Begineer Needs Tuning Services

halfclutch

Hi there..I've just started out my very first ICE..I've got pioneer 4x45W HU, 4x250 W bridgeable amp, Sherwood Preamp, 2 tweeters/2 blaupunkt components in front, 2 tweeters/ 2 Xplod 6" components in the rear, 12 cm Sub (600w max input). I only know how to tweak the pre amp (i don't even know how to adjust the custom EQ on my HU) but I don't know squat about main amp adjustments. I need a specialist who can at least optimise my system, plus I 'm thinking of driving my 4 tweeters with my HU amp.

One more thing, this may sound pathetic but how do you guys make your sub box stay in one in your trunk. my trunk carpet and sub will be all over the place after every drive. I need something to hold my sub down.

Thanks for reading and even more thanks to the kind soul who's willing to guide this totally new ICE newbie.

Originally posted by halfclutch@Apr 9 2005, 02:35
Hi there..I've just started out my very first ICE..I've got pioneer 4x45W HU, 4x250 W bridgeable amp, Sherwood Preamp, 2 tweeters/2 blaupunkt components in front, 2 tweeters/ 2 Xplod 6" components in the rear, 12 cm Sub (600w max input). I only know how to tweak the pre amp (i don't even know how to adjust the custom EQ on my HU) but I don't know squat about main amp adjustments. I need a specialist who can at least optimise my system, plus I 'm thinking of driving my 4 tweeters with my HU amp.

One more thing, this may sound pathetic but how do you guys make your sub box stay in one in your trunk. my trunk carpet and sub will be all over the place after every drive. I need something to hold my sub down.

Thanks for reading and even more thanks to the kind soul who's willing to guide this totally new ICE newbie.
[snapback]881006[/snapback]​

well, the best way is to get it tuned by ur installer.. it should be that way actually.. the money u paid should include tuning and after installation services.. im sure everyone would tell u to ditch the rear speakers at the back due to messing front staging, but well it's ur preference actually.. i'm also thinking of putting a pair of midbass at the back :)

wah, how fast u whack corner la? the box with the sub is easily 10kg+, mine at least.. can move all over the place? go handimart and enquire la, they sure can recommend u something :)

Dude,
It happened in me car too. Well.. They are a few solutions la...

1. U get another carpet mat that has anti-slip base on it. 1 patch of it (usually the one that use for the offices). I put one on it and ... voila.... anti slip mats for subwoofers :D

2. drill the woofer box to the trunk :blink: seen this done before... but didnt like the thought of it...

3. I've seen some ppl put velcro... and loads of it...

As for tuning, yup what thonginho says its rite... but I am going to a specialist itself la.... to save money is one thing.... but to get a great setup is another... try browsing the net.. I have found a few la... but seriously can't remember it... but tuning it remember to put the EQ flat la... it wud be better...

Sifus help me out here if I am wrong... :ph34r:

Thanks for the prompt replies and the suggestions..i'll try to implement some of the sub ideas..My installer did some tuning, but somehow I'm not quite satisfied. He based his tuning on Boom Boom One million BPM Techno Dance music. Then he say okay done oredi. I dunno whter it's the ideal tuning for me. What i need is a tuner who can adjust anything and at least explain the rationale behind it. Like if I change someone's carb with a bigger main jet, i'd tell him that it's to richen the mixture. If it's too rich it'll burble, too lean the pistons will burn. something like that la..basically a tutorial on too little or too much of something.

Why do I feel there's something wrong with my tuning..?

on my pre-amp with flat EQ n DSP off ,I've maxed out my mid-bass but I still feel there's still room for higher levels, same goes to my mid and high but these two are not yet maxed out, just almost..turning the bass knob dun't give much difference..my sub bass still gots of juice (gets unberable at 3/4 knob). I have no idea what sweep does and my fader don't actually split left/right..it's split sub/the rest..

Amateur or professional help welcomed. with open arms and kopi jantan (if amateur help..heheh just kidding) . Any kind of help will be greatly appreciated.

halfclutch, are you from the KL/PJ area??
If so, I can help you check your frequencies cut offs, speaker phasings etc.
If necessary, I'll tune your system for you-all FOC, just for the love of ICE.

hey...unker soong is a very nice guy who tune 4 us free...so attend tt n let sifu soong check ur system:P...gelenti puas...how much need 2 pay him???hehehe...a cup or 2 of teh tarik...

unker...when got ice tt again?
quite long didnt test ur car edi...miss ur big big tweeter :P

PocketRocket, no problem.
yong, there might be another April TT towards the end of this month.
Pls check the iascamalaysia forum.
Missed my big big tweeters???
Hehehe!! wait till you hear them again this time with the QED 25th. Annivesary speaker wires-sure can poison you kau kau!! :lol: :D

i got alot of poblem la...all common poblem...dunno its the amp or wat...cudnt be the speakers coz its valeraines :(

wah uncle...last time u poison me edi nearly go into ICU lor...this time i sure faint there :P

Originally posted by Yong_5290@Apr 11 2005, 19:00
wah uncle...last time u poison me edi nearly go into ICU lor...this time i sure faint there https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif alt='tongue.gif' />
[snapback]887625[/snapback]​

And not to forget the big drum (from a marching Scottish Pipe Band) playing on the bonnet!! :lol: :lol:
Jokes aside, I have just discovered (through a few sleepless nights) a new way to tune the staging deeper into the dash.

yeah yeah...tat track i love the most..the drum track...

aiks...cant wait 2 get my new car n install everything then giv unker soong tune lah... *slurp* staging deeper *drool*

Originally posted by Yong_5290@Apr 11 2005, 23:54
yeah yeah...tat track i love the most..the drum track...

aiks...cant wait 2 get my new car n install everything then giv unker soong tune lah... *slurp* staging deeper *drool*
[snapback]888413[/snapback]​

You sure you heard this track??? :blink:
The track is called Scotland the Brave from the Marantz Demo CD, 2nd. Edition.

erm...i dun think so it tat kua...
i heard the drum 1 onli...the 1 u use 4 tuning 1...

Originally posted by Yong_5290@Apr 12 2005, 01:48
erm...i dun think so it tat kua...
i heard the drum 1 onli...the 1 u use 4 tuning 1...
[snapback]888731[/snapback]​

Oh, this track is track 11 on the JM Lab CD no.3.