Angel Eyes / Glow Ring

With the optic fibre wires u can probably do a nice starfield simulation instead of angel eyes!

Originally posted by fuankee@Jan 5 2005, 03:30
tried the sanding method earlier but its not that shiny la seriously..

i did exactly what they mentioned in the link given earlier?
using a perspex rod n cut cut cut 1?
i havent gone to the bending part yet.. but i tried shining it with leds..
but the light only reach bout 5 to 7 cuts..
any1 knows y?

will post all pics soon
kh,
thats right, not worth wasting money on that, not only is fibre optics expensive, they are fragile.
i say do it like fuanky.

fuanky, try it with a light at each end of the tube, it should work, the thing is, because its round, one bulb is used to illuminate both sides, but if ur rod is straight, then u will need 2 lights.
just to test anyway.

and another thing, where did u get the perplex tube?

Just got my customised profile light with angel eyes installed into my fog lights area of the perdana.... but looks kinda beng with blue angel eyes now thinking of changing it to white instead.

Originally posted by duxz@Jan 5 2005, 14:48
Just got my customised profile light with angel eyes installed into my fog lights area of the perdana.... but looks kinda beng with blue angel eyes now thinking of changing it to white instead.
hmm... i might make one and install it on my bike.. hehehe..

wahh... very nice lehhh... :ph34r: :D

but, JPJ or polis will kacau or not ah? <_< :(

Guys, I actually abandon the project when I realised that u can buy the spot lights with angel eyes from Cosplus for less than RM100. It's actually a fog light with angel eye ring around it.

Anyway... just to share with u on the methods I used painstakingly to bend/mold the perspex rod into a ring.

First method: Used heat from a flame.

I did this over the kitchen stove. Regret using this method....as u can see, it melted the rod and caused bubbles to appear within it.

http://planet.time.net.my/klcc/dennis.woo/angeleyes1.jpg

Second method: Use heat from hair dryer

This method was better...except it took too long to get the perspex rod to be soft enuff to bend it. I think it took me an hour or more to get it into a ring. I don't know how much electricity I use up for this...hahahaha

http://planet.time.net.my/klcc/dennis.woo/angeleyes2.jpg

http://planet.time.net.my/klcc/dennis.woo/angeleyes3.jpg

the comparison between a sanded perspex n a original 1.. both in triangle shape..
the left 1 is the sanded 1..
overall not much of diff.. but got a bit la

using my printer's button.. hahhaha.. tak de rasa! :P
looks like the fire at yor stove there.. hahahahahah

Wow! Not bad!! Hey...what did u use to cut those longkang on the perspex?

Originally posted by InitialD@Jan 9 2005, 12:38
Wow! Not bad!! Hey...what did u use to cut those longkang on the perspex?
angle grinder..! hahahaha.. a bit rough lor.. :P
i bought the finest plate i could find, n its bout 3mm thick

U purposely went to buy this angle grinder just to make those longkang on the perspex? U sure worth the price or not ??? how much u paid for the angle grinder?

Originally posted by InitialD@Jan 9 2005, 19:15
U purposely went to buy this angle grinder just to make those longkang on the perspex? U sure worth the price or not ??? how much u paid for the angle grinder?
i know this sounds really stupid, but yes.. hahah.. its bout 50.. bought it in makro..

well, come n think about it again, if yer really into DIY, buying this can be benificial in the long run, right?
n personally i like doing stuff myself rather than buying even it might cost me slightly more.. hehe

fuankee, just don't go overboard with it that's all. I was just like u...I almost wanted to go buy a Dremel tool just to cut those longkang as described in the DIY Angel Eyes website. But the cost of getting it somehow didn't justify it.... in fact it would end up costing more than those off the shelf fog lights with halo rings which gives out the same effect tat I had wanted to do on my own fog lights.