Advice on major repair for e46

marsha1l_v6

Aug 1, 2013
Yes , just got back the grand total is rm9k , I got some opinion the price for the parts is according to the market price, the things I'm doing is top overhaul with timing chain replacement, changing flywheel oil seal and torque converter oil seal ( any car also the labour charge will cost a bomb for repairing this), changing all the power steering hoses, and with all the oils replaced, yes I know it's an old car, but it's a BMW, I always wanted e46 and I'm driving with pride, without scratching my head for monthly payment and maintenance, well that's my style....hehehe
Agreed, bmw cars are long lasting. More or less the same price when i sent my parents e36, but end up transplant other engine. :smokin:

Anyway, you could survey other bmw specialist/workshop or find some of the item from sparepart shop. May reduce the figure a bit. :proud:

Most cars are long lasting if you maintain them properly, just that BMW are high maintenance......lol

pac_jb

Feb 28, 2013
Im from Seremban , I sent to the German garage at Seremban 2, becoz it's major repair , they sent it to their HQ, German garage in bangi suntrack, but I checked the parts at few places after I posted in zerotohundred, I was told the parts are reasonable, I guess car parts nowdays are more expensive due to weakening ringgit and gst

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Yes , just got back the grand total is rm9k , I got some opinion the price for the parts is according to the market price, the things I'm doing is top overhaul with timing chain replacement, changing flywheel oil seal and torque converter oil seal ( any car also the labour charge will cost a bomb for repairing this), changing all the power steering hoses, and with all the oils replaced, yes I know it's an old car, but it's a BMW, I always wanted e46 and I'm driving with pride, without scratching my head for monthly payment and maintenance, well that's my style....hehehe
There is a shop in Seremban which i know only handle european car.
If not mistaken the guy is an ex Volvo tech.
The shop is somewhere behind Volvo sc Seremban.
If i manage to get the number i will pm u.
Maybe you can have a quote from him.

Your oil seals cost a bomb,so does the simple valve cover gasket.

Wolfsburg might not be pumping out anymore Mk4 VW Golf R32’s but that by no means signals the end of aftermarket options for the hatch. German tuning specialists MTE have taken their tuning stick and beaten the Golf R32 Mk4 to the tune of 790hp and 1,200Nm of torque.
Conveniently, the resultant bruises have settled in a wild...