alpine vs eclipse vs pioneer

Just to ad in my 5 cent worth of comment about HU,
I think if you choose any HU that cos around below 2k (Pioneer, Alpine, Sony, Kenwood, Clarion and eclipse....they would sound pretty close..unless you pair them up with the right amp and speaker, that would make a diff SQ.
Seriously, I haven't get a chance to listen to all the HU, but I manage to get an oppotunity to listen some hi-end HU.

And here are my 2 favourite HU I demo.
1.Clarion D2(about 4k, I think)- the sound was beautiful..very clean and detail but then again it runing with the latest TRU-Tech billet and a Scan-speaker comp.
2.Pioneer P9 HU n' Processor (DEX-P9 & DEQ-P9)-now...this is my dream HU...don't know how to elaborate...AGAIN! it use a Luxman amp and a set of Diomond Audio comp.

So...pairing up with yr amp and comp is actualy quite important in any HiFi set-up.
For me, I choose Alpine,...cos I had been reading alot of magazine reviews..almost all of them recomment it..so I choose the save parth.

So....try to attend some of the carHiFi TT. and judge it yr self.

have fun,
cheers,

get an alpine...test n u will know the difference...if i had the cash i would definately do it but now gotta aim low for Pioneers :(

thanks guys for all ur supports.. thanks for helping me in choosing the HU for me.. maybe i will take alpine as my HU..now im searching for a good place to buy and install the HU.can anyone help me where i can buy the alpine unit and have a good workmanship? thanks again guys :)

personally,i nvr tried alpine b4.
but i have use pioneer 5650 then upgrade to 7750 then eclipse 5435.
frankly,on 7750,the graphics helps to understand the tuning better,especially for novice.
BUT the SQ,can't b compare to eclipse 5435.
using the same speakers,amps n room setup,when i switch the p7750 to eclipse 5435, immediately the sound difference can b felt, heard clearly.
the music is much much warmer...

go with eclipse...especially since their high end models r still made in japan.
can't say the same for pioneer or alpine.
if u source around,u might still b able to find eclipse 8455 at abt rm2300 brand new.

yes eclipse cd3000 and 5435, and price lower than 7750 pioneer, for sq very very value

eclipse 5435.
got issues with playin mp3/wma.
i played wma/mp3 on my 5435,it would skip the songs without finishin playin it.
veri arroying.
i emailed eclipse n they informed tat there is a known issues and u need to take note on the format u set to burn ur cds.
on high-end models like 8455,dun have tis problem.
damn fed-up...
but the SQ,MUCH MUCH better n warmer than 7750.

below is an extract of the email.

===========
-----Original Message-----
From: techsupport [mailto:techsupport@lao.ten.fujitsu.com]
Sent: 15 November, 2005 7:48 AM
To: Liew Chin Yong
Subject: RE: playing cdr-mp3/wma

Cyliew,

Thank you for contacting Eclipse:

Here is some information on MP3 Recording for AVN2454, AVN30D, AVN5435.

If you cannot play MP3 discs on the model mentioned above, make sure the disc is created using ISO. Nero and Roxio is a good program for it.
They have to be in ISO format.
You will need Nero or any software that has that function.7

Burning instructions for ROXIO

Select EASY CREATOR
Select Data CD Project
Drag file to left Box on Page
Right click, Select PROPERTIES
IMPORTANT-File system select ISO9660
Mode 1 CDROM
Select Record...
Select finalize CD

Burning instructions for NERO

Select Nero.
Select CD-ROM (ISO)
For multi-session select "No Multisession"
For ISO select "ISO Level1" and "Mode1" Deselect "Joliet"
For Burn select "Finalize CD"
Drag from Desk top to [NAME]
(Select) Burn the current compilation
(Select ISO) - No Joliet, [make sure to unmark "Joliet"] Burn to CD

Here is the procedure and I have confirmed this with a customers MP3 disc.

Take non-working MP3 CD and copy all mp3 files to your computer.
Start Nero program and select CD-ROM(ISO). The default settings are OK.
Then start burning CD and the non-working mp3 will be converted to ISO format.
You can convert your existing files but you still need to burn a new disc unless you have cd-rw. The disc will play on all units. We should have the specs changed for the next AVN models.

Tech support
===========================

yes, we also know the problem, and yes it does solve it, you can try yes it is due to modify this problem at new model as you mention... however others and looks same but better extantion at high frequency produce, more balance high frequency produce. however others almost the same

ijnek, you very stronge you are 1 who really go into it to listsen mah!!....

super,

matrixkh.......u also know that...

however you and ijnek are super too, really know the diffrencess..

huh?listen to wat?
cos i have the 5435,then it skipped while i was drivin n i find it annoyin...

or u refering to the music difference?
immediately switch the HUs then can hear the difference liao.
same speakers,same amps,oni HU difference n really...hell of a lot of differences.

from wat i know...
current alpine r made in china...
eclipse made in japan...
i go 4 eclipse anytime

very few eclipse from japan, used to be made in korea, now also made in china like everything else....

haha me is me laa..:shades_smile: hehe..

my TT is every friday in ampang, come la....everybody is welcome :regular_smile:

ijnek said:
from wat i know...
current alpine r made in china...
eclipse made in japan...
i go 4 eclipse anytime

ya...unless those super expensive head unit such as 7990R is made in japan.but still it has quality control.
the old batch of alpine also made in japan.compare tp eclipse,i still choose alpine,maybe i feel alpine is much more stylish compare to eclipse(look very normal)

^up_boost said:
ya...unless those super expensive head unit such as 7990R is made in japan.but still it has quality control.
the old batch of alpine also made in japan.compare tp eclipse,i still choose alpine,maybe i feel alpine is much more stylish compare to eclipse(look very normal)
hi,i personal NOT suggest what u say.WHY?
Because u can not use top model/level/catogeries COMPAY with top model/level/range.If like that also can,i can say PIONEER model also very nice to use it,not need other brand for all ur member talking just now .Because PIONEER DEX-P9R expensive than 7990R.hehehe.Are u agree,now we change topic n say PIONEER is GOOD GOOD n NICE NICE ,don scold me OOOOOOooooooo,just my idea only,wan happy,don angry me.Very TQ!!!!!:regular_smile: :regular_smile:

Write your reply...