Brake Problem

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
Hello bro and sis,

I drive normally, feel sluggish and fuel consumptions getting high also. I feel weird and finally today, i found out the problem. I washed my car today and the problem gone for a short while only i guess. I wet both disc brakes in front while washing. Just after i washed, i went out. For the first time i press my brake, it doesn't respon but one thing i found out that my car is not sluggish like it used to be.

I think is that my brake pad clamping the disc all the way, is that my brake pad's problem or caliper's piston kit?

For your information, i have changed my master pump few months ago, changed to new DOT4 but pads are old and caliper piston kits also old. 10 years old car. :D Thank you so much. What should i do?

Let me get this right.

You washed the car, went out and when you pressed the brakes it didn't work?

It might just be that time to overhaul the brake calipers. After a certain period of time the brake calipers may collect up dirt and grime and may not fully release the brake discs. Just get it overhauled and things ought to be fine.

I washed my car, the disc brake wet and not sluggish. :D

No wash, disc brake not wet and damn sluggish. Sad sad. Press minyak alot then only jalan.

Yalorr, i think have to change the caliper piston kit liao. :D

You don't have to change them.. just get them cleaned.. that's all.. You can even do it yourself, but you have to know how the pieces fit together.. This is your brakes we're talking about here.. The single most important part of a car.

Thanks bro, i read through some of your articles. It was fun and exciting. Going up crater and stuff. Hahaha. :D What do you mean by cleaning them? What i mean is that the caliper piston's rubber rings and seals need to be changed i think. Correct me if i am wrong. :D

Ah right. My mistake. I thought you meant changing the whole caliper set. Overhauling the caliper does require you to change the rubber rings and seals and stuff.