adjustable CRANK pulley

levin818

As you guys know that, installing a metal head gasket will give us higher CR but will cause the cam degree to run out.
And usually we need to replace both stock in/out cam with adjustable cam in order to compensate this error.
But in this way, we will have to scarify the VVT feature, that is very important now a day to give us a good FC.
If let say i want to keep the original VVT pulley after installing the metal head gasket, how can i overcome the cam degree runnig out problem?
Can i custom made an Adjustable Crank Pulley to off sett the errors? Or if looking for more reliability, how about a custom offset Crank Pulley? :biggrin:
Can this be done?

Any comments, advice, joke, shoot or blame message is welcome!

what i did last time was check the cam timing.......not ppl do this nowadays...... what i get from is was......with crank timing 0 degree my inlet cam showing 115 degree (stock is 110degree), my ex cam 125 degree...so conclusion is it automaticallly advance my in 5 degree and ex 15 degree. so we roughly know what is out limit when adjusting it........

sifoo wong ... thats a very good idea laaa ... but how come no one tot of it one ???? the japs i mean ... they have practically adjustable everything except crank pulley .. must have some limiting factor or disadvantage that we never tot of laa ... but on the surface it sounds good for adjusting back the cam timings laaa .. hehehehe

even they do that.......they won't get correct timing.....maybe just one of them.....eg crank 0, in 110 but ex maybe 115......

opps mistake.......it is not crank pulley need adjusting.....it is the crank gear which is behind the crank pulley......how to adjust like that

sifoo TOMs .. u are rite laa .. hehehehe ... timing belt not on the crank pulley one oso laa .. hahahahahahaaa

tom's said:
what i did last time was check the cam timing.......not ppl do this nowadays...... what i get from is was......with crank timing 0 degree my inlet cam showing 115 degree (stock is 110degree), my ex cam 125 degree...so conclusion is it automaticallly advance my in 5 degree and ex 15 degree. so we roughly know what is out limit when adjusting it........

Master Tom's,

Need some help from you.
My engine really suffer from wrong cam pulley setting. Even stock standard 20V engine can pull away very far on SIC straight road. What is the recommended cam setting?

Thanks!

hehehehe ... then sifoo TOMS will tell u take to someone who knows how to set cam pulleys properly laa .. TDC must be ascertain (use that gear clock thingy) then only start to set the cam pulleys one .. hehehehe ...
the prob is not many ppl know how to do this maaa .. huahaahahaha .. watkautech is one of them who knows la i think .. another one is the tuning shop in puching there one (sifoo TOMs bikin sana one) laaa .. hahahaahahaa

during japan GT i ask the tom's eng engineer.....he is the one built tom's engine..... ask me to use back VVT.....now running back VVT n running in eng.....feel much more smooth and better than b4 below 4krpm......suitable for street use......for you Track Master EG9......track i tarak tau coz i phobia already..... hahahahaahaha........when following banzai car in track.....after every corner his car pull away from my car........my low end suck last time.....

tom's said:
during japan GT i ask the tom's eng engineer.....he is the one built tom's engine..... ask me to use back VVT.....now running back VVT n running in eng.....feel much more smooth and better than b4 below 4krpm......suitable for street use......for you Track Master EG9......track i tarak tau coz i phobia already..... hahahahaahaha........when following banzai car in track.....after every corner his car pull away from my car........my low end suck last time.....

My low end and high end also suck big time. Last sunday play with B16B on EK4 chassis, straight road he pull away from me about 3-4 cars, after reach corner only able to whack him, after reach turn 9 (going up hill) although in 2nd gear but still not enough power to pull my car out from the corner.
After series of non stop turns starting from turn 4 untill turn 13 then only can pull away about 6 cars lenght from that car. After turn 14 which is straight road, he catching up and reduce the distant about 2 car and follow behind me again, after come out from turn 15, he's about 4 car length behind me.
Approaching 1st turn, he is right behind me after the long straight road in front of grand stand.
Damn, my car really suffer on straight road.
Even Mike's standard AE92 (4AGE 16V) is faster then my car on straight road.

after my car run in will let you know what is the outcome with VVT......hahaha......can go test test.....hahaha

tom's said:
after my car run in will let you know what is the outcome with VVT......hahaha......can go test test.....hahaha

great great...thanks!

HOI .... i oso wan test test !!! kekekkekeke ... but i always felt my 20v last time without vvt is much better feeling when driving .... but maybe that's why kena tapao like crazy also la .. !! hahahahah

chu
u need to use the dial thingy all the calculate how much advance/retard la .. ur underwear so damn thick .. butt dyno not reliable one !!!!

yolk said:
HOI .... i oso wan test test !!! kekekkekeke ... but i always felt my 20v last time without vvt is much better feeling when driving .... but maybe that's why kena tapao like crazy also la .. !! hahahahah

chu
u need to use the dial thingy all the calculate how much advance/retard la .. ur underwear so damn thick .. butt dyno not reliable one !!!!

Where and who can do it for me lar?
at last I think will just throw out the adjustable cam pulley and use back the VVT pulley.

william trial tuning also can do .. if not most of the shops in sunway can do la .. if you want more hard core last time gt auto said can do it with dyno tune also so you can optimise the power band that you want .. if not ask alvin about the shop in puchong la they also got dyno machine

my cam pulley was dyno tune......set then dyno......few rounds.......u need to tell them what u want but mine done by my boss ex-sifo and the JB fella tune it......

haha... u know how small is a crank pulley? adjustable type is not easy done man. good idea man!!

I think why there wasn't one was because the stress of the crank is way much more than cams. I don't know hoe big 4A 20V crank is. But i highlight stress factor.

yeah, agree with netmatrix. i just get a feeling that if the crank puley can be adjusted it won't be as durable as a 1 piece puley. If it breaks, its the same as timing belt putus? liek that then big problem lor..

yeah apperently adj crank pulley is not tough enough in the first tought.
So how about give it a spot weld after had it adjusted?

If we are able to off set the in-cam errors, out-cam errors can be easily offset by using adjustable cam. The purpose is to keep the VVT pulley.

But now Alvin said crank gear is behind crank pulley, and Alan said timing belt is not on crank pulley, i have better go check check before make further comments or else another "A" from SZ will come and char kao me lor.

Another solution tought is, custom made another tentional pulley on the other side to push the timing belt. On my understanding, after installed the metal head gasket, the timing belt will become loosen a little bit. If we only rely on the stock tensional to push on one side, the cam timing will be out. But if we can make another tentional pulley on the other side to give another push, we should be able to get back the previous timing. Can this be done?