AE111 Transplant Info

ylkien

I plan to change my old 1996 corolla AE111 (4A-FE) engine, because the fuel consumption is bad. 350km on RM60, with 70% highway driving! I still plan to use this car for sometime more. Plan to get something which is plug-and-play w/o much hassle. Is this advisable?

I read in this forum, about the difference in engine @ http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/4A-GE_technical_specifications.htm

Which engine model is the BlackTop (BT) and SilverTop (ST)? ST is superchange right?

What other engine choices do I have?

Is MAF better (fuel consumption) than AFM?

Both these webpages below is also something I found in this forum, but it is in japanese.
http://www63.tok2.com/home2/tuccy/library-le.htm
http://www63.tok2.com/home2/tuccy/library-co.htm

Info based on this forum discussion so far :

1) There are 3 types of engine that will fit.
  • 20V SilverTop (AE101). Half-cut ~RM2500
  • 20V BlackTop (AE111). Half-cut ~RM3300 AT. MT has 5 speed and 6 speed gearbox. Plug-play for AE111. 2 different type of dashboard, Wagon and Levin
  • 16V Supercharge.

Here is a quote by http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=18002 :

ST + Installation = around RM3500
BT (5 Speed) + Installation & SC + Installation = around RM 4500
BT (6 Speed) + Installation = around RM6000

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h220/wfhan/Car%20part/P4150661.jpg
BlackTop, picture coutesy of http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=1620

http://www.gspeedcorp.com/productImages/4AGE%2020V-Late.jpg
BlackTop, picture coutesy of http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=18002

2) AFM is better than MAP. AFM can rev higher. 'http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=17782' has problems with his AFM, as it spoiled a few times already. A quote from http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=18002:

MAP vs. AFM

Not really, the only reason the Japanese versions of the early 16V 4A-GE came equipped with MAP sensor (vacuum sensor) control is because it was much cheaper to equip, keeping the cost of the car's purchase price down. The USA versions came with the AFM ( air flow meter) because it can monitor the intake air somewhat more accurately in that era of technology...and thus was required to meet California's smog regulations. Both units work equally well and the only sole advantage to having map sensor controls is the fact that induction chamber modifications are somewhat easier without the bulk of the AFM unit. The performance is in no way significantly better though as many believe.

3) Info on Toyota Variable Induction System (TVIS)
TVIS

4) Problems with SilverTop
  • ECU problem
  • Tappet sounds like diesel engine
*confirmed by http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=20210 and http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/member.php?u=18002

5) Other info :

AE101 vs with AE92 (non-tvis), AE92 non-tvis are more powerful

Very useful info about 4AGE history at http://www.users.bigpond.com/vidore/toyota_4age_engine.htm
The 20-Valve 4AGE replaced the 4AGZE Supercharged engines. Just like the early and late 16 Valve 4Ges, they also underwent revisions. The Silver Top was introduced in the Corolla AE101 (1992), and the Black Top in the Corolla AE111 (1997). Both engines used Toyota’s version of Variable cam timing- VVT.

There are 3 types

20V Silvertop- NA
20V Blacktop-NA
16V Supercharge

Older models no need to say...

ylkien said:

I plan to change my old 1986 corolla AE111 (4A-FE) engine, because I still plan to use this car for sometime more. Plan to get something which is plug-and-play w/o much hassle. Is this advisable?

I read in this forum, about the difference in engine @ http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/4A-GE_technical_specifications.htm

Which engine model is the BlackTop (BT) and SilverTop (ST)? ST is superchange right?

What other engine choices do I have?

Is MAF better (fuel consumption) than AFM?

Both these webpages below is also something I found in this forum, but it is in japanese.
http://www63.tok2.com/home2/tuccy/library-le.htm
http://www63.tok2.com/home2/tuccy/library-co.htm

ST is SilverTop la...
SC baru is Supercharge...

AE101 got 2 model, 1 is Silver Top and 1 is Supercharge...
So becareful when brought ya...

MAF is better than AFM, but AFM can rev more higher. :_:

What car u using? AE82? If AE82 for more easy and plug and play is using the AE82 and AE92 4AGE NA engine lor...
If you really want to use the AE111 or AE101 engine, u need to mod more lor.. 1 bad thing is bad on the manual windows, can steer it when the door is closed.

ylkien said:
I plan to change my old 1986 corolla AE111 (4A-FE) engine, .....

isit u mean 1996 corolla AE111 ??

can plug and play put in blacktop!...

Schomatic,
Sorry, I'm not that familiar with AE82. But my car is a AE111.

Wfhan,
yup, it is a 1996 AE111. If blacktop can plug-play, then I think I will get it. But, are the spare-parts widely available? I hope it is not like 4G91 engine, which is old and hard to get spare parts.

May I know the engine code for BlackTop & Silvertop? 4A-GE?

Can you recommend a good place, where I can find a lot of toyota half-cuts?

Thanks.

ylkien said:
Schomatic,
Sorry, I'm not that familiar with AE82. But my car is a AE111.

Wfhan,
yup, it is a 1996 AE111. If blacktop can plug-play, then I think I will get it. But, are the spare-parts widely available? I hope it is not like 4G91 engine, which is old and hard to get spare parts.

May I know the engine code for BlackTop & Silvertop? 4A-GE?

Can you recommend a good place, where I can find a lot of toyota half-cuts?

Thanks.

aiyo... then u say is year 86
haha...
If AE111 then go for AE111 engine la.. Just see the top isn't it are the black...
If black mean blacktop lor.. easy to see nia...
Engine code are about the same nia. Normally is 4A-xxxxxxxxx

The sample picture of AE111 Blacktop:
http://www.gspeedcorp.com/productImages/4AGE%2020V-Late.jpg

spend sometime to do window shopping at few chopshops to ask around
and compare prices of half-cut.. some chopshop have very nice staff that
can even jack down the half-cut and start the engine if u request eventhough
u not buying.... if u not hurry to own it.. then take ur time to find the best package
maybe u have it with some goodies together

for seg..
before
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h220/wfhan/Car%20part/IMG_0011.jpg
after
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h220/wfhan/Car%20part/P4150661.jpg
levin ae111 dashboard into SEG ae101
http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h220/wfhan/Car%20part/P4200681.jpg
:X-: :X-:

Schomatic,
Sorry, typo error. It is 1996. Is that picture from your car?

The specification for 4AGE (http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/4A-GE_technical_specifications.htm) is that it requires fuel requirement "100". I assume that it is RON. Can someone please advice on this. Malaysia only has till 97 right?

So, as a conclusion till this point :

For AE111 4A-FE engine, BlackTop and SilverTop engines can fit nicely, w/o any mounting modification.

Need to get half-cut, and not just the engine block because the wiring is different.

MAF is better than AFM. Former is electronic based, while latter is mechanical based.

ylkien said:
Schomatic,
Sorry, typo error. It is 1996. Is that picture from your car?

The specification for 4AGE (http://www.club4ag.com/faq%20and%20tech_pages/4A-GE_technical_specifications.htm) is that it requires fuel requirement "100". I assume that it is RON. Can someone please advice on this. Malaysia only has till 97 right?

So, as a conclusion till this point :

For AE111 4A-FE engine, BlackTop and SilverTop engines can fit nicely, w/o any mounting modification.

Need to get half-cut, and not just the engine block because the wiring is different.

MAF is better than AFM. Former is electronic based, while latter is mechanical based.

The Fuel requirement 100 no need to worry la... The fuel octance 97 will do also...
AFM is better than MAF la... trust me la..
The Silvertop very easy to found and price is cheap. I got 1 Silvertop halfcut (Price around RM2500) and provide installation (RM1200) in your car, take only 2 week to finish everything.

The Blacktop currently no stock. you can find it at Kajang there, i think i saw there got alot of Balcktop 5 Speed and the trice will be RM3500 (with no installation fees) something. 6 Speed 1 will cost about RM5000 (with no installation fees).

Please la.. don't find the loose item, because you will headage to find all the part. and the price also will be close or even higher than the complete halfcut.

yo.. bro scomatic

then u means silver top is better than blacktop lo..

better in terms of fuel or wat.. but definitely not power right ...

pls advise bro... thnanks,,

cus transplant Bt is out of my budget la.. thinking to chnage my mind to SVT...

silver top better then blacktop i don't agree. Btw i also want to know what so good about AFM...

AFM can be quite problematic leh..MY old AFM rosak 2 times liao

KHWONG said:
yo.. bro scomatic

then u means silver top is better than blacktop lo..

better in terms of fuel or wat.. but definitely not power right ...

pls advise bro... thnanks,,

cus transplant Bt is out of my budget la.. thinking to chnage my mind to SVT...

SVT performance not as good as BT la...
I just say AFM good is at the engine can rev at very high rev (9000rpm to 10000rpm), for people who love to play at Track (Not drag la), then this engine very good lor...

BT actually is better, but just can't rev very high because it is lightweight base engine.

MAF cannot rev go so high (about 7500 - 8000rpm nia). and MAF also easy to spoil. AFM can more tahan lor... That why lor...

BTW, BT is better la.. So don't confusing le...

tctho said:
silver top better then blacktop i don't agree. Btw i also want to know what so good about AFM...

MAP vs. AFM

Not really, the only reason the Japanese versions of the early 16V 4A-GE came equipped with MAP sensor (vacuum sensor) control is because it was much cheaper to equip, keeping the cost of the car's purchase price down. The USA versions came with the AFM ( air flow meter) because it can monitor the intake air somewhat more accurately in that era of technology...and thus was required to meet California's smog regulations. Both units work equally well and the only sole advantage to having map sensor controls is the fact that induction chamber modifications are somewhat easier without the bulk of the AFM unit. The performance is in no way significantly better though as many believe.

alorr friendss...go for blackie laaa...i already used it for 9 years..juz 1 years back the engine got idling problem...else no problem...every day hantam kaw2...8k rpm...some friends from se.g club say me org gila...don't know how to drive slow...huhuhu...running on 160kmh drop to 3rd gear when haram racing one...no problem at all...very robust and very durable engine...and the engine can tahan until 400hp(brani or not to tune and $$$)...

go blackie..blackie..

conflict_tuning said:
alorr friendss...go for blackie laaa...i already used it for 9 years..juz 1 years back the engine got idling problem...else no problem...every day hantam kaw2...8k rpm...some friends from se.g club say me org gila...don't know how to drive slow...huhuhu...running on 160kmh drop to 3rd gear when haram racing one...no problem at all...very robust and very durable engine...and the engine can tahan until 400hp(brani or not to tune and $$$)...

go blackie..blackie..

bro conflict_tuning,
wow, 9 years... u must be a sifu master... how old r u now?

I still remember a Japanese magazine saying that the original valve spring can stand for up to 9000rpm.
true or false, I dono and not dare to try…haha

yup that rite..juz plug in after market ecu for BT can play 9k rpm oredy...alorrr...no sifooo laaa.....mana ada...my mech la sifooo...huhuhuhu.......

sori laa...no 9 years laa....juz 8 years oni...now age baru 31.....huhuhu....my uncle use it for 3 years...me br 5 years...