b16a engine speed sensor

anfernee

Hi, anyone knows where is the speed sensor for the b16a big vtec engine ? I think there is some problem with my sensor because my speedometer sometimes moving and sometimes not. when it's not moving the engine check light will show up.. if you have any pictures to show me will be better.. Last time I used to know the location of it, but after few years can't remember already.. hehe.. thanks in advance

i posted a thread like few days ago..having same problem like you
no one replied..lol

i got it fixed...mmm..i remember the mechanic had to take out the air filter and the whole paip..its somewhere down there...i am sorry that i cant give you a very detail picture where is it located at

got it repaired for rm160 (not sure if i kena potong or not)

shoken7,sorry to say..last time i changed the speed sensor for rm80 oni..cannot find oso ur thread..

Speed sensor sure lah must be at gearbox...

• B16a speed sen.JPG
    B16a speed sen.JPG
    17.6 KB · Views: 777
Thanks alot E-Tech for the picture. Where can I buy the speed sensor from and usually whats the reasonable price ? Is it easy to change it ourselves..

locate on the top of gearbox...im having this failure before(x2),bought at chop shop arnd 50 bukcs...mostly price range smthings arnd this as i may say and just fix it by my self...quite easy wat,just takeout the air intake thingy and we can see the sensor clearly...cheeaarrrsssss

the speed sensor get's it's reading from the final drive in the gearbox, on LSD equipped gearboxes, the gears are on the body of the LSD/seperate unit mounted on LSD body, for non LSD, it's on the body of the opendiff.

Ok thank you very much guys for the help... I will try to get one and install myself... :) Cheers..

shoken7,sorry to say..last time i changed the speed sensor for rm80 oni..cannot find oso ur thread..

hmm...thats from kedai potong or new one?
mine was in box wor
that shop seems to be quite reasonable

they are selling VAFC for rm500 including tuning
haha..but i figured i might kena potong since i wasnt sure of the price of speed sensor

ur sensor new ka?wah...hebat...mine one chop shop la..i juz go to my mech,n he said rm80..so i straight change la..

I try to ask from spare part shop, they say the speed sensor for local SR4 civic is same as B16A.. is it true ? They selling new one for RM90 only... not sure if its same or not..

Greetings guys. . .i`m having the same problem as well..
My Q is..what actually caused the problem?
Or is it really `the time` to get it changed?
What IF we were to take it out,cleans it and put it back?Will it work?
How long will the chop shop ones lasts?
Not trying to be stingy or anything,just snooping for opinions. . .
Ohh..one more thing,will it hurt more IF it is not fixed immediately??

Thanx a BUNCH bros!

it will hurt your pride... water face because vtec cannot
"on" and u kena tapau by wiras and satrias.....
better change it!

Anyone knows which spare part shop in KL / PJ area that sells the original speed sensor for b16 engine ? Most of the shops I go to says they only have the speed sensor for local SR4 which I'm not sure whether it's same as the one in b16. Thank you.

Write your reply...