anyone...help me..thermostat..is it safe 2 remove???

i got problems wit my car temperature...satria..proton engine...the mech..ask me 2 remove the thermostat..he said it may solve the prob.. coz my radiatorzz doin good after fewxxxx inspections...!!!:cry_smile:

i also remove da thermostat.. no prob.. can run from jb til shah alam non stop + speeding..

no problem removing the thermostat...........still can drive ma...my fren remove his and its find......

Thermostat function is to block your engine water so that it can warm-up faster than normal..
Once thermostat been used for long time already, there will be a lot of rust that can block the valve or can say the spring and cause mulfunction...

It is no problem to take it out just need to take care of the water coz water will be less but for long time (better to check the water monthly...)
Mine also taken out...
Hope this info useful to u...:marchmellow:

i think thermostat very cheap oni..sparepartshop selling below rm20 new one..better keep d car in stock and good condition lah.. =)

use or not stil da same.. not use stil engine in stock.. engine also gud in condition.. but better than use coz water continuous move whether engine cool or hot..

i also remove d termostat...my mech direct wiring 4 me n d radiator fan alwiz on when u switch on d car....no prob till now....heheh

no prob 2 remove d termostat... u oni will find tat idling during cold weather will higher a bit 2 warm up ur engine... saw tis in my dad's car.

esthapo - direct wiring ur fan i think will gradually decrease its lifespan leh...

not using a thermostat may increase the wear n tear that occurs during startup...as it takes the engine longer to warm up...but since u guys have done it without much problems....than mebbe its not so significant...

i remove my thermostat when it overheated..then didn't replace it...bu tgoing to work time in the morning..idling takes lot of time..
some say that if we don't use the thermostat,then water continuously running in-out block no matter hot or cold coz it doesn't detect whether water hot or cold...this could wear and tear engine block in long term..

juz my 2 sen

yep, thermostat helps regulate the flow...only when its hot, then it opens up, allowing more water to circulate...

hmm... thermostat?
haha.. that fellow is to make sure ur engine`s cooling system runs at very ideal temperature.. ur engine will warm up faster because the thermostat valve is closed means cooling in the water jacket(surround engine) cannot past the radiator.. so, warm up faster... n the valve will open when it reach 90-115degree celcius..

engine is running at his best performance when maintains its temperature...

correct me if im wrong..

peace.!!