exhaust cams to keep the VVT function. FYI, Toda is selling intake camshaft that still retains the VVT function.
But for those hardcore kaki, they usually throw VVT and go for aftermarket intake/exhaust cams all around. But FC sure kau kau la.... VVT is to save fuel mah.

TODA selling intake camshaft that retains VVT?
i thought intake campulley that control VVT.
toda cams with OE campulley can retain VVT.
toda cams with aftermarket campulley cannot use VVT

sifoo wong, nice to meet you again. good chap is this guy.

1st gen SVT 4400rpm VVT kicks in. 2ng gen SVT use TPS and engine load and etc2 factors.
so sifoo wong telling how svt 2nd gen works, pcmoddingmy stating 1nd gen svt

1st gen SVT 4400rpm VVT kicks in. 2ng gen SVT use TPS and engine load and etc2 factors.
so sifoo wong telling how svt 2nd gen works, pcmoddingmy stating 1nd gen svt

err........guys, can you please teach me how tell if it's 1st or 2nd Gen SVT / BT ? Thanks.

if not mistaken the svt is the 1st gen
BT is the 2nd gen ...

then can some one tell me BT is actually operate VVT by rpm or TPS ??

ECU totally depends on your budget bro.. standalone usually costs over RM2k. Just research the price for Motec ECU, sure pengsan :banghead:
IMO, piggy-back (addon to the OEM ECU) is better for us normal users. Emanage should do the trick.
Bro, rev till 9k or 10k can do.. just come to Ipoh and look for ECU sifooo (founder of Protech ECU). But seriously, you will end up killing the engine and power drop usually after 8krpm, unless your engine is modded. Actually, whats the purpose of doing over 9krpm on stock engine? Showoff???

aiks....i din mean it on stock.....coz i just wanna know wats the way so i know how to mod my car lor ....tat time sure got go dyno tune lor ...see hows the power band works and then tune until perfect....

wat i wanna know is how to start the mod lor...like change wat first then chagne wat watawt ....aiya wanna take advice from u all mah ..

Bro n0th1n, I might be wrong about the camshaft thingy... but does other aftermarket camshaft (HKS,TRD?) allows to retain VVT using the stock intake campulley?

Bro 2O2R, 1st gen SVT is noticeable at the throttle body. There will be two throttle opener (that connects to the gas pedal) vs a single throttle opener on 2nd gen SVT. Sorry, don't know how to explain properly but 1st gen and 2nd gen has different ITBs. As for BT, I don't think got only 1 version... perhaps the 6spd BT can be considered 2nd gen BT?

aiks....i din mean it on stock.....coz i just wanna know wats the way so i know how to mod my car lor ....tat time sure got go dyno tune lor ...see hows the power band works and then tune until perfect....

wat i wanna know is how to start the mod lor...like change wat first then chagne wat watawt ....aiya wanna take advice from u all mah ..
Wah..... I can smell a monster giving birth! 10,000rpm 20V BT :adore:
Bro, before you get hyped up and all, better focus on getting the engine running properly in its original condition. Check of engine oil, fuel press, oil press, valve train, compression, water pump, oil seals, clutch and whatnot. Once the engine is 100% perfect (in stock mode), then you can start sourcing for perf parts. Just a piece of my 2cents :listen:

ya lor ...wat bro pcmoddingmy said is correct...i think i drive for bout 1 year then i start the project slow slow kot...how i can do it ..
coz when i overhaul time i plan to use metal gasket and change ecu...or watver... but i dun know which one do first then follow by which lor ...tat is why i ask lor ..mod easy lor..change tis change tat ..but if i change 304 racing cam wat more must change follow by like ecu,fuel pump or how how and bla bla ....
hehe long way for me tis new mechanic to learn ...

Bro Pcmodd/All Sifu
So 1st Gen SVT and 2nd Gen SVT got different or not ?? 1st gen open at 4.4k rpm, 2nd gen is when ?? if driving at smooth at 3.5k rpm / 140km/h. than mean vvt never open lo ??bcoz i feel nothing "tarik-tarik". how about 4k or 5k when driving smooth ?? vvt got open ?? bcoz i also feel nothing.. izzit bcoz A/T ??
Another 1 question is A/T can use the D2 mode driving all the way up to Genting ?? thanks

ya lor i also wondering ah ....i also dun know how my BT VVT gonna work ....at which rpm or how to play wit tis engine ....woa ....very susah then the vtec...

Already tried using RSM to trigger VVT,the effect is more or less the like the adjustable pulley effect.No point triggering the VVT below 2k rpm as not much improvement,almost like stock,activate 2.5k rpm gives a slightly better performance,very minimal.So my verdict is,stay with the stock ECU VVT system,unless using a standalone ECU.

thx bro cusco for the sharing .......
bro cusco dun mind tell me the exact open of vvt for bt ?

Just like the others said,if late model SVT and BT,VVT is triggered by engine load and RPM,depends on certain condition,like Levin818 said.My car SVT with BT ecu,when i whack full throttle from 2.5k,already can feel vvt kicks in.If feathering the throttle belo 10-15%,VVT doesnt open.

Bro Pcmodd/All Sifu
So 1st Gen SVT and 2nd Gen SVT got different or not ?? 1st gen open at 4.4k rpm, 2nd gen is when ?? if driving at smooth at 3.5k rpm / 140km/h. than mean vvt never open lo ??bcoz i feel nothing "tarik-tarik". how about 4k or 5k when driving smooth ?? vvt got open ?? bcoz i also feel nothing.. izzit bcoz A/T ??
Another 1 question is A/T can use the D2 mode driving all the way up to Genting ?? thanks
Physically, got difference between 1st and 2nd gen SVT. But on VVT function, please refer to previous posts by the sifu. He said "1st gen SVT 4400rpm VVT kicks in. 2ng gen SVT use TPS and engine load and etc2 factors."
If you cant feel VVT at all, I think your engine might have some problem as the ECU will cut timing if it senses engine knocking. Last time my BT cant feel VVT also, but now after change another BT, can get the feeling already.
Perhaps you should try without a/c.
As for A/T driving mode, you should wait for other members to respond.

so when the vvt kick in did we feel a little jerk ???? of just the rev goes faster and so does the speed...the sound of engine also change ????
can't wait till my bt siap ...