Amp or HU first?

Urgh...wat kinda HU u using? dun hav pre-out one ah? I tot all the Clarion inside proton got pre out?

appleyard said:
changing amps will not give you more SQ but changing speakers would. I dont consider Sony amps are powerful , they are overrrated and unreliable. A/D/S or PPI are companies that invest in cosmetics so their price would be naturally overpriced.

Kenwood amps are ok the exceleon series are ok (i own a 2 channel amp)

why dont you buy a component for that budget? it can be temporarily powered by your HU and upgrade in stages. Definitely more SQ than changing the Hu or amp.

How about Pioneer? I thought there's a new standard for amplifier. SEMA 2006 or something. If an amp complies to this standard, the ratings should not be overated.

This morning I refer to my original Kenari HU manual. It specified that there is a "2ch line level output" but in the rear diagram, it only shown the 16pin din output and atena input. Is this "2ch line level output" equal to pre-out? Thanks.

.. if u r a music enthusiast, i mean enjoy music very much.. can die without music kinda person... have a long term ICE plan.. save up for good HU.. its >RM2k..
IMO, a good HU is a better start to ICE set up..

u can change speakers many times, or even the amp.. but the HU will stick in da dashboard for some time, man :biggrin:

Pjam said:
.. if u r a music enthusiast, i mean enjoy music very much.. can die without music kinda person... have a long term ICE plan.. save up for good HU.. its >RM2k..
IMO, a good HU is a better start to ICE set up..

u can change speakers many times, or even the amp.. but the HU will stick in da dashboard for some time, man :biggrin:

Actually, that really depends on the user. From my point of view, there is no point of having a >RM 2K HU but you're not optimizing it. Meaning, using stock/bad speakers. That's why you really need to plan ahead. How far are you going to go with ICE. How easy/hard is it to satisfy your ICE needs...

One more thing to take note is, how long are you going to use your ICEd car. No point of upgrading everything and then selling your car a few months later......Of course the setup can be uninstalled, but, this will increase cost on your side......

Sory but i think i have a similar situation which i need assitance from all u sifus out here ..

I juz got my Honda City i-dsi. It comes wif a single disc player Blaupunk.

I would really love to have the "boom boom" feeling of a woofer so shud I juz get a normal amp and a woofer?

The things is ... i've seen subwoofer wif oni 1 woofer and some wif 2 ... which 1 is better? ... I prefer 1 woofer coz save space ...

I'm a TOTAL noob at this and hope you ca gimme some comment on this as well ...

2 channel 4 channel got diff? .... in wat sense?

Im not those crazy for good SQ but at least fairly good SQ lo ...

So i juz get an amp and a woofer? .. Plan to get frm Eneos whete they have a section for offer goods ... recommended? .. or recommendations?

Thank you!

Prevacid said:
Sory but i think i have a similar situation which i need assitance from all u sifus out here ..

I juz got my Honda City i-dsi. It comes wif a single disc player Blaupunk.

I would really love to have the "boom boom" feeling of a woofer so shud I juz get a normal amp and a woofer?

The things is ... i've seen subwoofer wif oni 1 woofer and some wif 2 ... which 1 is better? ... I prefer 1 woofer coz save space ...

I'm a TOTAL noob at this and hope you ca gimme some comment on this as well ...

2 channel 4 channel got diff? .... in wat sense?

Im not those crazy for good SQ but at least fairly good SQ lo ...

So i juz get an amp and a woofer? .. Plan to get frm Eneos whete they have a section for offer goods ... recommended? .. or recommendations?

Thank you!

Not a sifu.

Wanna ask you, how many speakers does your City has? 4 or 2?

Get a 4 channel amp and woofer. Use 2 channel to power up you woofer in bridged mode. the other 2 channel can be used to power your front speakers. Leave the rear channel speakers connected to your HU. This is assuming you have 4 speakers already. Because, from my knowledge, only local car come with 2 speakers as standards :)