amp dilema

desmond937

dear forrumers,
currently i'm using a 4-channel amp to power my front and back speakers. the spec. of my front 4" is 35w RMS and the back are 50W RMS which is 6.5". both are coaxial speakers. the front is JBL GTO series, the back is type-S one. so my amp have some problem, need to change. below amps are quoted from eneous one utama. (the prices stated are cash and carry as i'm going to install somewhere else, do not trust them much.)

1) alpine mrp-f240, 50W x 4 RMS at 2ohm, 40W x 4 RMS at 4ohm. they selling to me at rm 850.

2) rogers rsa 428a 1600 watts. they din't state any RMS voltage in the booklet. quoted me at rm800.

so my question which of the above 4-channel amp is good? i have no idea which one, but in terms of brand, sure is alpine. but i dunno the performance of these amp. can enlighten me for those sifu who used these b4? really need some help here. i the price they offer expensive? for me of cos expensive, near to 1k product....those prices are cash and carry.

desmond.

desmond937 said:
dear forrumers,
currently i'm using a 4-channel amp to power my front and back speakers. the spec. of my front 4" is 35w RMS and the back are 50W RMS which is 6.5". both are coaxial speakers. the front is JBL GTO series, the back is type-S one. so my amp have some problem, need to change. below amps are quoted from eneous one utama. (the prices stated are cash and carry as i'm going to install somewhere else, do not trust them much.)

1) alpine mrp-f240, 50W x 4 RMS at 2ohm, 40W x 4 RMS at 4ohm. they selling to me at rm 850.

2) rogers rsa 428a 1600 watts. they din't state any RMS voltage in the booklet. quoted me at rm800.

so my question which of the above 4-channel amp is good? i have no idea which one, but in terms of brand, sure is alpine. but i dunno the performance of these amp. can enlighten me for those sifu who used these b4? really need some help here. i the price they offer expensive? for me of cos expensive, near to 1k product....those prices are cash and carry.

desmond.

Roger Amp... like kena sotong... haa haa ... at Eneos Kepong around RM450-RM550 only... last time offer 2ch + 4ch just RM950... MRP is the lower range amp in Alpine family... slightly better than Roger amp... there has someone at Lelong.com.my put this amp for Bid... right now price around RM330 like that... time just left around 18hrs.... if U have more budget can contact mnkh27.. he has New Helix Dark Blue ... 60wrms X 4... price ask him loorr...

wat is sotong amp? is it mean is no good? actually i dunned so high end amp. but then i wish to have nicer sound produce compare to other cap ayam brand. after all i want to use these amp for like 5 years or so, thats why i choose some amp got brand one. problem is these alpine amp suitable for my setup? anyone? pls help me solve my problem, whats the roughly price for this alpine amp? i really like alpine, but the products are expensive. rm850 for this alpine amp is consider over priced d for cash and carry? pls enlighten me....

and what is 2ohm and 4ohm? the seller said 2ohm for 2 pair speakers, 4 ohm for 1 pair speakers wor....is this true?

desmond.

I mean ppl cut your throat laaa not sotong amp.... coz the price very much diff loorr..... for 5 years ... I think Helix Dark Blue is suitable but price around <RM1.3K .. stay away from MRP-F240 loorrr... if MRV than good.... some more 40wrms X 4 only....

who is selling helix dark blue?mnkh27 is it? i PM him also got no this nickname one? hehe....this amp need to be around 1.3k? quite high la...hehe...where got selling this amp?i nvr see b4...:) thank you.

desmond.

anyone can tell me whats 2ohm and 4ohm in amp? is it the speakers rating?

anyone have uses alpine MRV-F345 4 channel amplifier? can give any review on this amp? thank you.

2 ohm will be one channel connect to two speakers... 4 ohm is one channel to one speaker... correct me if i am wrong...

cheers....

magnesium said:
Last sunday went to eneos kepong.
Roger 4 channel 1600w rm880.

Ya ka...? so you dont have luck laa..... just early this year I bought 2ch + 4ch at RM950... as I know the price for Roger amp at ENEOS last time .. 2ch RM450 & 4ch not fix .. sometime RM500... sometime RM550... this month end I will go there ..service my car.... & see the price...

hello, wanna ask u guys something. let say this 4 channel amplifier stated RMS 38W X 4 at 2ohm. means one channel whack at RMS 38W? then wat if one pair of my speakers stated at RMS 50W? but another pair is at RMS 35W, means not suitable liao? the peak power is at 76W x 4 at 2ohm. so how?

desmond937 said:
hello, wanna ask u guys something. let say this 4 channel amplifier stated RMS 38W X 4 at 2ohm. means one channel whack at RMS 38W? then wat if one pair of my speakers stated at RMS 50W? but another pair is at RMS 35W, means not suitable liao? the peak power is at 76W x 4 at 2ohm. so how?

Never saw amp with that power... 38wRms X 4 at 2ohm... if at 4ohm ... how many watts... 10wrms X 4 or 19wrms X 4 ....... don't waste time on that amp loorrr... just find new 1 ..... in our market right now have alot amp ... cap ayam, imitation/fake, clone or branded... up to your budget & need..... price tag from RM50 - RMxxk

go for the alpine lah, good budget amp for beginners, good after sales service also.

if u want value for money can get the MRV345 at 1.2k, u get 4x100W (birth sheet)

for coaxials the 240 will do fine lah, dont worry about the power ratings at this moment...

whats the rule of thumb when come to choosing amplifier? is it must look at 4ohm, then look at RMS power rating, it must be more than the speakers rating in RMS? however, watever amp also can be use, just that if the amp is not enough power for instance, 20W RMS at 4 ohm, cannot fully "beat-alize" a speakers with 35W RMS is it? correct me, i wish to know. thank you.

desmond.

Frend, as I know component set has min. 4ohm & some max 8ohm... if the amp only give 50wrms at 2ohm (Impendance)... refering to 4ch not 2ch... we need 2 set comp (4ohm) connect it in parallel to gain power 50wrms & 2ohm impendance... I'm not talking about the speaker power rating more than amp power out... here I'm said the amp capablelity... normally ppl use amp 30% less or more than speaker power rate...

sifu, let say i have 2 set of speakers, both also at 4ohm impedence. but the amp i have only give 75wRMS x 2 at 4ohm. whats that "x 2" means? means 1 set speakers can only get 75w RMS from the amp? therefore we got these these "x 2" mean is it? pls help me? thank you.

desmond.

Write your reply...