Angel Eyes / Glow Ring

fuankee

can this be DIY? cuz my fren's brother actually DIY this for her e46.. very chun, very impressive..

any1 knows bout this?

Originally posted by fuankee@Dec 23 2004, 22:33
can this be DIY? cuz my fren's brother actually DIY this for her e36.. very chun, very impressive..

any1 knows bout this?
send picture plzz.. :)
sorry..blur laa..
:P :P

yea it's possible,
but must find cars with suitable headlights shape..

sorry ar, newbie here.. haha..
yaa.. heard bout that.. any1 know where to get the perspex rod?

ya.. in her 46.. very chun..
i'll try to get a pic sometime when i meet her again.. :P
love to meet her again, chun chick who knows alot bout bmw n high-end mods :o

Originally posted by fuankee@Dec 25 2004, 03:02
sorry ar, newbie here.. haha..
yaa.. heard bout that.. any1 know where to get the perspex rod?

ya.. in her 46.. very chun..
i'll try to get a pic sometime when i meet her again.. :P
love to meet her again, chun chick who knows alot bout bmw n high-end mods :o
fuankee

:P you can find these at the old LimKokWing (Taman Mayang) art-supply shops :)

or better, plastic supplier stores (i know of one, off Jalan Kenanga, the road's next to Jalan Hang Tuah's fire Station :) )

thanks stanley
but actually what does it do actually?

any1 has the old forum link?
or does any1 care to teach again? with improvement maybe?

saw the previous angel eyes diy project, n the links featured inside..
quite impressive.. but the process is kinda tedious n risky..
hate to deal wit resistor :angry:
but the outcome is superb!

i was thinking of having fiber optics inside those oxygen tubes u use for yor aquarium..
then use wires to bend a shape u like n attached the tubes on it..
i mean, every1 has been making round 1.. y not customise according to the shape of yor lights?

but the very 1st problem i can think of is, the heat is gonna melt the tubes

any1 got any ideas bout this to share?

Just do a search on www.google.com using the following keywords:

diy angel eyes

heck.. just go to the following website lah:

http://www.johns306.com/guides/angel_eyes.htm

Originally posted by fuankee@Dec 25 2004, 17:55
saw the previous angel eyes diy project, n the links featured inside..
quite impressive.. but the process is kinda tedious n risky..
hate to deal wit resistor :angry:
but the outcome is superb!

i was thinking of having fiber optics inside those oxygen tubes u use for yor aquarium..
then use wires to bend a shape u like n attached the tubes on it..
i mean, every1 has been making round 1.. y not customise according to the shape of yor lights?

but the very 1st problem i can think of is, the heat is gonna melt the tubes

any1 got any ideas bout this to share?
hi, i was looking over ur idea.. and i think if you can get the fibre optic cable, it should be great, and the lights should not melt the tube.
the prob is, for a believable light, it has to be bright enuff, meaning the fibre optic cable has to be thick. thick ones cant really bend.
if u can solve this, then i think the prob is solved.

i bought all the materials needed..except optic fiber..
the LEDs fit well in the oxygen hose..

any1 know where to get optic fiber?

mayb u can try using fishing threads as ur fibre optic...

but i tot using fibre optics u can only c de light at de end of de cable?

Originally posted by khguan@Jan 2 2005, 15:12
mayb u can try using fishing threads as ur fibre optic...

but i tot using fibre optics u can only c de light at de end of de cable?
thats right, if u went to that website, it explains it.. its the same as fibre optices, the light will travel through and through.. meaning u shine light at one end, and it will come out the other.. not from the sides of the tube. so u have to either mark it os sand blast it.

marking.. like the site is easier than sand blasting.
if u look at those lamps that are sold in the lamp shops, they ARE fibre optics but they are not clear like the ones used for communication, they are blurred so that the light can come out the sides

i read the whole article
but it only works if and only if you got projector headlights right?

Originally posted by robokopf@Jan 3 2005, 14:21
i read the whole article
but it only works if and only if you got projector headlights right?
nope.. its works if u have std headlights or even bicycle headlights..
coz it has nothign to do with the headlights.. it uses a stand alone led.

well... if like dat... we can use sandpaper to make de fibre "optic cables" to have a rough surface so dat de we will c de light at de side....

but another thing is those cables r so thin...

tried the sanding method earlier but its not that shiny la seriously..

i did exactly what they mentioned in the link given earlier?
using a perspex rod n cut cut cut 1?
i havent gone to the bending part yet.. but i tried shining it with leds..
but the light only reach bout 5 to 7 cuts..
any1 knows y?

will post all pics soon