Brake sys. modification

artnet

My corolla is using AE101 macpherson's strut suspension.
but i find it's braking isn't good enough.
so i'm thinking of using the AE101 super strut's twin pot caliper
and disc on my macpherson's.

I was told to skimmed the super strut's disc to smaller diameter.
the twin pot caliper should be able to direct bolt onto the single
pot's original position. Is it possible?

since the disc has been skimmed to smaller diameter, will it cause
certain area of the brake pad not used(no contact with the disc)?

Anyone has done this b4? Is there any important things tht i've left
out? Pls give comment about it. thank you in advance!
:)

I'm using twin pot caliper and disc. yes, the disc have to skim.

removed the superstrut absorber, replaced with macpherson instead.

I'm using twinpot on Macpherson absober, no prob, just need a little mod.

Use it more than 6 month now, good breaking power.

EG9,
help me to decide...
yolk's slotted or this twin pot??
twin pot sure got good bite...
but slotted one got higher temperature range..

Originally posted by artnet@Jan 17 2005, 09:23
EG9,
help me to decide...
yolk's slotted or this twin pot??
twin pot sure got good bite...
but slotted one got higher temperature range..
You can install slotted rotor and Twinpot caliper. (I assume the slotted rotor is for single pot caliper, then you no longer need to mod the rotor anymore.)

But you still have to mod the caliper bracket.

Solve your problem.

What is Macpherson? Is it one of the brand name of the absorber? If want to install twin pot caliber, need to change with this type of absorber? i plan to change eibach spring, suitable with this macpherson? Where can find this absorber and how much? My car is AE111.

Thank you

:D :D

it's a suspension type.

ur ae111 should be macpherson. eibach spring, may be
u can find the GAB short stroke? I'm using TRD spring,
then reconditioned KYB absorber from KL. very cheap
absorber... but i dunno where to get it, bought from a
fren.

twinpot is the brake caliper taken from the superstrut
suspension.

Originally posted by EG9@Jan 17 2005, 11:27
But you still have to mod the caliper bracket.
how they mod the caliper bracket? wanna see can arr... for my next project maa...

i dunno...
coming monday will discuss with mechanic and see wht to be mod..

>actuali no nid 2 add a bracket there..........
>just nid to grind off a bit of the twin pot caliper bracket, then u can instal the caliper nicely on ur knuckle......
>believe me coz i just intall it on my car.... the vr4 twin pot caliper is suit too...

hmm..... actually i m thinking to get a twin pot caliper with disc oso but the thing is, dunno whether if i mod it will giv me any prob o not lah... coz brake is damn 9 important for a car man..... duh....... :unsure: