BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

Fast Road tuned Proton Wira 1.3 turbo with VDO ECU.

This is another 2001 Wira 1.3 turbo with stock VDO ECU & d easy use PS products by 1 of our machanic member

Force Performance said:
razaksa said:
I always use PS Boost-Cut Eliminator also to allow the ECU function properly in my customer’s car. It can stop check light coming out from most map sensing ECUs.
Airfuel ratio shown as below is d 2001 onwards 4G13 with Siemen engine management with PS part no: BCE-W1 added when I turbo in 2003
At idling = not much changes with close loop control. It is round 14.7 to 16.5. Cruising speed = not much changes from 13.5 to 12.5. Below 0.25kg/cm boost @cruising speed = b4 fueling is 14 to 15, above 0.25kg/cm boost = b4 fueling is 16.5. [no power]. I upgraded to 380c.c. fuel injectors n recalibrated its pulse from idling to 0.6kg/cm boost to provide ideal 12 to 1 AFR at all round rpm. by using PS Air-Fuel Enhancer part no: AFE-808 II type 4MM with Daihatsu turbo map sensor. 10 to 1 is considered out of tune already.
[/SIZE]

The PS boost-cut eliminator and PS Air Fuel ENhancer is it readily available in the market and is it a piggyback ECU? What does PS stand for?
Correct me if I'm wrong, you are saying that once boost kicks in, PS boost-cut eliminator will cut off the boost reading from the map sensor and here is where the PS Air Fuel ENhancer will increase the fuelling from 14.5 to 10 to 1 air fuel ratio.

Force Performance said:
4G13 VDO ECU with Boost-Cut Eliminator

:p My PS products was from TurboSang in Kepong many years ago or Ah Wah of RS AutoSport in Subang. Now I purchase it from Exodus MotorSport in Sunway [www.iamtagged.net.html] n various products information in: www.ps-powersport.co.uk

*Please be advise that: 10 to 1 AFR is far too rich even for d extreme tuned engine. A maximum richness of 11.5 already seldom provided for most fast road turbo-tuned engines. If 10.1 is still insisted, u just replace to a much bigger injectors i.e: from 380c.c. to 650c.c. n control by the PS. AFE-808 II or additional injectors control by PS. SIC-202 n oso to maintain fuel pump delivery by the PS. Fuel flow Stabilizer pn. FFS-313C* :p

I currently have PS AFE-808II installed in my car but unfortunately it's for display purpose only because it can't serve the purpose of tuning the air-fuel ratio anymore. The first 2 button no light come out, so the next three buttons will come out at certain rpms. I changed the standard LEDs to blue and red hehehe.. so now it become my shift-light liao.

Any idea of how good this thing performs compared to Apexi 5 button SAFC?

140dB said:
speaking of voided proton warranty.
my dad's wira's boot leaking since day 1, f**kin proton warranty centre couldnt solve it even after two years...
ahah...what a f**kin joke

140dB
"sounding off"

If thats the case, then there was never a point having waranty.. hahahaha... :p

Daily uses 240hp. Mivec 1.8 turbo

Major modifications listed as below are required for a smooth & drivable daily uses Mivec 1.8 turbo with 0.8kg/cm.boost pressure:
  • Reduce piston compression ratio to 9.5 to 1 which to allow no spark timing retarded.
  • Mid-flow TD05 hybrid turbocharger & 60mm. Exhaust pipes system.
  • Fit PS. Boost-Cut Eliminator to allow original NA. ECU to operate normally when it sees turbo boost.
  • Replace GM 2 bar MAP sensor to associate with PS. Air-Fuel Enhancer.
  • More fueling by replacement of VR4 480c.c injectors for correct air-fuel mix. till 0.8kg/cm turbo pressure.
  • Fit large enough intercooler for better performance & durability
  • Fit PS. VTEC [Valves timing engagement control] Controller to activate MIVEC when boost in at lower rpm.
  • Replace heavy duty clutch set to withstand extra engine torque.
Regarding the Sales & After Sales services of all PS-PowerSport Design products can contact their appointed dealer – Exodus Motor sports @ Sunway PJS 7 of 012-3348925 for Mr. Allan.

I think there are something you need to do lo

1) Change to thinker gasket to reduce the compression ratio.
2) Add extra fuel inlet or change the original to bigger flow rate
3) Better add an intercooler
4) Use after market ECU management like E-manage, etc....
5) Change you muffler and ekzos
6) Upgrade your suspension and braking system

may be there are some more else, depends on how deep your pocket is:p

Whats Up all THE ROBOTS

Hey guys......

Got someone waja driver interested to buy my Turbo kits........wanna sell or not.....heh ehe

anyway my exhaust gaskets worn again this time my oil feed hose also crack....repair somemore......got to get stel braided hose someday.....

Any news on ROBOTS activity lately????

Raymond_Hu said:
I think there are something you need to do lo

1) Change to thinker gasket to reduce the compression ratio.
2) Add extra fuel inlet or change the original to bigger flow rate
3) Better add an intercooler
4) Use after market ECU management like E-manage, etc....
5) Change you muffler and ekzos
6) Upgrade your suspension and braking system

may be there are some more else, depends on how deep your pocket is:p

GEN 2 BOT? first time heard? my waja used turbo sang BOT for quite some time...with 2 extra VR4 injectors,VR4 IC,E-Manage,Custom banana,TDO4HL twin fin,custom pipes....std injector not touch even std gasket are used since low boosting 0.6bar . Internal engine also didnt tamper.......still boosting.....my exhaust still 1.75"....except for the 2.5" downpipe........

What i did add is boost meter, turbo timer ....and adj fuel pressure regulator ( custom made by EFN ).

Well after doing R&D for nearly 6 months the kits are ok.....except minor adj here and there....even Toyota Wish are also Bolt On Turbo nowadays..........even the fuel price keep rising...one thing sweet about BOT,,,,,,no cut off......and fuel consumption is same unless u go 4 boosting all the time......

Now I'm thinking of controlling those 2 injectors some sort like a switch to on / off either 1 inj to save fuel and used 2 extra injector for racing only....i think 1 is enough with 43PSI of fuel pressure and 4 std waja injectors with boost 0.6-0.7 bar

hmm... by right shouldnt you get Steel Braided hose in the first place? :p

ROBOTS never did have any activities didnt it.. hahaha...
:p

Waja4646 said:
Hey guys......

Got someone waja driver interested to buy my Turbo kits........wanna sell or not.....heh ehe

anyway my exhaust gaskets worn again this time my oil feed hose also crack....repair somemore......got to get stel braided hose someday.....

Any news on ROBOTS activity lately????

This is the reason why people say turbo maintanence higher loh... if n/a no need to worry about things like this happening maa...

don't think so u can get metal gasket for gen2... so the only way to lower the compression is to stack double gasket. Don't think so u can get pistons for gen2 also... =Þ correct me if i'm wrong.

With stock internals, better to boost lower than 0.5... unless u got balls of steel like waja4646!! HAhaha... he's one of the PROUDEST person i've seen so far... proud of his very own monster waja. Haven't had the chance to meet him yet though... dude! When laa wanna TT? Come out meet new people maaa... =Þ

Anywayz... for low boost applications... you can probably get a small turbine like a TD025 (from perdana twin turbo) and boost around 0.4 bar... i think with that, engine management also might not be necessary... the air flow sensor should be able to detect the extra air and inject the necessary extra fuel. Proton bolt on kits for 4G93/2 are running on this turbine also... then get a small intercooler, like a GSR or an eterna TT intercooler... mah kautim lerzz....

If you get TD04... the minimum boost is 0.5-0.6... the actuator can't go lower than that. With a turbine of this size, and boost at this level... its safer to stack double gaskets and get a piggy back ECU... at least an SAFC ler... but if get something that can control your ignition timing would be better... coz' u'll be required to retard your timing a lil' to avoid pre-detonation.. especially during high revs.

alvin24

if u use the td025 from eterna on a 1.6...when does boost kick in?

thanks man

blur_civic said:
Wouldnt a TD025 be too small for Gen2? :confused:
Where got such thing as 'too small' wan?? This one is personal preference maa... i'm just suggesting TD025 for bolt on applications... as in, install and jalan. If use any bigger like TD04, minimum boost is 0.5-0.6... therefore you'll need a piggy back ECU, bigger injectors, lower engine compression.......... the list goes on, for you to be able to make the engine reliable. TD025 bolt on, I think the air flow sensor should be able to detect the extra air flow going in and the ECU should be able to compensate... as i said, thats why EMS turbo kit for GTi is running a TD025 also laa.