8" woofer in front doors???

xavier

Guys, anyone has installed or thinking of putting an 8" woofer into yer front doors? Please share your experience and thought. I am thinking of doing it, but afraid that the vibration would cause the door panels/glass/side mirror to vibrate too much and sooner or later the components in the door will get loose. What do you sifus think?

Was also thinking of putting 2 8ohm audio speaker, maybe parallel/serial(cannot remember which one will split the ohms) to get 4ohms for 2 speakers. So there will be 2 8ohm speakers on one door. the speakers will go through an amp. What do u sifus think?

last time, I think there was a pic on the net where the guy put an 8" speaker on his centre console. Near the gear shifter. If I am not mistaken, it was a kenari or the like.
Everything is possible as long as you got money .....:P

cacin.. tht was in a kenari...

well... 8" in the front door is not impossible... jus make sure you hav the space fro the magnet and also sound damping for the door to reduce the vibration...

do update with your project if you are really going after it....

cheers...

i wont recommend using the 2 8"s in parallel mono to get 4ohm, its better to be stereo as it plays midbass, not sub bass. better look for high powered 2ch amp to drive them.

installing an 8" needs a lot of custom fabrication to make it rigid for bass to come out. also need lot of dampening inside for the rattling. its true u have to risk getting things damaged in the long run from the vibration, just that some ppl dont mind taking that risk but rewarded with great upfront bass....:shades_smile:

instead a 8" sub, can also try to find special 6" sub type woofer, but only hit low frequency, the high frequency is not there

Hmmms...

Kippo said:
if u use 2 x 8" driver, u will have imaging problem.
Kippo, may I ask what you mean by an imaging problem? :angel_smile:

To the rest, thanx for yer information and replies. Really appreciate it. Will be trying the idea out a little later. Project got postponed as got other commitments :cry_smile:

Kippo said:
if u use 2 x 8" driver, u will have imaging problem.

imaging problem????:confused_smile: maybe u can elaborate a bit bout what u mean by imaging problem.:regular_smile: