B16a Gearbox Synchro Problem

patpaty said:
just ask excetional subang ss14 few day ago..
syncro is sell like tis for y21 gb...
1) 1&2 gear 1 set..don noe!!
2) 3&4 gear 1 set.rm500++
3) 5&reverse gear 1set..rm700++

urs 1..i think..item 2 n 3 kena d..just guesss ah..

mine 1..wen engage gear 2 to 3 got "craccckkkk" or "crockkkk" sound wen high rev..above 8k rpm i think..plan 2 change soon..n use avan's oils...haha

okehh... new update... my neighbour bot new set recently at spareparts
shop segambut area... the one opposite lhs coz lhs don have stock...

1. 1&2 RM300++ (almost 400)
2. 3&4 RM500 (actually slightly less than that)
3. 5 & reverse is RM500+

sorry cant provide the actual price coz tha guy's outta reach just now... we may
say RM1500 secures ourselves new set of synchros for our beloved honda vitek!

if gear 2 to 3 got krukkkk sound is gear 3 syncro got problem so you have to change gear 3 and 4 syncro because they come together...if 5 to 4 got problem then you have to change 3 and 4 also...if 4 to 5 then you have to change 5 and R....don't forget the labour is quite expensive to take out the gearbox...and have to put new gear oil =D cheers

xteiner said:
if gear 2 to 3 got krukkkk sound is gear 3 syncro got problem so you have to change gear 3 and 4 syncro because they come together...if 5 to 4 got problem then you have to change 3 and 4 also...if 4 to 5 then you have to change 5 and R....don't forget the labour is quite expensive to take out the gearbox...and have to put new gear oil =D cheers

good info there!

usually how much is a labour charges for take out a gearbox?

minimum RM100 to 150, but i paid RM250, i ask them do carefully but if you want to do the syncros better send your car there early morning...because it takes quite long

maybe the price would be around 700-800 including th syncro rite?

depends which gear you are changing...example 1 - 2 = RM680, 3 - 4 = RM550, 5 - R = RM7xx? (i'm not sure...) so including labour for example RM680 + RM150 + (Gear Oil LSD or non-LSD) = can be around RM950

Another tactic to get cheaper if you can get the syncro cheaper then you buy the syncro and let your workshop do for you...if you can get around RM400+++ you can save around RM100+++

b-eater, dun mind me askin wat model of g/box r u usin now? the problematic 1 of course...

SA6YEuro said:
b-eater, dun mind me askin wat model of g/box r u usin now? the problematic 1 of course...

im using b16a eg gearbox with lsd. pity .. i also dunno what the code of the gearbox im using.

aiikss.... u mean itsa big v g/box wif lsd..... darn!! tt bad meh?? mine is crunching fr 3 - 4....