BOT (Bolt On Turbo)

delphinium said:
aiyya.. kantoi liao... hehehe.. no laa. where gott.. just figure of speech maa :P
hey wildboar, u think ur arthur can do turbocharge on Mivec anot?

i dun think he got experience with hybrid engines lo..but i can ask him if u wan..he definately recommend u to get microtech since u will need engine management for a hybrid project..they are vr close to joshua..so tuning wont be a prob...just a matter of getting the hybrid rite..i personally dun think many mechs in pg are experienced in hybrid engines..mainland mebe got but island doubtful..to convert not a prob..but to properly tune it is quite a headache..

if u know rs motorsport in sunway tunas area, u could ask them...cos the fella there done a few vtec turbos..i alwiz c dat ek wif black bonnet..

eh if ur hybrid project success then i oso follow u lo...hehe..masuk mivec head... :D

the RS there always tune Honda ones. When I brought my car there to trouble shoot my 'semput' case, they cudnt find it. Playing with my AFC oni then say cannot do. later i found out it was the AFC taht caused the problem. Then took off tha AFC problem solved liao but after that minyak makan lorr..

i second you on the opinion that it's very hard to get a good tuner here in the island. *sigh*.. microtec huh? whallaooo.. i'm so tempted but... u know la.. your absorber oso I havent paid yet :P

I've read somewhere that MAP based engine does not like boost. When it sees boost, the ECU will turn the check engine light on. what will the ECU do then? fuel cut?
Since Mivec uses MAP, i dont think changing to MAF is a solution. Is there any other solution? Please advise.
Thanks all.

Need some advice from all d SIFU here for bolt on turbo kit on a standard 4G15p.
Any recommended workshop and roughly how much they charge for d whole kit.?

Think u'd need to prepare somewhere around 3 for the kit alone, and then u'll need to worry about your fueling... many ways to solve this, cheaper alternatives would be SAFC or extra injectors.

Alvin,
Probably may need some input from you on bolt-ons. Am seriously looking at a kit for my mutated ride.. am looking at low boost. Any comments?

gspot,
hmmm... u want ar... we go my workshop then discuss about it more detailed ler... =) Surely can make it happen wan.. pricing oso not too bad that place... =)

But then... u SURE about it ar? I heard quite troublesome running mivec turbo... u can always give it a try, since its a light pressure kit... just don't get too greedy about power can liau... else the term 'high maintanence' can have a whole new meaning to you! hehehez...

Gimme a buzz la when u're ready to go for it... i'll bring u see my Mitsu Master! hahaha... U still have by number rite? Else PM me for it...

can i install this bolt on supercharger in a carburator engine?
how much does it cost to "boost" a 1500cc wira?

hmm.. come to think of it..

If you turbocharge a carburator engine, I think the only way to control fueling is through throttle position. Injecting certain amount of fuel at certain throttle position? Can anyone clarify? Not too sure.

alvin24 said:
Think u'd need to prepare somewhere around 3 for the kit alone, and then u'll need to worry about your fueling... many ways to solve this, cheaper alternatives would be SAFC or extra injectors.

3k for d kit itself or for everything plus those SAFC...etc.?? do i need to change d enigne piston, or others stuff as well. cause not sure whether 4g15p compression izzit to high for turbo.

n/a compression is always too high for turbo... but if u're running light pressure then should be ok... and when I say light pressure, I meant anything lower than 0.4 bar.

3k is for the kit only... electronics not included.

If u wanna boost high... thats when u're going to have to start to change your internals. Don't think u can find replacement pistons for your 4G15... so u're going to have to get custom made JE pistons!! Which of course is going to cost a bomb... and then there's the issue of whether your connecting rods can take it.

yewkongthoo said:
can i install this bolt on supercharger in a carburator engine?
how much does it cost to "boost" a 1500cc wira?
for carburettors..i would recommend using twin webers..POWER!!

alvin24 said:
n/a compression is always too high for turbo... but if u're running light pressure then should be ok... and when I say light pressure, I meant anything lower than 0.4 bar.

3k is for the kit only... electronics not included.

If u wanna boost high... thats when u're going to have to start to change your internals. Don't think u can find replacement pistons for your 4G15... so u're going to have to get custom made JE pistons!! Which of course is going to cost a bomb... and then there's the issue of whether your connecting rods can take it.

Ok, then how much performance it'll gain from below 0.4 bar? Any 4G15 here done bolt-on before? wanna get some comment and review bout it.
if so, then total cost will be more than 3k plus liao..
so hav to get the kit itself and SAFC for bolt on mod.
what bout fuel pressure regulator? izzit a must for bolt on?

Yes... fuel pressure regulator is very important... if your fuel pump doesn't supply enuff petrol... u might need to upgrade that as well. Turbocharging is a try-and-error process mostly... there's A LOT of hidden costs...!! I suggest u prepare a lot of spare change!

If u're boosting 0.4 bar... expect to get slightly less than 40% power upgrade... maybe somewhere around 30-35% hp more than ori.

hmm i c.. ok thanx a lot for the help, advice n info..

i guess i'll go for minor mod, then only get d bolt on.. step by step...
maybe if later part engine KONG liao only do transplant.
guess some parts still can bring forward to d transplant engine like
Adjustable Fuel pressure Regulator, Air filter, n some basic grounding, volt stablelizer.
Not sure bout bolt on kit if transplant to a Turbo engine.