A Perdana V6 for RM31,500!

acbc

BATAM: A Proton Perdana V6 or Waja 1.6A for half the price? Believe it, if you are in this Indonesian island where smuggled cars are so easy to get that second-hand dealers even offer discounts due to stiff competition.

Just walk into any dealer and chances are that you could drive away in a Perdana V6 for S$13,500 (RM31,500) or a Waja 1.6A for S$12,000 (RM27,000).

You can also rent the cars for RM100 to RM120 per day with discounts of 20% for monthly rentals or one month free for six-month rentals.

But the recent oil price increase has made Proton cars less attractive with the smuggling syndicates, as these cars are considered “too expensive to maintain.”

Syndicates are now targeting Japanese cars, brought in from Singapore and Malaysia in containers and sand barges.

Arifin, 34, a fisherman who is familiar with the activities of the syndicates, said the barges would “drop off” foreign cars in Kampung Nelayan, about 20km from the city, between midnight and 4am.

“You will know that a shipment is coming that night as there will suddenly be a lot of people on the beach,” he said, adding that within minutes after arriving, the cars would be driven away.

Local mechanic Attan, 30, said many of the cars in Batam were smuggled ones.

“I do not have many customers with Proton cars, which tend to break down easily, especially on our roads which are full of potholes,” he said.

A check by The Star found that the island of about 700,000 people, mostly involved in manufacturing, construction and tourism, had quite a number of Toyota Camrys, Harriers, Unsers and Altises; Honda CRVs; Mitsubishi Storms and Mercedes-Benz C200s.

A saleswoman at Batam Centre said Toyota and Honda models from Malaysia were popular with the locals.

Asked whether documentation was a problem, she said all the cars had been refurbished and came with a complete set of Indonesian documents.

However, increased enforcement after cars worth some RM20mil were found in a warehouse here last year has reduced the number of foreign cars coming here.

Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Musa Hassan had led a team to Batam island last year to meet their Indonesian counterparts to negotiate for the return of stolen vehicles.

snowmei said:
i read this on today`s newpaper... somemore claim 30 minutes gao dim all....

Look at the phrase in bold... sounds familar? Maybe it is why the local cars breakdown more often on our roads... full of potholes!

acbc said:
Look at the phrase in bold... sounds familar? Maybe it is why the local cars breakdown more often on our roads... full of potholes!
aaron, you are trying to emphasize the PROTON break down issue, not the smuggling case. :D

And they dun have Proton authorise service center at Indonesia.

PS: Message to Proton, you are competing directly with global automotive maker at BATAM. :D

i frequently travelled to batam and i'm not surprised when i read the news.. the thing is there were like hundreds of proton cars hardly to be sell to batam local ppls due to their competitive prices compare to the rest of car manufacturers .. in fact you can get brand new civic down there equaivalent to brand new perdana v6 .. hehehe

and i'm driving an EK4 SGDM (office car) during an official visit in batam ( fyi EK4 down there is normal thing to see ...somehow they use it as a taxi so i'm not so proud of driving it there although i owned one in KL ekkeek)

and u can see lines of proton cars at the back of showroom car near nagoya area or not far from Batam Center still unsold after months on visiting there.. in fact batam ppl never care abt new cars since they can get stolen vehicles very cheap there and u know la indon police never care abt small case such that as long u can bribe them with money than they will keep their mouth shut..

about the potholes.. hehehe it was so true ..the road cond down there was terrible .. but i', so surprised when i saw few evo7 wondering around the town .. i kept smiling to myself " where the hell this guys wanna boost up his evo? with 80% potholes covering all over batam route .. and with their traffic freaking jam all the time .. hehe u imagine urself..

ahhah...read it in the newspaper...well the emphasis is on both the problem with car crimes today and also the fact that stollen cheap protons are hard to sell..if u would have seen in the paper around half of the mercedez stolen are recovered...maybe they just hve better security systems...