BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

140dB said:
hi again,

i found the bit of info at rpw's site:

"Due to the extra thicknesses of the gasket, you will need to use a Vernier Camshaft Sprocket as otherwise the camshaft timing will be retarded with standard camshaft gears."

I think you mistaken between cam timing and ignition (sparkplug firing) timing. yes, people sure do retard spark timing as rpm and boost increase.

140dB

OPPS! Hahaha... hmmm... now think think, true also, block slightly higher liau, timing belt adjustments are slightly different.

I think people installing THICK metal gasket to lowering down the compression. When the compression low.. we can advance more ignition timing (less retard) from before and place it nearest to BTDC. but it only can be done on dyno (torque curve).. How much? until u hear knock..knock (pre-deto) and than less 2 deg...
correct me if i'm wrong

fuiyoo.... power power!! vtec turbo sialz... RESPECT!!

lilvee,
What you're saying can say is correct to a certain point of view... but usually due to higher boost... people end up retarding it instead of advancing. =Þ

Ok.. let put it this way... "less retard" instead of "advancing" timing.... u get more power.... (agresive way)... :)

but it always others path by choosing conservative route... "more retard" when hi boost.... but good tuner rather lose 10-20hp than get blown motor... so tune by conservative

hp depends on a lotta things also mar... wanna get higher HP gotta get bigger turbine... thats why i said depends on turbine maa...

Anywayz... if turbo, actually map based engines can tune better than air flow...

140dB, ur point there is almost right but not there.

when they say 1 bar map sensor it doesn't mean you can go up to +1 bar. You have to consider the vacuum operating areas as well. So if they say 1 bar, it generally means it can go from -1bar to 0bar.

another ex, is the 3.5bar map sensors sold along with some wideband o2 kit. These sensors don't register up to +3.5bar, it registers from -1.5bar to +2 bar.

Tuning with map sensors and rpm pretty straightforward, just set the injector duty cycle based on a particular rpm and load (boost, vacuum) point. Mapping it onto a matrix (use excel oso can) makes it easier.

Vtec disengaged?

ongwoeiluen said:
Turbo turbo turbo aiks... Boost until my pocket koyak liao ler...

Fuel so expensive nowadays, fill petrol till the petrol station also know me

Waaalaauuuueehhhhh!!!!! . Mine is k20A Turbo

now back to na for a while to jahit my pocket back hehe

will pecah again someday with k24a turbo

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v234/ongwoeiluen/DSCN0332.jpg

Hi Ong,

Wow vtec turbo....how high u boosting now?did ur mech disengage the vtec cam? some mags ive been reading show some vtec trubo engines as well. but all have the vtec cam disengaged....(but then again, all running +15psi boost n forged internals, mad300-500hp etc etc). reasoning is, high NA cam profile usually have higher overlap than turbo cams...with all dat boost....fire breathing exhaust!

140dB

anything was alright i was using all stock internal with a 2mm metal gasket only

engine management by E-manage i was running at 0.7 bar of boost the no any problem when vtec kick in it goes to 0.9 bar something fuel is enough

it save to fly around but fuel consumption you know lah ...hehe

Help needed....

All ROBOT sifu's please help me....

I want to buy a GTi with ROBOT installed......Specs below.....

- GTi March 2001 with MMC ECU

- Mileage gonna reach 55k soon with service records

- Using GSR turbo bolt on boosting around 0.7 - 0.8 bar.

- GSR RS pistons, throttle body as well as injectors and intercoolers.

- J5 Matspeed chip tuned for GSR setup.

- 2.5" Everco exhaust piping and muffler.

- 3 years usage aithout any problem.

Ok huh sifu's??? he claimed that with the internal mods, 0.8 boost won't be a problem.....If I wan lower the boost how? can do ah? How much will it cost? this setup what will the HP be? He wan to change to buy BMW lah, rich kid.....

I want to send the car to puspakom to check? Will there be any problem?

His interior got no any meters lah...why ah sifu's?

Hope to be a ROBOT member soon...

0.8 bar is okay la with internal mods... memang shouldn't have any problems... provided the rechipping was done properly and the engine's getting enuff fuel.

linges316 said:
All ROBOT sifu's please help me....

I want to buy a GTi with ROBOT installed......Specs below.....

- GTi March 2001 with MMC ECU

- Mileage gonna reach 55k soon with service records

- Using GSR turbo bolt on boosting around 0.7 - 0.8 bar.

- GSR RS pistons, throttle body as well as injectors and intercoolers.

- J5 Matspeed chip tuned for GSR setup.

- 2.5" Everco exhaust piping and muffler.

- 3 years usage aithout any problem.

Ok huh sifu's??? he claimed that with the internal mods, 0.8 boost won't be a problem.....If I wan lower the boost how? can do ah? How much will it cost? this setup what will the HP be? He wan to change to buy BMW lah, rich kid.....

I want to send the car to puspakom to check? Will there be any problem?

His interior got no any meters lah...why ah sifu's?

Hope to be a ROBOT member soon...

To lowering and control your boost.. go buy boost controller... got electronic(EBC) and manual(MBC)..... price, of coz manual cheaper than e'nic..

How he knows running at 0.8bar? boost meter is a must brader...

Why need send to puspakom? did he change the block? no rite....

you cannot lower ur boost (with a boost controller) lower than what the stock wastegate is set at. You will either have to mod ur wastegate or get an external one with a spring set for lower boost

ongwoeiluen said:
anything was alright i was using all stock internal with a 2mm metal gasket only

engine management by E-manage i was running at 0.7 bar of boost the no any problem when vtec kick in it goes to 0.9 bar something fuel is enough

it save to fly around but fuel consumption you know lah ...hehe

Hi Ong,

dats why I believe the tuners disengage vtec. with only 1 cam profile, easier to tune.
also, with NA vtec cams i think have higher overlap than purpose made turbo cams.
dat may explain ur high fuel consumption.
do you have air fuel ratio meter? do you see mixture going rich when vtec engaged?

140dB

To lowering and control your boost.. go buy boost controller... got electronic(EBC) and manual(MBC)..... price, of coz manual cheaper than e'nic..

you cannot lower ur boost (with a boost controller) lower than what the stock wastegate is set at. You will either have to mod ur wastegate or get an external one with a spring set for lower boost

Ok, so I can lower my boost using boost meter but not beyond what the wastegate can manage. Am I right?

Another question, what meters do i need to monitor and manage my turbo? I dont want to unnecessarily increase my fuel consumption during normal city driving....i want the boost only when i want to be superman , haha......

What is E-manage, do I need it?

Oh ya, I want to send to PUSPAKOM to check the car thoroughly for accident signs and fuel emmision which includes in their 10 point inspection. I don't want to kena tipu lah....

THANKS FOR YOUR FEEDBACKS, ROBOTs......

linges316 said:
Ok, so I can lower my boost using boost meter but not beyond what the wastegate can manage. Am I right?

Another question, what meters do i need to monitor and manage my turbo? I dont want to unnecessarily increase my fuel consumption during normal city driving....i want the boost only when i want to be superman , haha......

What is E-manage, do I need it?

Oh ya, I want to send to PUSPAKOM to check the car thoroughly for accident signs and fuel emmision which includes in their 10 point inspection. I don't want to kena tipu lah....

THANKS FOR YOUR FEEDBACKS, ROBOTs......

You cannot lower your boost using boost meter.
you can buy a wastegate actuator cheep..just get one wif low boost spring..
a boost meter monitors the pressure ur turbo is putting into ur engine....
an oil pressure meter shows if any oil lines are leaking....useful if oil lines arent oem...
this two will be good for starters i guess..
air fuel ratio meter can monitor ur fuel consumption to a certain extent....

emanage? i feel better to rechip/reprogram ur ecu....

puspakom...they can do that. but dunno if they will give u trouble as ur car heavily modded. although ur block is stock, if they have reason to believe u have rebored the block...........hmmm......dunno wat hell they might give u...knowing them they are paid to find fault....

my2c
140dB

wah... u'd rather rechip than emanage? HAhaha... of course emanage is better lar... its adjustable mar... rechip is chip mati wan... so if any changes wants to be made, have to send back to rechip again... further more can't tune on the dyno.

Haihz... wished i had emanage also... no money man... the new one chrome colour summore... so handsome!

pick your poison....

alvin24 said:
wah... u'd rather rechip than emanage? HAhaha... of course emanage is better lar... its adjustable mar... rechip is chip mati wan... so if any changes wants to be made, have to send back to rechip again... further more can't tune on the dyno.

Haihz... wished i had emanage also... no money man... the new one chrome colour summore... so handsome!

hi alvin,

hahah..same here..only reason why i opt for rechip is bcos cheaper..plus his car already quite heavily modded...retuning emanage also cost $$...and emanage for turbo car will cost quite a lot if consider the wiring harnesses, map sensor etc..

from rpw website:
greddy main unit-aud684.81
ignition harness-aud81.81
injection harness-aud81.81
map sensor - aud187.05
map sensor harness - aud61.75
grand total-aud1094!!! can rechip how many time oledi oh..........does the same thing right.......

chrome colour oso still sitting under the seat or somewhere hidden wat...ahah..but sure looks cool lor..looks like worth your blood sweat n tears hard earned money.

my 2c
140dB

hahaha... dunno, still somehow prefer to have it 'adjustable'... can always start to learn how to tune on your own mar.. hahaha. =Þ Don't like the tuning, just reload the previous map lar.

Eh? Didn't know the emanage had map sensor... if not mistaken, its only for the extra injector function... the fueling doesn't run on map sensor... still runs on air flow. Correct me if i'm wrong... at least thats what the guys are GT Auto told me. =Þ

I guess everyone has their own preference lar... kinda like choosing between apple and orange. =Þ